Touched by the Moon

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

“Yesterday is but today’s memory and tomorrow is today’s dream” Kahlil Gibran.

Not sure if it’s just because I am coming to the final stages of (literally) the coldest winter of my life, but I am feeling particularly introspective at the moment. In the end it seems ones view of their life is nothing but a perception of a series of compressed experiences. The actual experiences have long since passed, what remains is simply the memory of those events, and hopefully a positive electrochemical response when recalling them. This shot of our first son reaching out to touch the full moon rising over a sea of mist, is one of those memories indelibly etched into my consciousness. Nature is a great teacher if only we could stop talking for a moment and start listening.

I have just passed 1,000 followers here on Steemit! It's always a humbling experience when someone signs up up to follow your images and words. I would like to thank everyone who has placed their faith in me to post into their feed; I will try and keep what I post pertinent to your lives. I often wonder what Freud would think of modern social media. The extension of the 'sense of self' it provides has the potential to infinitely expand ones own perspective bubble. Yet the reality is often quite different with the frequent regression of ones ego to an earlier more primitive stage of development. How this plays out with the increasing complexity of AI and continual blurring of ones 'sense of self' between people, their online identity, and their machines will be interesting to watch.

I have over 80,000 followers across social media; but I am currently most excited about the 1,000 I have here on Steemit. The platform represents a movement fundamentally different to the other platforms I have interacted with. The discussions here seem more like those from the fabled 17th century European coffeehouses of the enlightenment period. In contrast the rest of social media seems to be regressing into mobs of people communicating to each other with the short repetitive grunts you hear in a nightclub an hour before closing time. Steemit is not without its problems for sure, but there seems a sense of community responsibility and ownership here, which will eventually drive the change required to address most of them.

It seems like a lifetime since I joined the platform in December. There have been too many people who have helped me along the way to thank individually; so I will just have to collectively thank them all, they know who they are !

The title shot was taken on our remote ridgetop property in the Wollombi Valley, NSW, Australia

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Wow thanks @deveks ! Appreciate the up-vote and support !

Beautiful post Robert. A nice introspective writing. I liked what you said about the social aspects of Steemit vs other social media you've experienced.

The discussions here seem more like those from the fabled 17th century European coffeehouses of the enlightenment period.

there seems a sense of community responsibility and ownership here

I love the photo of you and your son - trying to touch the moon. I'm sure you won't forget that moment. :)

Thanks. We miss living at that property. But the world is full of wonders and you cant see them all from one spot.

Very true. Memories are great, but having a photo to trigger the whole experiences is special.

Very powerful image with your son. I also enjoyed your introspection and sharing of potent life meaning. I feel the same about AI. I think the human being is so much more powerful and creative that it would be a shame to give that away to something artificial and never learn our full potential or what we could create together.

Thanks. There is lots of potential with AI but also lots of pitfalls. Only time will tell how it will develop.

I didn't even notice that you had Kahlil Gibran as a quote! My favorite poet seer :) His words have often guided me deeper when I have been searching. My husband and I were actually married with Kahlil Gibran's words. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by intrepidphotos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations on 1000 17th century European enlightened coffee drinkers! Although 80,000 grunting dedicated clubbers is also impressive.

Thank you fine Sir ! Been nice to get to know such a resplendent chap as yourself here on Steemit.

I am not sure how dedicated the clubbers are; I think they move readily from DJ to DJ. It's when the enlightenment period coffee houses started serving opium that things began to get interesting.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 21:04:21
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1730.14/3200.00
Total Photos: 123
Total comments: 246
Total contest wins: 19
And have also received a 0.45 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations on 1000 followers. You are doing well. I really like your thought about what would freud think.

" I often wonder what Freud would think of modern social media. "
To have a conversation with someone like him from the past regarding the present and future would be a cool thing. I am sure they would have an interesting perspective. However it is all about perception now isn't it.

Even the perception of your son on top of someones shoulders in that moment would have been fascinating to learn. Oh dear maybe that is too philosophical at this time of day

Yes. I often think things like what would Seneca think about something. There is no wrong time of the day to be philosophical !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32