Main Street — 1852

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)



Mountsberg Church — 1854
DSC_1012.jpg

As I peeked out the church window, I noticed how the sun highlighted some of the old buildings and how perfectly the panes framed this town scape.

The Drug Store, painted red, served a double purpose. It was not just the apothecary but also an examination room for the town physician, Dr. Beattie. Even his name sounds heritage.

Main Street

The Jerseyville Train Station was built in 1896. It operated train services from Hamilton to Brantford. The building was used for filming train scenes in the Anne of Green Gables movies and Anne of Avonlea tv series.

DSC_1014.jpg

Class "G" Consolidated Steam Engine
DSC_0984.jpg

Built in 1910 in Montreal, this locomotive is one of only two preserved. It serviced the Toronto, Hamilton and Buffalo rails for many years.

Gillen House — 1852
DSC_1052.jpg

Robert and Mary Gillen emigrated from Ireland in 1852 and built their house in Brantford, Ontario. It was home to four generations of Gillens.

In 1960, the City of Brantford purchased the house before donating it to Westfield Heritage Village.

The Gillen grandchildren named their home "Old Hundred". The house bears the name today on the mail slot.


History is a symphony of echoes heard and unheard. It is a poem with events as verses
Charles Angoff




This is a continuation of my post on Westfield Heritage Village.
The Blacksmith Shop

photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 


Sort:  

Your photography is wonderful - Isn't it great to go for a look in the past :)

Thank you @andysantics. Glad you enjoyed the pictures. Visiting the past via these houses is amazing. It's fun to see people dressed in period clothing too - altho I didn't take photos of their faces, I did capture a couple which will be posted at another date.

Great photos @countrygirl!
I really liked the quote as well.
I found your post through the @dreemsteem hunt!

Nice to meet you @bafi. You are following the pirate hunt are you? hehe.....Glad you enjoyed the photos and quote. :)

Those pics are stunning and transport us back to a different time - even the shot through the window is giving us a 19th century perspective on the town as we are looking through that wavy glass typical of 1800's architecture. Beautiful.

It's amazing that they kept that original glass....I think it's called bubble glass, either that or I made it up :)

I love historic places like that! Always interesting how some things change, but some things stay the same.

So true. Just shinier and more costly :)

Beautiful shots. Fun to imagine all of the generations living in the town and homes. So much history! The apothecary which housed the doctor...so fun!

They certainly kept things simple back then, that's for sure. It makes total sense for a doctor to run the pharmacy and take care of the patient though. In Canada, at least, some pharmacists are able to diagnose small things and suggest home care...they also give flu shots and other medications to those who can't manage on their own.

I love touring these historic settlements! It is such a great way to preserve our history! Fantastic photos!

Thanks Mel. I plan on going back - I think I said that before. There is so much to see and learn there. And I love the atmosphere. I'll pack a small picnic this time.

There are two within an hours drive of me and I love going to the special events they have. I went to one where Mark Twain was visiting the village...He was great and I left feeling like I had met Mark Twain! Another time they had Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show complete with Annie Oakley. I love the feeling of stepping back in time!

There are so many places around here - I really want to see at least one a week. We can buy a pass for the year for the two of us for about $100 for the year. That's not bad at all.

Oh I'd love to see Mark Twain's stuff....and Annie Oakley. ha...that would be fun.

I will find those pictures...It was really fun!

All great shots ...the first one is my favourite, perfect composition and great colors ;)

Thank you so much @asgarth. I love your comments. Appreciate them.

wow, such a beautiful buildings!!! It like a jump in the past! I've seen something similar just in some movies, but these architectures are so intrigued for me ^_^ I love these pics!

These little houses are so adorable.....there were more rustic ones there as well. But that is for another day. Thanks for stopping by @silviabeneforti.

Very nice photos! I like the old engine the best. Can you get inside of it all? I've never gotten to see the inside of an engine before, steam powered or otherwise.

The photo through the window is nice, too. It's an interesting composition.

I posted that engine just for you because you asked the other day about the caboose and if there was an engine. ha! Yes I can get inside but not that day. I'll be back there and will get those photos as well. The caboose was interesting inside - my photos didn't turn out....boo.

I like the window photo as well....it made me feel like I transported in time.

Thank you!!

Inside shots can be tricky. That's where an ultra-wide lens and a tripod come in handy. I'll look forward to photos of the inside of the engine.

Good to know re the tripod....I'll make sure I'm leaning against something - that helps keep my camera steady - I hate the shakes ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 04:26:31
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 393.59/400.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 165
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34