[DISCUSSION] Humans are a storytelling chimpanzee who lied civilization into existence.

in #philosophy6 years ago

I've been listening to a lot of evolutionary history/psychology audiobooks this year and I believe Yuval Noah Harari, and others, have convinced me that without deception human civilization wouldn't exist.
I can understand how primitive people who had no explanations for the awesome phenomena of nature would make something up and agree it was the truth.
What I don't understand is why we cling to those fictions in the face of facts. We know volcanoes aren't angry deities nor are hurricanes malicious spirits because we know the science but some still believe it. I wonder how much longer will we be chimps before we finally emerge as gods.

Sort:  

Interesting thoughts! I saw your Steemit background art, I am a huge Big Lebowski Fan too! As well as Steem Monsters lol!

Thank you! I've seen some of your stuff on SM. You put together an interesting and informative post. Maybe I'll see you on Discord sometime.

Check out Tau. Might be of great interest. Edit: here's something on it https://steemit.com/blockchain/@kevinwong/demo-coming-soon-tau-meta-language-in-c-updated-on-github

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56477.82
ETH 2390.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33