Dried Lake - SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

One of the coldest shots I have ever taken. Looking across frozen prayer flags to the 'Dried Lake' (5297m/17319 ft) and beyond towards Changtse (7553m/24780 ft) in Tibet. You can see the Khumbu Icefall making its way down to the right of the photo with Everest just off frame to the right. The photo was taken from the pre- dawn summit of Kala Pattar (5545m/18192ft) after climbing up with headtorch. I had spent a week over 5000m or 16400 ft at this stage. You have half the oxygen at 5000m as you do at sea level and it starts to take its toll on your body.

Its a long exposure I took on Fuji Velvia slide film. I have left the characteristic purple cast that was a trait of Velvia when you did a long exposure during blue hour. I am sure anyone who shot with it will remember the colour cast on anything over about 20 seconds. It reminds me of a quieter era of photography when sharing photos socially involved a few quiet drinks and a slide night!

Rob Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Wow this is amazing, I love shooting film, especially Velvia! It does look so cold!!

Thanks. Do you still shoot film?

Yes I do! I just did another post on one of the shoots I did on film, I love it!

I will have to check it out.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 00:05:55
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1027.50/1600.00
Total Photos: 68
Total comments: 117
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I respect the fact that it has been a week at this height of more than 5000 meters. The highest I've been, and no more than an hour, was at Peak Espejo (4.765 metros), "at Peak Bolivar" in Venezuela, and at that time I felt the weight of the height with a heaviness in my head. .. Now, the image is spectacular and the description you make is very good, it really has no loss ... Greetings.

The altitude is difficult at times but there are so many beautiful parts up the world up in the rarefied air!

You're right. Greetings.

Wow, must have felt great to be there!

Its a special spot.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

The way the clouds opened up just for that mountain top is quite nice. Great shot on film!

Yes it was beautiful framing . Something nice and final about film. You take the shot ; you move on with your life. With digital you take the shot and then you work on it for weeks it seems sometimes. It’s never quite right and there is always something to change.

beautiful capture, I think the purple colouring adds a mystical feel to the shot! I am running a new photography contest, it would be great to see an entry from you!

https://steemit.com/tepchallenge/@theexplorer/the-explorer-s-photo-challenge-round-1-natural-beauty-of-thailand

I will have a quick look mate.

Dude, your channel is such a huge discovery for me... amazing!

Thanks. Appreciate your support and your resteems!

Your photos are amazing ! Glad i found you :)

Thanks ! Very kind of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86