Dog walk diaries: Finding meaning

in #philosophy6 years ago

Do you work or, do you have a job? Is there a difference? A client today was saying that many of her friends are changing their positions, companies, retraining and finding something they like to do instead of what they have been doing. Mid-life crises?

20180817_190921.jpg

Most people from a young age are encouraged to get a good job, get married, buy a house, have kids and any other generic paths you can think of. Parents say, do well at school so that your future is bright.

What is a good job? Is it one that satisfies buying or saving, one that supports relationships or, one that makes one feel like what one does makes a difference? Do you have a good job?

It seems that for many, after getting the house, car, kids and some savings they ask if there is mire or, is this it? They turn to their job and question if they enjoy what they do or if they are just doing it for the money.

Many that look objectively realise quite soon that, money has been the focus and even though they are comfortable financially, it isn't enough. Their kids are older and independent, the house is stable, they have achieved what their parents and academic advisors had planned for them but, something is missing.

Do they give up a career that was hard earned but unfulfilling to chase meaning? Should this be a question asked halfway through or, should it have been investigated at the start? Perhaps, it takes the experience of life to recognise that meaning is an important component of a satisfying life.

To me, meaning is an active path and, it can be found in any job, under any conditions. Of course, some make it easier to find than others but, work comes into it. As I see it, a job isn't necessarily work and vice versa. Ideally though, it would be great if one can satisfy the monetary requirements from having a job by working at what provides personal meaning. It isn't always so simple nor, potentially possible at all though.

This is why it is work. Work is a direction toward something one finds important and the journey itself is meaningful. A job is an act to provide money, not meaning. What one does with that money however could add meaning value.

It seems somewhat sad to think that the majority of people seem to have meaningless jobs, most for a lifetime. Perhaps instead of advising to get a good job, it should be, find something you are willing to work for. It doesn't even matter too much what that may be as as long as one experiences meaning in it, one will be content.

Working like this doesn't mean easy though as not much that means a lot is ever easy.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

Really liked your interpretation of work is @tarazkp. I feel that what is unclear in the present becomes clear, as the present becomes past. As a college student which is deeply passionate in tech but chosen a completely different route of life (Medicine) it's super hard to say if it's right or wrong, I guess we can just live day by day at the fullest. You have a new, Italian, follower! ✌️

Nice post Taraz,

You touched on a lot of important points in this post. Since we spend a significant portion of our lives "at work" this is a topic that one should really give a lot of consideration to. Unfortunately, this is a decision we make in life prior to having much “life experience.” In all honesty, our educators would be wise to make this a mandatory course that one takes say maybe their junior year in high school.

Do you work or, do you have a job? Is there a difference?

Most people from a young age are encouraged to get a good job, get married, buy a house, have kids and any other generic paths you can think of. Parents say, do well at school so that your future is bright.

This was my case, my dad was always telling me growing up (he meant well) that I had to go to college or I would never be successful in life. So I dutifully went to college and at the end of 2 years had a GPA of ~2.5 because the courses I enjoyed I studied for and the courses I didn’t enjoy I didn’t study for. Then you sort of figure things out and realize that to go into the more competitive fields post college you need a much higher GPA. Try raising your GPA after getting 60 credit hours at 2.5, it’s not easy.

A client today was saying that many of her friends are changing their positions, companies, retraining and finding something they like to do instead of what they have been doing. Mid-life crises?

Many that look objectively realize quite soon that, money has been the focus and even though they are comfortable financially, it isn't enough. Their kids are older and independent, the house is stable, they have achieved what their parents and academic advisors had planned for them but, something is missing.

While there are many theories out there one that comes to mind, based on my college course work, is Erik Erickson’s stage 7 Generativity vs. Stagnation. Do we find our work meaningful, productive, and contributing positively to society, or otherwise as in stagnation. I also think that an early stage 8 Integrity vs. Despair begins to come into play as one begins to look at their work life with a sense of satisfaction or a sense of failure.

It seems somewhat sad to think that the majority of people seem to have meaningless jobs, most for a lifetime. Perhaps instead of advising to get a good job, it should be, find something you are willing to work for.

Unfortunately I think that this is all too true. Many people have no choice but to take any type of employment that pays the bills just to survive and support their families.

While I didn’t mean to requote your entire post I just found so many points to be spot on. I guess if I could sum it up simply, I would say that if a person could find a job that you would do for free and also get paid for doing it, you’re on the right path to a career that you will meet most of your objectives as it relates to your work life. If only all of us had this wisdom and understanding early in life.

