You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dog walk diaries: Finding meaning

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Nice post Taraz,

You touched on a lot of important points in this post. Since we spend a significant portion of our lives "at work" this is a topic that one should really give a lot of consideration to. Unfortunately, this is a decision we make in life prior to having much “life experience.” In all honesty, our educators would be wise to make this a mandatory course that one takes say maybe their junior year in high school.

Do you work or, do you have a job? Is there a difference?

Most people from a young age are encouraged to get a good job, get married, buy a house, have kids and any other generic paths you can think of. Parents say, do well at school so that your future is bright.

This was my case, my dad was always telling me growing up (he meant well) that I had to go to college or I would never be successful in life. So I dutifully went to college and at the end of 2 years had a GPA of ~2.5 because the courses I enjoyed I studied for and the courses I didn’t enjoy I didn’t study for. Then you sort of figure things out and realize that to go into the more competitive fields post college you need a much higher GPA. Try raising your GPA after getting 60 credit hours at 2.5, it’s not easy.

A client today was saying that many of her friends are changing their positions, companies, retraining and finding something they like to do instead of what they have been doing. Mid-life crises?

Many that look objectively realize quite soon that, money has been the focus and even though they are comfortable financially, it isn't enough. Their kids are older and independent, the house is stable, they have achieved what their parents and academic advisors had planned for them but, something is missing.

While there are many theories out there one that comes to mind, based on my college course work, is Erik Erickson’s stage 7 Generativity vs. Stagnation. Do we find our work meaningful, productive, and contributing positively to society, or otherwise as in stagnation. I also think that an early stage 8 Integrity vs. Despair begins to come into play as one begins to look at their work life with a sense of satisfaction or a sense of failure.

It seems somewhat sad to think that the majority of people seem to have meaningless jobs, most for a lifetime. Perhaps instead of advising to get a good job, it should be, find something you are willing to work for.

Unfortunately I think that this is all too true. Many people have no choice but to take any type of employment that pays the bills just to survive and support their families.

While I didn’t mean to requote your entire post I just found so many points to be spot on. I guess if I could sum it up simply, I would say that if a person could find a job that you would do for free and also get paid for doing it, you’re on the right path to a career that you will meet most of your objectives as it relates to your work life. If only all of us had this wisdom and understanding early in life.

Sort:  

Many people have no choice but to take any type of employment that pays the bills just to survive and support their families.

This is why I think a great deal more needs to be done to build the understanding early so we can learn about ourselves more fully and, make better choices based upon it. There is so little introduction into self-awareness that it is near impossible for an immature mind to even consider well what might be suitable, let alone make decisions for it.

If only all of us had this wisdom and understanding early in life.

I wonder if our parents introduced some concepts earlier, if we would be better off. I wouldn't leave it up to government-run schools at least.

I concur, that is why I have tried to impress upon our boys the things that I wish that I had been more aware of at an early age. It's tough in that we all think that we've got it all figured out our Junior/Senior years in high school but little do we know.

Point well taken that we shouldn't leave it, or anything else, up to our government run school systems. I told all of our boys, no girls much to my wife's chagrin, that there's no need to go to college unless they plan on getting A's and B's from the get go. I also tried to impress upon them to find employment in an area that they really enjoy, i.e. you would do it for free, and if you get paid so much the better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79