2017 Solar Eclipse adventure

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

Thought I'd share my adventure for the 2017 "Great American Eclipse"

20170821-DSC00533-Edit-Edit.jpg
Click to view large

Exactly 1 year before the eclipse I learned about the solar eclipse from a friend (@IanCox) and started thinking of cool places to go and the kind of shot I wanted to get. Initially it was the Tetons, since it passed right over it, and I knew the perfect spot, Table Mountain on the west side of the Tetons. But after much planning and looking at maps and eclipse paths a hundred times I decided to scout a possible new location, which was the Sawtooth mountains. A month ago I went backpacking with my two sons to scout out Sawtooth Lake, which was an incredible time and I knew that I’d prefer the Sawtooth Mountains over the Tetons. While camping at Sawtooth Lake I met Dennis Manhart, who regularly hikes the many, many trails in the Sawtooths and posts some incredible photos, and after seeing a photo of Alice Lake and El Capitan peak towering over the lake I had a new location to consider.
With much planning and coordinating with @Jarvie and Parker Boyack we hiked the 18 mile round trip loop that included Toxaway Lake, Twin Lakes, and then ending at Alice Lake for the eclipse.
I was really excited to do this trip with a fairly lightweight backpack including all my camera gear, but the last minute I decided to take my almost 12 year old son, and my food weight doubled as well as a tent, and eventually carrying his sleeping bag. My 35 lb bag quickly became 45 lbs, but it was absolutely worth it to share a surreal experience with my son.

Did you see the eclipse in totality? If so, tell me, was it not the most amazing thing to experience?

Be sure to check out my friends posts on their eclipse experience.

@derekkind: https://steemit.com/photofeed/@derekkind/photographing-the-solar-eclipse-and-the-international-space-station

@jarvie:
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@jarvie/eclipse-in-the-sawtooth-mountains-homage-to-derekkind-epic-post

@brandongarrett:
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@brandongarrett/great-american-eclipse-of-2017

Photo details: Blended image, a wide angle shot during the “diamond ring” phase, hence the starburst, and a shot of the eclipsed sun scaled down "roughly" to size.

Sort:  

I really like this picture for several reasons. First of all because it is a beautiful landscape. Then because we clearly see this eclipse. And finally it's all your adventure that started 1 year that led you to this specific place to realize this image. I admire what you have achieved to take this image of a landscape magnified by this eclipse.

Thanks! The eclipse was absolutely incredible and the whole trip is definitely a precious memory for me, especially to share with my son. He still talks about it often.

I think you guys did well to go to the Sawtooths, and I love that you got a proper landscape to go with the eclipse!

And yes, I did see the eclipse in totality. I will be posting about that soon, with the lunar eclipse coming up. it was, in fact and not in exaggeration, the most amazing thing to experience.

Damn that's beautiful pic! You are a must follow. Keep me entertained with your pics..

Thanks Melser! I've got tons a coming! :)

Wow! Amazing capture of the eclipse! Didn't get to see it in the southern hemisphere

Thanks! I believe you've got a couple opportunities coming up in the next couple years in South America. I'm contemplating on making the trip down there.

Don't be afraid to travel to the next one that's convenient for you - it's well worth it, whether you photograph it or not.

This is so cool. Incredible shot! That's about as awesome as sunbursts get.

That is a really cool photo. The reflection of the sun in the water looks like a diamond!
It's also nice that you shared the experience with your son - he'll probably remember that for a long time!

Thanks! So many people have picked up on the reflection, which is what I really wanted with water. I shot it with a 14mm in order to get the sun and reflection in frame.
He talks about it all the time. He loves going backpacking with me.

Awesome! Yeah, definitely a unique shot. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67