EXCLUSIVE DTube Video 117: Why is wealth NEVER distributed equally?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)


So yesterdays video about the amount of unused Steem Power sparked a lot of interest, watch it here if you haven’t seen it yet (the number will certainly surprise you) https://steemit.com/steem/@tanbay/gi6cp68o I want to thank everyone who commented, especially @surfermarly and @liondani who both gave great answers to my questions.

I also want to thank @techcoderx for highlighting the fact that the @steemit account itself has over 44 million Steem Power, and while I was planning to dedicate my video to this very fact and possible reasons why all this SP is not being used to support bloggers on Steemit in the same way as @dtube is supporting video content creators, or @steepshot is supporting photographers, it all basically boils down to a question people have been asking for centuries.

Inspired by Techcoderx’s comment I took a look st the wallet page of @steemit and I discovered an interesting donation along with the following comment by @matuca:

‘I do not know if it is correct to address you here. But I can not find another way to give my opinion. Steemit has many positive things. But it also has negatives that have to be kept in mind. One of the negatives is the bad distribution of wealth. It is being achieved equalize the distribution of real world wealth, where very few have much and many have very little. This leads to another negative thing inside steemit, "the purchase-sale of votes", used by many so that his posts may have little more than $ 0.10. This generates the third and greatest negative situation. People leave steemit. Thousands of new accounts were created recently, but how many are active? we must get new users to stay in steemit and trust it and do not leave or just publish 150 photos per day to get 0.01 in each of those post and destroying the block chain. And if the vast majority of people leave steemit What would be the future of the platform? It is dying the main purpose of the platform is to create original content and quality and be rewarded for that. I think that for steemit to become, not only the best, but the main social network in the world, we must to solve those negative things, and that the growth or not within steemit be the original and quality content and the creation of projects to collaborate with the community and attract new users. Then, we must improve the distribution of wealth. How? with important delegations to different communities, and within them to those people who work to grow it and steemit. If this happens, people will grow up within steemit and not abandon it, and will grow trust in the currency (steem sbd). And trust increases its value.’

So the basic question of the day can be summarised in the following way: Why is wealth never distributed equally?

The short answer is something that philosopher Alan de Botton called ‘Status Anxiety’. This can be summarised in the following way: Status Anxiety is an almost universal anxiety that rarely gets mentioned directly: an anxiety about what others think of us; about whether we’re judged a success or a failure, a winner or a loser. We care about our status for a simple reason: because most people tend to be nice to us according to the amount of status we have (it is no coincidence that the first question we tend to be asked by new acquaintances is ‘ What do you do?’). With the help of philosophers, artists and writers, the book examines the origins of status anxiety (ranging from the consequences of the French Revolution to our secret dismay at the success of our friends), before revealing ingenious ways in which people have learnt to overcome their worries in their search for happiness. It aims not only to be entertaining, but wise and helpful as well.

To further understand Status Anxiety, I encourage you to watch this very short 4 minute video about it:


If you really want to understand where this anxiety comes from and what to to about it, here is the full length documentary about Status Anxiety by Allan de Botton himself:

In case anyone is interested in reading the book, here is the official link: http://alaindebotton.com/status/

Thank you for reading and satisfying my Status Anxiety :P This is my third article and video in my new series that I call #PhilosophyFriday. Feel free to check out my previous posts here:

Introducing my favourite Philosopher of all time: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tanbay/4thkkqls

The Simulation Hypothesis: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tanbay/0shhmer6

If you're new to my DTube channel check out my introduction video with 24 interesting facts about me here:

My fiancé @lauracody and myself are Travel Bloggers, Instagrammers and YouTubers known as 'Travelling Weasels'.

Music credit: Special thanks to @myndnow for providing amazing background music! Make sure to check him out!

I am offering my services FREE via Steemgigs:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I see that you transcribed what I wrote...I clarify...

I do not think we all have to earn the same ... that communist ideology failed in every place in the world that was tried ... and ended up generating even more inequality ... everyone has to earn according to their work ... better distribution of wealth is achieved by creating "the conditions" so that those who strive can progress ...

Well I certainly hope they take your advice! Thanks for stopping by!

Wow this is brilliant man.

Thanks dude, happy #PhilosophyFriday :P

This is awesome brother!! I love philosophy man and man!! You bring up a good point :) It's amazing how much it actually affects us...

Winny out...for now ;)

Thanks Winny! It sure does!

This is deep dude! Really well done! Diggin' that new haircut as well! Very viking of you. :D

Thanks Jordan, and yeah, that's the look I was going for :P

Haha, that's awesome. I'm going for a similar look. Might go for the haircut soon! Not quite so short on the sides. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44