What Is Wisdom?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

“All the enjoyments and entertainments of sense are not comparable to the pleasure which gracious souls have in communion with God and doing good.” - Matthew Henry



Wisdom Tree
Image Source


Wisdom is “the quality of having experience, knowledge, and good judgment; the quality of being wise.”

The last part, the quality of being wise, uses the root word as a definition, which in school I was always taught not to do.

Which makes sense because using a different form of the same word is not helpful in furthering understanding.

So let us back up to the part about good judgment and see what we get.

This begs the question: “What is good judgment?” or more specifically “What is good?”

The understanding of what is good may hinge on the knowledge of the difference between “right and wrong” or what is commonly known as morals.

But why be concerened with any of this nonsense anyways?


Backing up more in the definition we see the the quality of having experience and knowledge.

Sounds great and something I can get on board with.

Until I take a little closer look…

Having knowledge might seem great on the surface, but what knowledge must or should you have to be wise?

There is no shortage of information available, see also the internet, but the acquisition and comprehension of a plethora of facts, data, and statistics will only get you so far.

The knowing of what to know makes a difference.

I would say the same goes for experience.

We can and do have experience all of the time.

However, like job seekers, what experience we have matters.

Again, there is no shortage of what we go out and experience in our lives.

Travel costs are lower now that technology improves. The internet allows for us to see things we never would have otherwise (and sometimes never should have).

This brings us back to an empty result in our search for what is wisdom?.


“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.”

If you are like me, and being that you’ve read this far or at least skipped ahead, and that you are like me is a big assumption, then the last line about “the Lord” and “the Holy One” may fill you with some unease.

I get it.

I used to think the same way.

It has been said “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God”.

Great, more uncomfortableness.

“But we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles”.


Now if you are still here, you either probably agree with me, which may or may not be the case, or you completely disagree with me, but are still interested in what I have to say, either to prove me wrong or out of a genuine curiosity to seek the truth.

Or perhaps you are “wise in your own eyes”.

In my search for wisdom I came to “the quality of having experience, knowledge, and good judgment; the quality of being wise” through the seeking, finding, following and fearing the Lord my God through the acceptance of His offer of salvation through His Son Jesus Christ.

I invite you to consider doing the same.

If this relates to you and you are interested in knowing more, please ask someone. Me. My wife. A local pastor. A neighbor you know who is a Christian. But please ask and I guarantee you that they will be excited to tell you more. They will especially appreciate that you asked them so that they are not forcing their beliefs upon you but getting your permission to share. It may even be something they have been praying for.


I think this is a wonderful and interesting time to be alive.

What do you think?


The future together is bright.

Join me.


As a reader of this blog you assume all risk related to the use of any information on this site. I am providing this information "as is," and disclaim any and all warranties, whether expressed or implied, including (and without limitation to) any implied warranties of merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. In no event will I, or anyone associated with this site be liable to you or to any third party for any direct, indirect, accidental, incidental, consequential, special or exemplary damages, or financial loss, injury or death resulting from any use or misuse of this data. You should NEVER use any information on this, or any other site to make decisions that can result in damage to property, financial loss, injury or loss of life.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because you want to help me be wise.


See the latest adventures and creations from my wife Sarah on steemit! Coming Soon!

Also Check Out Some of My Previous Post:


Hey, before you go, I have a question for you, Are you interested in taking out a loan to consolidate debt?

If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a cash bonus if you take out a loan.

It can be a Personal Loan or a loan to consolidate Student Loans.

Either way, if you use my link, it can be a "win-win" for us both by saving us money on interest and getting a little bit of money now!


my Credible Referral link


Sort:  

Hey man, love that you vote my posts at 100% put since the HF happened your vote power is getting crushed, around 19% right now. If you are using steemvoter or anything like that adjust the % to 25 and you will have the same impact you were having before the HF. Just an FYI...you can always leave too :-)

Thanks, yeah that is something I have thought about, but am still in at 100%.

Maybe I will change, maybe not...

No worries, just giving a heads up to a fellow steemit buddy. Nothing wrong with leaving it as if. Again, appreciate your votes. Thanks man!

Thanks, yeah. I am of the mindset of some fellow steemians about reducing the mental efforts of voting. Therefore, I vote the philosophy of what I want the voting to be like regardless of the actuality. However, you bring up a good point and I am reconsidering my steemvoter auto vote percentage, but do enjoy being generous with my votes!

I should take a cue for you and start automating some of it. I'm exhausted from manually voting.

Welcome to steemit
Following ! Hope you Follow too @mohit
Have a good day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42