Activist Protester Against Nuclear Armament

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

rage-2317995_1920.jpg

Many reasons draw me to this branch of activism: nuclear disarmament. I am definitely new to it even if I'm a seasoned veteran to activism in general.

It even seems like Steemit has something to do with me choosing to explore this branch of activism: this idea is new and interesting and it's the kind of topic Steemit can use. If I ever win the Nobel Peace Prize for my activism in this field, I promise to share it with Steemit and all the people that upvote my posts :) But let's not get too far ahead of ourselves.

Animal welfare, environment protection, philosophy and veganism are the fields where I have gained much experience and insights as to how to use activism to try and get what you want. And now, all these insights lead me to believe that the future of activism is in the promotion of nuclear de-armement. I'm planning to share my thoughts on the subject and see where this leads to.

So, the fist step to do when joining a movement is to find out where it stands right now. Even before we use Google to find out more about it, I know already quite a few things about it: it does not look like much is happening in this field: more countries are working hard to get them, and no nuclear-armed country has a plan to get rid of them all. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

As an activist, the first thing I need to do is to try and get a good grasp of the subject that is going to be tackled. My previous 3 posts have helped with that. The next step is to establish the purpose and the grounds for the activism.

As a person living in a country (Canada)that has no nuclear armament and no plans to acquire any nuclear warhead, it might sound like there is nothing for me to do here and that even if I were to manage to have my whole country oppose nuclear armament, what good would that do? And perhaps most importantly, what good would nuclear disarmament do? So, it seems like my first job is to effectively and convincingly answer these questions, and that's a task I really look forward to.

First of all and perhaps most importantly, the activism that I'm interested in and which I suggest now, is one that really feels distant from ordinary people. Most effective activism produce immediate and visible results, such as if you were to succeed in making the world vegan, the food stores you go to would end up looking different, just to name one thing and this is something visible and concrete which activists can set their sights on. On the other hand the nukes are not visible; they are nearly always kept away from public scrutiny. With veganism, you can see and target people that eat meat and make an obvious difference. No such effects can apparently be produced with anti-nuclear armament activism, so what's the point?

The point is that nuclear devastation is a relatively new threat on Earth, and this threat comes from a very specific place: the "political elite" or the most egoistical layer of a number of human societies. So, in order to deal with this threat, you have to find new and innovative ways to approach or deal with this top layer of natural egoists along with their enablers and that's what I really look forward to discuss this with you in my next post.

MoscowNew YorkTorontoTehranPyongyang
bomb-157416_1280.pngbomb-157416_1280.pngbomb-157416_1280.pngbomb-157416_1280.pngbomb-157416_1280.png
Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I accept. I am willing to let you share my post. Thanks, I am flattered.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @simonluisi to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66