What Would You Have Done?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photofeed6 years ago

181018_Gisborne_LUT-Landscape.jpg

I mean I didn't really have a choice.

You find yourself in the middle of New Zealand for a month. I'm walking distance from the ocean. I have a tripod, a drone and a camera. I think you would have done the same thing. You get up at 4AM and walk out across algae covered rocks to get the perfect shot of an abandoned lighthouse at sunrise.

You need to understand. I love sleep. Like LOVE sleep. It might be one of my favorite past times. And I'm not even joking. I can easily lay down and take a two hour nap, get up, go on with the rest of my day and fall asleep that night like it's nothing. It's the best! But there's something about getting up before anyone else is awake and setting yourself up to not only watch the sunrise but capture the moment from both ground and air.

So that's what I did. Hell I may have woke up at 3:30AM. I didn't want to miss it. My buddy Jordan picked me up and the two of us set off to get the perfect sunrise shot over the Gisborne ocean.

We got to the beach, parked our car and set off towards the lighthouse. First we crossed the sand. That was the easy part. Then we got to this long stretch of rocks you had to cross. At the very end was the lighthouse. There's only once or twice a day you can get to it because of the ocean tides. This early in the morning we wouldn't have a problem. Or so I thought.

My first mistake was removing my flip flops. I thought I would just leave them on the sand and get them when I returned. But my baby like feet, not use to the rough surface of the rocks, struggled all the way across. I sucked it up. I soon realized my biggest challenge was going to be not falling down every other step. The rocks were covered in algae and wet from the falling tide. I swear it couldn't have been any more slippery than if we had covered them with baby oil. I must have fallen at least five or ten times.

But eventually we got there and man was it worth it. I set up my tripod to take a time lapse of the rising sun. Jordan immediately took out the drone. By this time the sky had begun to fill up with light and we were both ready to go. First Jordan would fly by the lighthouse and then I'd take my turn. He was using his long exposure function to get some smooth shots of the ocean splashing around the lighthouse. I made pass after pass, taking my drone as close as I could to the abandoned building without hitting it. And then I snapped this photo.

So, given the opportunity to wake up at 3:30AM and trek out across a landscape of slippery boulders, what would you have done?

Sort:  

Wow! What were you doing in the middle of New Zealand for a month??? You really stayed in that small island?? What did you do there? Are the guard of the tower?

Hahaha sorry for my silly questions. I was merely curious..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha no problem! I'd love to answer your questions.

I work there about twice a year for a production company based in the United States. We film live events. I also have friends who live there. So when I go for work I always stay just a little longer to visit.

There was no guard in the lighthouse ;-) I think it's been abandoned for quite some time.

Thanks for commenting!

Wow! That is amazing! You get to travel with work plus you get to see some friends..

The tower still looks good though even if its abandoned.

No problem.. i like annoying people at this early time of the day! 😂🤣 sorry i guess its evening in your time..

Posted using Partiko Android

Annoy all you want hahahahaha I'm just kidding. But you are right, it's very late here. It's currently 12:10AM. Right now I'm UTC -5 time zone. Next week I'll be in New Zealand though. It's a great job! I am very grateful for it.

Well you have one of the best jobs there is. Enjoy it while you are at it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Flip flops ; don't you mean jandals !

Ha! This comment gives me immense satisfaction. Totally forgot that's what they call them there. Hahahaha perfect. Have you spent much time in New Zealand?

Yes a couple of months over the years.

Very cool. I usually visit twice a year for work and friends. It's one of my favorite countries.

Yes it is a beautiful place with beautiful people.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks so much! This is awesome. I appreciate the love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98