Social media destroyed in-between: we are now either good or evil.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I am pretty shocked how the world, especially on the internet, cannot handle any constructive criticism, which seems to show weaker side of a person/group of people. I mean, when did we become those over emotional creatures, which only accept good news?

I strongly believe that this phenomenon happened because of Facebook/Instagram and all over social media platforms, which are programmed to show only fancy and happy things. I mean, just try to say something negative on Facebook and see how fast you will get roasted by social warriors. I honestly don't get it because I don't feel this stuff in the real world as people I talk with can still discuss both positive and negative actions/characteristic/emotions/events. Sadly, as soon as you turn to the social media, you see "How dare you to say that blue is a brighter color than red? All colors are same and equal, and beautiful" type of people. All I can say is:

No.They.Are.Not.

By trying to kill all the ignorance and misinforming stereotypes, people went to other radical direction and put the label of "everyone is same" on every human being. I honestly hate that. I mean, I know my weaknesses, and I can talk about them because none of us are perfect. I can also see weaknesses of other people, and I respect that. However, I cannot say that anymore because, you know, I would be called all the worst possible names if I stated the bad things about good people.

However, if it is a bad person, you can tarnish him as much as you want because... I don't know why. All I know is that social media created the world where people are either good or bad without in-between. If you truly think about that, Steemit is no different (sorry) - people who have good reputation cannot be criticized because... well... they just cannot.

Funnily, social media with all its good intentions is only creating a wider gap between people instead of leading the world to become one beautiful community. I guess we, humans, just don't know how to accept anything different so we live by "you either with me or against me" rule. But let me tell you this:

I am with everyone... and also no one

Sort:  

Nice article. I agree with your opinion. Also I believe that due to the rise of social media many people have become narcissists and always behave like they are famous or a really important person.

Yesterday I was at a cafe and I observed the behavior of some youngsters that where sitting next to me. They were taking selfies all the time, posting them on Facebook and talked only about this for more than 2 hours! They never talked to each other about any other topic. Their public image on social media is the only thing that many people are concerned nowadays and this is really sad since this image (as almost all images of the self) is false and constructed by all the stereotypes of the society.

yup, that is sad and it happens more and more often, especially among teenagers. What is sadder is that you can barely make it (or you have to be extremely strong and unique) in this world without using social medias when you are a teen, so many people just follow those stupid rules to fit in. And this huge illusion depresses everyone because they keep thinking that other people around have better lives, and that is also false.

This realization makes me a bit nauseous. Ultimately, we have not only created our personas on social media, we have started to believe it. We actually think that we are the people we post pictures of. We are happy and loving because our posts are happy and loving. We are not racist because we post articles against it. We are stunting the growth of our society due to the most pure and absolute narcissism (killed it aerevos). When you begin to wrap your mind around the fact that we are just a massive group of individuals that believe we are a part of a group, it's a bit overwhelming. We are not a team. We are not a group. We are delusional. We are idiots that think we're smart. We are a$$holes that believe we're mother Theresa. With all due respect, I wish I hadn't found your post. I realize I am part of the problem.

Well, you have found it, sorry! There is nothing wrong with realizing that you are part of the problem (if you are). You can always change it. And it is also true that we only pretend to be a group of people while in the end we only care about our own well-being. The beauty of social media delusions, right? :)

Totes magotes. <-----OH NO! I literally cant even.

I know which side I'm on!

You are the most toxic and evil person I know, man!

I hate the "you're either with me or against me" approach to life. In my experience, most of life's biggest challenges exist somewhere in the grey area. People choose to see things as black and white because they think it's easier. But then they spend all their time in a tug of war trying to pull people to their side, instead of wading into the messy grey area where the real solutions likely exist.

true that! I also love to think that everyone can choose to do whatever they want and I don't need them to either be with me or against me. We all have our own private paths which we follow and I respect every single one of them. Even the ones which I don't necessaraly agree with.

Exactly! As long as a person's actions don't directly and negatively impact another person (i.e. violence, theft, etc.), then people should be free to live their lives as they choose.

yep. I see this here too (on steemit) unfortunately, this is common in all networks, and it is not their problem, but of our culture and how do you say, more common in teenagers, but in facebook by example, we have all ages of people pretending to be what they are not, or feeling the will to judge and criticize as if they really possess knowledge for it.

I like your lines of thinking. I liken their intolerance to anything not positive or below neutral to the military teaching soldiers to kill by giving their opponents derogatory names (Japs for example) thus making the "required" process of dehumanization easier.

In this case they have labels at hand, ready to slap them on you at the slightest hint of talk involving race, gender, political views, etc..

It makes people on the right afraid to talk in the presence of ourselves! My veterans office had 7 people total, 4 of us interns. All of us leaned right except one of the full time staff who was democratic. My fellow conservative interns and one of the full time employees did not hesitate to warn me that this other lady was a democrat so I should be careful what I say around her...

This ended up being much longer than I planned. :P

Here's a gem from MLK Jr. I like to keep handy:

"I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character."

To note is that he doesn't distinguish between positive or negative judgment. He says they will not be judged by the color of their skin. Positive judgment, no matter how positive or what its about, done based off of skin color, is wrong. It is the true definition of racism, and is the one true source of all the hate in our country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55