the blacksmith shop in the 1800's

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Portrait Photography Entry
DSC_1122.jpg
ISO100 | 50mm | f/1.8 | 1/100s

Built in the early 1820's in the township of Beverly, this Blacksmith Shop was moved to Westfield Heritage Village for preservation. It's run by three volunteers using techniques from the early1800's.

They work in natural lighting from the windows and fireplace in order to see the glowing color of the metal. The changes in the iron's temperature dictate readiness for forging. The ideal heat and color for most forging is bright yellow-orange.

During the demonstration, a huge bellows was pumped to blow air on the fire to make it hotter to soften the metal.

Watching the man hammer the bright orange tipped iron was interesting. I can only imagine the strength, patience and tenacity he would need to twist and bend the metal into a desired shape.

In the 1800's, the blacksmith's shop was located in a central part of town to service people travelling through as well as the town's occupants. They produced horse shoes, for example, and nailed them to the horse or ox's hoofs. They also made nails, locks, tools, agricultural implements, decorative items, cooking utensils, weapons and the like.

The blacksmith also repaired weapons, lengths of chain, carriage wheels and miscellaneous metal items.

the blacksmith shop buildingDSC_1112.jpgISO100 | 50mm | f/5 | 1/250s

DSC_1115.jpgISO100 | 50mm | f/5.0 | 1/30s

DSC_1116.jpgISO100 | 50mm | f/5.0 | 1/25s

hammering the metal on an anvil
DSC_1124.jpg
ISO100 | 50mm | f/1.8 | 1/6s

DSC_1121.jpg
ISO100 | 50mm | f/1.8 | 1/10s

the Blacksmith's home
DSC_1126.jpg
ISO100 | 50mm | f/3.2 | 1/1250s

he kneads glowing iron, as if it were soft paste
Thomas Carlyle




photo by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018

Thank you @juliank
for initiating the Monday to Friday photography contests.

Sort:  

wow awesome post:)

Thank you so much!! I appreciate that kind of feedback :)

Beautiful photo essay with a mix of monochrome and colour shots - very informative. Captivating - a time machine back to a simpler time

Btw, I see a witch effigy burning in that mono shot of the forge - Scary!!

I can see that!!

I was just saying that to @prydefoltz. Thanks for the comments.

Great portrait but I like the hammering the hammer on an anvil series more...especially the second picture is really cool for me ...

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day my friend...

Oh, glad you liked it @mnallica. Thank you very much for saying so.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 21:39:06
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 382.84/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 165
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

My granddad was a farrier/blacksmith who was also a farmer. I remember he was a large man with massive arms from swing the various hammers that could weigh up to 20 pounds. I loved watching him at the forge.

Oh I can imagine his strength and muscular frame.....yes. I wanted to give it a try but they wouldn't let me. hehe...I'd probably fall over.

It's so interesting to watch.

haha :)
The house is very sweet. and an extraordinary portrait shot. very successful dear friend. I really like it!

Oh, good, I'm glad you like it. :) Thank you !!

I love watching them work! Such a necessary member of all early settlements! My town still had a blacksmith when I was a kid....he had a forge in one corner and also did small engine repair and welding!

Really?? That's so fun.!

Beautiful, Blacksmithing and forging is quite an art. Such hot, backbreaking work. Really beautiful to see the history displayed and maintained with historic ethnicity.
I love you pictures and the history, thank you @countrygirl. I bet it was a fun demonstration to witness.

I couldn't imagine how difficult this job would be. I talked to the guys about it for a while. For volunteers they sure had a ton of information and I could tell they enjoyed the work. When I go back I think I'll ask them to make me a wooden disc with initials on it. They did so for the kids, but I'm a kid and I want one too :)

Thanks so much for your friendly support @birdsinparadise :)

It is cool to think about how people used to live. Puts things into perspective. We definitely have it a lot easier now.

We have it so easy and suffer from more malcontent than we ought to. Seriously, these historical finds always put things into perspective. I know the times were more difficult and health conditions were dreadful and I wouldn't want to live in such a time. But it makes me hunger for more simplicity.

Simplicity has a zen to it ... for sure:)

Very nice! I especially like the portrait and the horseshoe photos. It's nice to see people keeping the blacksmith tradition alive up there!

There was a documentary on a special type of viking sword on Nova once, where they actually found a blacksmith (in Minnesota!) to recreate the blade, using period technology. It was pretty impressive!

You're making good use of that lens and it's wide aperture! Fast lenses are amazing, when there's not much light.

I wanted that horse shoe in the worst way. I planned how I could rip the piece of wood off the door without anyone seeing me!! lol.....seriously. I wouldn't take it but I planned it in my head. Such a klepto!!

That would be impressive to see a sword recreated. I love shows like Nova or PBS or the history channels.

I am making use of my lens and learning as I go. I think I need to change the ISO up....I've noticed everyone seems to have a higher number???? What do you think? Are there rules for that? Presently I am using aperture priority mode so that my camera changes everything but the aperture - I do that part. But the ISO can be fixed and it's staying a 100. It would make the shutter speed faster if I changed it right?

Hehe, well it is a very nice horseshoe! I'm glad they hung it the right side up, so that the luck doesn't run out.

As for the ISO question, you may already know this but, if not, it could be helpful:

Aperture, ISO, and shutter speed are the three things you need to balance to get the right exposure and each one has two effects.

Aperture: The wider the aperture, the more light but also the less of your image is in focus.

Shutter speed: Longer exposures take in more light, but you get motion blur.

ISO: The higher the ISO, the faster light is absorbed, but it adds digital "noise" to your images.

I usually try to keep my ISO at 400 or less. My camera doesn't handle higher ISO values well, so at 800 the images start to look fuzzy. By 3200, they're a mess. It's decade-old tech, though, and the newer cameras do a lot better job with higher ISO.

Funny random fact: Canon developed an ultra-receptive sensor that "starts" in the 100,000 ISO zone. It can take photos in firefly-light, but it won't be in a consumer camera. It's mostly used for scientific research and such.

Thank you kindly for detailed info....I very much appreciate all the tips I can get. I'm not a fan of a grainy photo personally so I'll keep my ISO below 400.

The canon camera sounds interesting - I guess it would be amazing for night time shots of the sky?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72