ECLIPSE IN THE SAWTOOTH MOUNTAINS - homage to @derekkind epic post

in #photofeed7 years ago

DEREK KIND


Have you seen the epic post about the eclipse by @DerekKind ?? You need to!
Wonderful intense write up with jaw dropping pictures. The story will immerse you in the whole experience.
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@derekkind/photographing-the-solar-eclipse-and-the-international-space-station


REST OF THE GROUP

Some of our other friends (@brandongarrett @caseygrimley and others) went to an amazing location in Idaho and got to experience probably one of the most beautiful places to see an eclipse. I'll do a post about the whole 3 days of hiking and all the beautiful stuff we saw. Derek didn't join us but I don't blame him he certainly got a very unique experience with the space station transit.

You can see the @caseygrimley post here:
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@caseygrimley/2017-solar-eclipse-adventure

And @brandongarrett post here:
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@brandongarrett/great-american-eclipse-of-2017


MY ECLIPSE SHOT

But for now here's two shots of the eclipse
ECLIPSE
Technically the sun isn't even yellow but to me i'll always think of the sun as "the bright yellow one"

Alice Lake
who recognizes the location?

The eclipse is an amazing experience as I'm sure you've heard stated a million times. I'll certainly make an effort to go to the Chile eclipse however my best shots were of the the beautiful sawtooth mountains so I'm excited to share those later.

Sort:  

My goodness. Both @derrekkind and your post are amazing. Great great great great work.

Did you see the one by @caseygrimley he was standing right next to me but his image he created was much cooler. I just happened to have the 600mm lens for the cool sun shot.

https://steemit.com/photofeed/@caseygrimley/2017-solar-eclipse-adventure

I didn't see that one, but that's awesome too. I love how the reflection is still sharp.

Aw, thanks! And I love your photos! I wish I'd gotten a good landscape shot. I feel the same about the sun - I know it's white, but it just looks wrong to me when it's a monochromatic disk. Looking forward to hearing your story - you guys went hardcore and hiked in to this spot.

Yeah we missed you... but then again your decision to come out west was super last moment. And
I don't know if I would have been as excited for a flat plain I needed mountain therapy. haha

And I promise you I wasn't excited about hiking in the mountains with 150lbs of gear, haha! And yeah, I dropped the ball on long-term planning.

Hope something comes together for a future eclipse. While it was easier to concentrate on stuff on my own, I felt like I was missing out on an important element by not having friends there.

It really a great trip with the eclipse as the highlight!

Amazing mate . I will have to see one before I am done .

Incredible shots. I'd love to travel to somewhere in the path of totality for the next eclipse. I'm assuming you had a pretty intense filter on whatever lens you were using?

Well if we're all hanging out and good friends by then and can pay for our trips with steemit then I suggest we make a group trip to the next one in CHILE!! Sound like a plan? haha

And yes I had some official solar filter stuff on the end of the lens. It's a big lens so I had to jerry rig it on there but I'm glad I did. 150-600mm Sigma for the sun shot.

Ooh yeah, that sounds like a plan to me! That would be so incredible.

Gotcha, very cool! How do you like that lens by the way? That's a crazy amount of zoom range haha.

this big one is really intense and dramatic as well ! i was a witness of this phenomenon only once many years ago when i lived in Kazakhstan and wasn't in photography interest :-)

Wow I had no idea you used to live there!!
Have you been back and done pictures?

You got a 20.91% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @jarvie!

You got a 14.83% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @jarvie!

You got a 22.89% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @jarvie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67