A Carolina Chickadee – Or Is It A Black Capped Chickadee? – Whiteiswhite Tuesday

in #photofeed6 years ago

Carolina Chickadee?


I love to see the variety of birds that visit our bird feeder here in Florida all year long. One of my favorites is the little chickadee with his mostly white chest, gray wings, and wearing what seems like a black cap and a black bow tie!

For years, I believed this to be the Black Capped Chickadee which I was familiar with from more northern climates, but my research has shown that Black Capped Chickadees are not often found much further south than West Virginia in the eastern United States. Seeing as I live in Florida, this is most likely then to be the Carolina Chickadee, which is slightly smaller and fluffier! It could also be a hybrid. What do you think?

One thing is sure! It's a chickadee!


black capped chickadee.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
Lens100-400mm f/5-6.3|Contemporary 017 HSM
Exposure1/30 sec; f/14; ISO 1250
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop CC 2018, Adobe® Camera Raw

Today's theme is Animals for the whiteiswhite challenge.

Monday: White Photographed Against White
Tuesday: Animals
Wednesday: Flowers
Thursday: Food And Drink
Friday: Architecture
Saturday: Water In Nature
Sunday: Anything Goes

The rules are very simple. You have only 4 things to remember!
Your own original photography only!
The image does not have to be all white, but the subject matter needs to be mostly white
A link to this page so others can read the rules
#whiteiswhite tag


Don't forget about the #wiwcontest – It's not the same as the daily challenge!

Read about this week's theme and the rules here


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I truly appreciate it. Read some of my past photography tips and tutorials at photography-101.


my banner.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

They are very close.

I think I would need to see 2 together to be able to distinguish them apart, but it's not likely to happen here in Florida!

and its a great shot of it

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I love chickadees they're so cute

I can't help with identifying which one it is, but I love when the little chickadees come to my bird feeders! They are just usually traveling through Texas heading north or south I guess. I see them mostly in the fall and early winter and then also the spring! Nice capture!

Thanks! We have them here all year round. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73