Last Post of the Year Times Square

in #photocircle6 years ago

Last Post of the Year Times Square

Well 2018 is soon coming to an end, and I thought I would post a couple of shots from Times Square to finish off my posting for the year

1 Times square-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 21mm F10 1/13 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



These shots were taken early morning and hence why there is not many people in the shot, but it is still as colorful as ever.
And compared to how I am sure Times Square is right now its a complete opposite, I read today that they are expecting around 2 Million People to be in Times Square this evening to see the New Year in, that number of people amazes me every time I see it or think about it, take into account that New Zealand where I am from that is half the population of the whole country, just picturing that many people in one spot overwhelms me and hence why I am sitting at home and not in Times Square.

I did one year think about going to Times Square to experience the New Year there, I was living in Queens at the time and took the Subway in and got out at Grand Central at about 7 Pm and started walking towards Times Square and it was already so busy just walking down the street was a challenge and to be honest was to much for me so I went back to Queens to a local bar and saw the New Year in there.

1 Times square-1.jpg

Sony A7iii 48mm F8 1/13 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And a second shot also fitting for tonight which shows a little clearer the Ball that drops at Midniught in the centree of the shot just above the clock saying 2018.

I do feel for those who have visited the city to see the New Year in there, the forecast is for heavy rain tonight so that will take away from some of the excitement of the night for them.

I did notice the increased Security presence in the city tonight and I can only imagine how beefed up it must be this evening, a kind of sad statement about the times that such security is needed.

Wishing everyone a Happy New year and all the best for 2019'


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.757292 lat -73.985863 long Times Square NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Happy New Year! Great photos of the square.

I wouldn't be able to be in Times Square, either. Minnesotans have a different idea of personal space. Two milion people? That's crazy!

The ball drop seems like such a strange custom. Then again, so does eating twelve grapes or olives. Anyway, have a great rest-of-2018 and may 2019 be spectacular!

Many customs are quite crazy when you think about it, I would feel like a sardine in a can in those crowds in NYC

Interesting photos of an iconic location. I'd rather be someplace out in the desert without an electric light visible but obviously a lot of people don't see it my way...

I hope you have a Happy New Year all the year long!

I can see your way for sure I would much prefer the same myself I have to admit

I was watching a little bit of the show the other night and it looked like it was raining pretty hard. I wonder if that had an impact on the number of people that came to the area for the celebration.

I am sure it must have stopped some from going in, I really felt sorry for the tourists who had travelled from afar to experience New Years in the city and had such terrible weather

Not the place I would wanted to have been at around midnight. Hate big crowds of drunks, I guess I am just getting to old for that mess.
But nice photos Jay, and Happy New Year to you.

I can relate on the getting old side it makes the thought of being there in the crowds even worse, but even when I was younger i could not have dealt with those crowds

I have never been big on crowds and now with how crazy some people are I am leery of being with big groups of people I don't know anything about.

I feel exactly the same way which is why I avoid walking the city at busy times hence all my walks and photos of the city are in early morning when it is quiet

Happy new year to you and yours @tattoodjay!
Lovely photography but it's true how times have changed everywhere with regards security!

Thanks Kindly and yes its sad that there has to be so much security everywhere

There’s that ball, ready for the countdown to midnight. I’ll be watching on TV. Happy New Year!

I probably will be well and truly asleep when it drops myself, but if not I will be watching it on TV also

Happy New Year my friend and may 2019 be all your hoping for and more

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 358 (01/01/19)

thanks so much always n honor to be feautured

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 9.5% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=last-post-of-the-year-times-square


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67