Come with me to the Canadian Rockies!

in #photoessay6 years ago (edited)

Are you up for a road trip? Let's head deep into the Canadian Rockies to see some of the most spectacular scenery on earth.

Along the way, it is my hope to capture some images of the historic Canadian Pacific Railway as it crosses the mountains, runs alongside lakes and rivers, through tunnels and over bridges.
DSC_2081-Edit-Edit.jpg

If you're ready, top up the gas tank and let's go!

We'll start out in Canmore, Alberta where my wife and I are on vacation along with our son and daughter in law. Canmore is surrounded by mountains and we lost track trying to count them all. I took this photo two days ago from Silvertip golf course.

DSC_1771.jpg

There is still plenty of snow at Lake Louise!

DSC_2013.jpg

DSC_1948.jpg

One of my favourite shots so far, at Emerald Lake, BC

DSC_2115.jpg

We've spent a couple of days exploring the area around Banff, Lake Louise and Yoho and tomorrow we have to head back home.

DSC_2279.jpg

DSC_2290-Edit.jpg

At the Natural Bridge in Yoho

DSC_2152.jpg

So what was that thing about trains?

On the two day trip from Victoria to Canmore, we were amazed by the beauty of the Canadian Pacific trains running through the rocky mountains. On the return leg of our journey, I hope to spend a day shooting the trains, and visiting the train museum in Revelstoke. I already have some shots I really like, so I will share just a couple before closing this post.

Level Crossing, downtown Canmore, Alberta this evening.

DSC_2347.jpg

Crossing the Columbia River in Revelstoke.

DSC_1463-Edit-2_edit.jpg

Reflections on Three Valley Lake.

DSC_1400.jpg

Coming soon... the trains (and eagles) of Eagle Pass, where the last spike was driven to complete the Canadian transcontinental railway in 1885.

I will be back with an update in a day or two, thanks for reading!

Sort:  

beautiful landscapes

Sure looks like your having a great time. Beautiful pictures!
I guess I missed you by a few days.

Thank you, Dave. Have you already left the area?

We left on Sunday, but we will be back in July for a bit longer.

We may be passing through in July as well. Perhaps we will meet next time.

Looking forward to it!

Thank you for reminding of the true majesty and splendour of the Canadian Rockies. I took the Canadian Pacific from Toronto to Vancouver on my first solo trip ever when I was 17 years old! Best trip ever!

Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it! Making that trip by train must have been wonderful

It was! And I met so many interesting people travelling across country...It was a time that was different to what it is now.

All our memories are of times that are now gone forever... it's hard to understand sometimes. I guess I'm feeling my age this morning. I always feel uneasy before a long trip. Travelling through the mountains is scary in its own way.

Beautiful shots! I absolutely love the Canadian Rockies.

Check out Morants Curve if you get the chance. You get a really good view of the train coming around the bend, along the Bow River.

Thanks very much! I've been to Morants Curve years ago, and I was trying to remember where it is! I had no idea about the name so I was never going to find it... that's very helpful :)

Oh good I'm glad. It's close to Lake Louise on the Bow Valley Parkway. I did hear that there are seasonal road closures though so just double check whether it's open or not. Enjoy heaven on earth 💙

Although I didn't get there today, I think I found a painting of Morant's Curve at the Revelstoke Railway Museum :)
DSCF9573.jpg

Yes that looks like it. What a beautiful spot! We waited 3 hours once for the train to come. Haha...the things we do. Here's my shot from a slightly different angle. I'd love to get back there a little earlier in the day for some better light

20180505_064432.jpg

That's a really great shot, I would be very proud to have captured that!

That's really good to know about. We couldn't stop there today but we will be back in July.

Magnificent photos of some truly remarkable landscapes Keith. I think your image of those beautiful pine trees competing with the majestic mountains behind them is simply stunning. Enjoy the rest of your road trip my friend. (U & R )

It's been an amazing trip Trudee, the best one ever! Spending some time with the kids has been great, but today we have to leave... Thank you :)

That’s wonderful to hear Keith. Have a safe and enjoyable trip home. 🌞

We're thinking about taking "the long way" home. Whatever that is. Maybe spend some time being tourists before going back to the island.

That sounds like a great plan Keith. Are you getting good weather?

Oh yes, sunny and 18 to 20 C, it's quite lovely!

One part of the world I have never visited- thanks for capturing it so well! Stunning photos, Keith. Each one is more glorious than the next.

I'm glad you like the photos, Melinda! Thank you :)

this post made me want to got to your place it was nice and the views are great...

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

OMG those mountains though! You, Sir are an awesome photographer, but is there a way to not make a nice shot with those mountains and beautiful land! Outstanding Keith, as always!

Thank you so much, my friend! It actually is possible to take some bad shots here (I have a few) but you really have to work at it! You have to push a bunch of incorrect buttons and stuff which I did a few times :) Other than that, you just aim in any direction and there is something awesome to see.

One thing I didn't know about Alberta is how dry the air is! The climate is completely different on the east side of the Rockies compared to back home where we live in the PNW coastal rainforest. I will be glad to breathe some Pacific air again.... soon!

Beautiful captures!

Thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92