BIRD DAY – NATIONALDAYS CHALLENGES

in #photofeed6 years ago

GREAT BLUE HERON, PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FLORIDA


Want an excuse to celebrate something? Today, May 4th, is National Candied Orange Peel Day, Petite And Proud Day, National Kids Fitness Day, National Weather Observers Day, International Space Day, International Tuba Day, No Pants Day, World Give Day, Respect For Chickens Day, Relationship Renewal Day, National Orange Juice Day National Space Day, National Star Wars Day, Anti-Bullying Day, School Lunch Hero Day, International Firefighters Day, and National Bird Day. TAKE YOUR PICK!

National Bird Day has been celebrated on May 4th since 1894, so it has been around for a while! Today I went for a walk in my neighborhood armed with my canon 5D Mark II and my new Sigma 100-400mm lens with hopes of finding some birds to photograph. It was not my lucky day though. I did photograph a couple of Canada Geese on a neighborhood pond, but I was hoping to catch a glimpse of an egret or a Great Blue Heron like this one I photographed a couple of weeks ago in my neighborhood using my old 100-300mm Canon lens with broken auto focus!

The Great Blue Heron, the largest of the herons, is common wherever there is water here in Florida. It is quite easy to photograph this bird, as it will stand still for long periods of time when looking for fish, snakes and small turtles etc


Waiting patiently for the catch!
great blue heron-1.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.


I caught something!
great blue heron-2.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.


Agh! It's a twig!
great blue heron-3.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 USM
ExposureVaried
LocationPonte Vedra beach Florida
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop CC 2018, Adobe® Camera Raw

To join this challenge, all you have to do is:

  1. Use YOUR OWN photography
  2. Use the tag #nationaldays
  3. Check the web on sites like this for the day's challenges to choose from
  4. Write a post daily, or as often as you like
  5. Anyone can join in, but nominate 2 people if you like
  6. Copy and paste the challenge guidelines into your post

Check out the #wiwcontest rules and this week's theme closing at 12pm May 5th EST here


Thanks to @juliank for the #animalphotography tag. Read about the contests here.


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Although I have not posted in a while, please check out my photography-101 account here for tips and tutorials about photography.


my banner.png

Sort:  

I never know which one is the blue and white one is the grey Heron. We have one of those here at the bay. Gorgeous looking birds! Love the long feathers on the neck.

We don’t have grey herons in the US and I beleve the great blue heron is only seen in north and south America. That makes it easy for me. Lol! The adults have the long feathers I think.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-04T19:41:12
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 571.54/800.00
Total Photos: 51
Total comments: 147
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Wonderful series of shots. I've the Great Blues when I lived in NJ. At least I think that's what there were. It's been quite a few years now.

Thanks! Yes, I’m sure that would have been what they were. They do live in NJ too.

Gorgeous bird and shots! The last is my favorite with all ripples and reflections :)

Thanks for stopping by to comment! My favorite is the second one. :-)

He is adorable! And photos are so ... clear! Great shots!

Thanks! And thanks for stopping by to comment!

It!s my pleasure :)

Have you used Photoshop or other photo editing programs much to apply filters? There are some really neat options out there.

I have not used any "filters" in these shots. They have been post-processed in Adobe Camera Raw and in Adobe Photoshop CC 2018. All my images are shot in Raw format and then processed by me. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43