Rocky Reflections - Across Canada, Day 21 of 92

in #photofeed6 years ago

Rocky Reflections

Here is the same view as I shared a couple of days ago, but a few hours later, just before the sun began to poke its head above the horizon and kiss the mountain peaks. This image is a panorama stitched from six images: each one 15 seconds at 24mm.

I loved the quiet of blue hour at this incredible and iconic Canadian location, but the picture is a little deceiving, because behind and to each side of my camera was a mob of early-morning tourists that arrived by the busload in time for the best light and swarmed the rocky hilltop viewpoint, jostling for positions. As much as I enjoyed being here and witnessing sunrise in such a majestic part of the Rockies, it was disconcerting to have so many people surround me after spending all night by the lake with only one or two other photographers.

Sort:  

Beautiful shot by the way ;)

Thank you. ;)

I'm surprised that many people showed up so early! I always choose early mornings because the general tourist seems to sleep in. Still, beautiful photo.

So was I! You see a few photographers here and there for sunrises but rarely full buses...

It is a circus there. But it is worth it . Unlike Lake Louise.

Agreed. As much as I like Lake Louise for sentimental reasons.

I guess I just have no sentimental reasons. Although I see they are putting in a nude waterpak there now so times are changing https://www.cbc.ca/radio/thisisthat/nude-water-park-the-cbc-historian-quilting-punks-1.4875816/nude-waterpark-for-adults-set-to-open-in-lake-louise-1.4875830

What the wut! Such an incongruous development. 8|

My sentimental reasons involve trips as a kid, eating in the restaurant, and skating on the lake before the Olympics. I guess other people will create different kinds of sentimental memories in the coming years.

lol ... yes like watching people slide down the waterpark from the balcony of the chateau with their 800mm f5.6

Am I the only one who has noticed that Lake Louise is kind of a cold place?

lol. ok your right; one might need the the Nikon COOLPIX P1000 with its 3000mm super telephoto lens.

I'm sure they'll sell it at the Chateau gift shop.

Congratulations @derekkind! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very Beautiful!

Thanks, Kevin. :)

Hi @derekkind!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.237 which ranks you at #2676 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2693).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 299 contributions, your post is ranked at #112.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Just Wow!

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG I know that feeling from earlier this year at lake Wanaka for the famous tree 🙈 But Moraine stays beautifull, Although I prefer your other version with the stars reflecting in the water 👍 Was that one shot in the Night part you mention with only one/two other photographers?

Yes, I can imagine the Wanaka tree is a tad popular now...and yet I have to admit I'd still love to photograph that myself!

Yes, the previous share was from the night of the same morning. :)

What an amazing pic. I have kept copy of same to add to my collection

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69