EXCLUSIVE DTube Video 122: Is Beauty SUBJECTIVE or OBJECTIVE? + Introduction to PLATO

in #philosophy6 years ago


Is beauty subjective or objective? The nature of beauty is one of the most enduring and controversial themes in Western philosophy, and is one of the two fundamental issues in philosophical aesthetics. So today I try to tackle this issue and I also introduce you to one of my favourite Philosophers called Plato. I encourage you to read the following article if you want to learn more about this subject: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/beauty/ and also watch this video:

(I an not affiliated with either).

Thank you for watching and don't forget to comment your thoughts below! This is my fourth article and video in my new series that I call #PhilosophyFriday. Feel free to check out my previous posts here:

Why is wealth NEVER distributed equally: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tanbay/2wbpecu6

Introducing my favourite Philosopher of all time: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tanbay/4thkkqls

The Simulation Hypothesis: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tanbay/0shhmer6

If you're new to my DTube channel check out my introduction video with 24 interesting facts about me here:

My fiancé @lauracody and myself are Travel Bloggers, Instagrammers and YouTubers known as 'Travelling Weasels'.

Music credit: Special thanks to @myndnow for providing amazing background music! Make sure to check him out!

I am offering my services FREE via Steemgigs:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hmm, I'm also torn on this one my love, but I think I'm leaning more towards it being subjective... xxx

Well same here my love :P <3

Great Job Keep it up.

I don't know. But your beard if beautiful and that is my objective opinion.

Ha thanks, I had it cut recently :P

Beauty is definitely subjective. Whereas there are characteristics that are widely accented as beautiful, people are way to individual to agree on everything. Just as well or the world would be a very dull place. People put too much importance in beauty in my opinion. beautiful people can be very ugly inside. Nice videos dude.

I think it's both like you said brother. Some things are just considered as beautiful by the majority like beyonce, but there are people where some say yes and some say no :)

Winny out...for now ;)

Exactly, it may be both indeed :P Thanks for stopping by Winny :)

Very thought provoking. I would agree with you it's a little of both. Interesting topic. I also gave @lauracody a follow, great to see her here!

Yes, it is and thanks! And special thanks for following Laura, I don't know why it's so hard to find support as a female content creator here but your support is greatly appreciated!

Has she done an introduceyourself post? I haven't looked at everything. But I will check her out more for sure later. I don't know either. I think it comes down to interests...like mine is cooking and maybe not to many men are interested in that topic? I have been able to get traction with dtube and dlive though so I am very grateful for that.

Sorry didn't see your reply! Yes she had done an introduction post and yes, it might come down to interests...

Not sure if I fall into either one. Maybe I'm perfect. Lol. JK. Which category do you think I fall in to?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45