You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dog walk diaries: Finding meaning

in #philosophy6 years ago

Many people have no choice but to take any type of employment that pays the bills just to survive and support their families.

This is why I think a great deal more needs to be done to build the understanding early so we can learn about ourselves more fully and, make better choices based upon it. There is so little introduction into self-awareness that it is near impossible for an immature mind to even consider well what might be suitable, let alone make decisions for it.

If only all of us had this wisdom and understanding early in life.

I wonder if our parents introduced some concepts earlier, if we would be better off. I wouldn't leave it up to government-run schools at least.

Sort:  

I concur, that is why I have tried to impress upon our boys the things that I wish that I had been more aware of at an early age. It's tough in that we all think that we've got it all figured out our Junior/Senior years in high school but little do we know.

Point well taken that we shouldn't leave it, or anything else, up to our government run school systems. I told all of our boys, no girls much to my wife's chagrin, that there's no need to go to college unless they plan on getting A's and B's from the get go. I also tried to impress upon them to find employment in an area that they really enjoy, i.e. you would do it for free, and if you get paid so much the better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84