Riding General Class for 14 hours in India

in #photoanthill6 years ago

This is my entry to @manoldonchev's photo contest PhotoAnthill with this week's theme "Photo Story".
I thought this was a really exciting theme, but not so easy to decide which story to share! So I scrolled through my old pictures to see if I could come up with something, not too long, not too short, and I decided to share with you a journey of a 14 hour General Class Train Journey in India!

I usually always rode Second Class Sleeper for long train journeys in India, since first class with it's air condition and luxury is too boring and unnecessary for me and since I suffer from claustrophobia, general class with it's crowds, no beds or seat numbers was quite scary for me!
But this time, all tickets were sold out, and we had to take a general class ticket to meet my mother and brother who was arriving with airplane to Mangalore, 14 hours from where we were.
The fact that the train was sold out made me even more anxious, that would mean a looot of people, so I was really nervous before hand! I had suffered from panic attacks in over crowded trains when I was a child (in Denmark - Not India!).
So here's the photo story, including the morning after the sleep on the train station. I hope that it catches the atmosphere, and shall I add, I made it, and it turned out to be a great experience!

train.jpg

Thank you for reading, and thanks for a great Photo Contest!

Sort:  

Dear @frejafri,

Thank you for supporting our tag #archisteem. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Do drop by and take a look :)

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Awesome photos, @frejafri!

Is that you, at the window of the train?

image.png

You look like a prisoner!!! :-O

haha, yes it is! Felt a bit like it ;D

this is a closer picture, but couldn't add more than 9 pics due to the contest ;D

Quite a story, great shoots...
Good luck at the contest

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @mrprofessor and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

These photos really shared the journey and told the story so well, @frejafri ! I feel like I just read an incredible book XD

Amazing post <3

Good luck with the contest <3 <3 <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I'm also anxious in the places with too many people.. I'm glad you have survived it! You look scared on the photo from the train, but you're here, so nothing bad happened to you, lol.

14 hours even in a first class wagon is too much.. standard class in India must be hell :D

Looks like quite an experience! I really want to visit India one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40