Many people have no choice but to take any type of employment that pays the bills just to survive and support their families.

This is why I think a great deal more needs to be done to build the understanding early so we can learn about ourselves more fully and, make better choices based upon it. There is so little introduction into self-awareness that it is near impossible for an immature mind to even consider well what might be suitable, let alone make decisions for it.

If only all of us had this wisdom and understanding early in life.

I wonder if our parents introduced some concepts earlier, if we would be better off. I wouldn't leave it up to government-run schools at least.

I concur, that is why I have tried to impress upon our boys the things that I wish that I had been more aware of at an early age. It's tough in that we all think that we've got it all figured out our Junior/Senior years in high school but little do we know.

Point well taken that we shouldn't leave it, or anything else, up to our government run school systems. I told all of our boys, no girls much to my wife's chagrin, that there's no need to go to college unless they plan on getting A's and B's from the get go. I also tried to impress upon them to find employment in an area that they really enjoy, i.e. you would do it for free, and if you get paid so much the better.

If you have dependents, a job offers more meaning than if you don't, cos you're doing it for them.

But either way, work is far better, because I think human beings need as much meaning in their lives, as possible, and are healthier and live longer if they have that. :)

I think human beings need as much meaning in their lives, as possible, and are healthier and live longer if they have that.

Or even if they live less long, they may enjoy a higher factor of quality for the time spent.

I can sum it up with the lyrics of a 1980's tune, have a listen to them my friend.

For me, one should earn enough to spend his/her life in comfort but yes comfort is a relative term. The most suitable job is the one which gives pleasure while doing it.

How long can one stay comfortable if there is no meaning in what one does?

I’ve only ever had a couple jobs I actually liked, and those I loved. Both were very challenging and forced me to grow so that I could do them well. I was eventually great at both and clearly helped people in the process. This combination is what made each job so fulfilling, plus earning enough money to save substantially each month. The savings rate supplied the sense of long term progress I needed to be satisfied.

Eventually one of those jobs transitioned into a very successful business that has allowed me to retire early. Along the way I learned so much that even though technically I am retired, I’m still quite active with creative projects. I don’t consider it work despite requiring my creative effort simply because I structure it so that I have complete control over my time and location. To me the thing that always made activity work instead of play was losing control over my time and location.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think this is how I see the difference between work and a job. Work is done for yourself even though some parts of it are compulsory. A job is for another who imposes controls and demands. For me, work is play, a job is what most people consider work, If that makes sense :)

Even given unlimited resources, I don't ever see myself retiring. There is always something that needs to be worked at that I can do. Of course, the difference between being forced and choosing to be part of comes into play.

My one piece of advice from my extremely limited experience with retirement is, don’t say yes to anything that requires you to regularly leave your house earlier than you would naturally wake up without an alarm clock. One of the best things about retirement is finally letting the body normalize its natural rhythms without feeling like you’re letting anything fall apart.

(You may need to wait until your daughter is older 😀)

That really is good advice which is why Steem is perfect for me as, I am a night owl...

You may need to wait until your daughter is older

...I just have to train her to sleep in until 11am 😊

According to you, @tarazkp. I think that's why there are people who are bitter in their jobs, in their lives. It's very sad to see you do something you don't like just for the sake of having more money. I believe that everything has to be done with passion and you only do what you like with passion. That is why there are people who dance better than others, who cook better than others, who write better than others. Passion is the magic ingredient. These days a student already graduated in engineering told me that he was an art student. I asked him why and he told me: that title was for my parents. Now I'm going to look for the title I've always dreamed of. So there are people fuses over there. Happy Friday.

That is why there are people who dance better than others, who cook better than others, who write better than others.

With out the people who are passionate about what they do, the world would be a very uninspiring place with very little high innovation.

I think it depends on the type of work you do. Most jobs are a means of money, but a good job fullfils more than the money requirement

God jobs are hard to find. Perhaps it is easier to make one.

Agree, a Steem job doesn't sound so bad.

If you can afford to move to something that ticks more boxes then great. You can do a job you love but how many of those pay the bills.

Yep, I think the 'affrd to' is a big part of it. Having the resources to back a risk making it a lot less risky.

How are you steeming so adeptly from your phone? Do I need more patience with eSteem?

I use steemit in the browser. It isn't the handiest :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94