The Philosopher George Berkeley Once Stated, 'Few People Think, But All Will Have Opinion'. What's Your Opinion?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Opinions galore!


OK let me think about this one. To understand this statement a little more in depth we need to look at George Berkeley the man himself. He was a man of differing opinions and was interested in the philosophy of external reality - the world outside as perceived by our minds.

Central to Berkeley's thinking was:

To be is to be perceived (or to perceive).



Source


Idealistic thinking


We can tell the difference between our dreams and reality by the very fact that we see a structured and non-chaotic world. Pseudo-perceptions break these rules of logic and order. We call this philosophy 'idealism'.

The target of his idealistic thinking was to contribute to enlightenment philosophy, and Berkeley had a strong faith being a trained bishop.

Movements like this accumulated a lot of followers and all these people wanted to enlightened by the greats of the time like Voltaire and Reimarus.

In the overall context i.e. discrediting the ignorance of Christianity's harshest critics who simply poured out the same lines time after time:

Few men think, but all have opinions.

With Berkeley and like many others on Steemit, I could not agree with him more.

Opinions below.

@mindhunter


Sort:  

Many consume and quote content, but few create it (which is probably why tablets have become so popular 8-).

Brainless idiots!!

Probably for the best they are keyboardless as well, makes typing harder 8-).

Yes Sir @ocrdu ... always at the keyboard ... death to all tablet users!! Lazy bums!!

All have brains, but not all use it.

All absorb content. None create. Did you steem today @immarojas? :)

Oui, por quoi mon ami??

You clever woman you. IMPRESSED :)

I think if you have that opinion you may not have thought enough.
Maybe you only think you thought.

If you think that you think, you only think that you think!

Or in original German song text:

Wenn du denkst, dass du denkst, dann denkst du, dass du denkst!

WOW! Thanks for that excellent Germanic tale @lennstar :)

Your way too clever for this post @lighteye ;)

Gotta love the Frank! He's probably my favourite singer. How did you guess that @lighteye?

You said “your way”, I said “my way” ;)


Opinions are like butts

Everyone has them.
and they may stink to the other guy
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions
NO one is entitled to their own facts.

Thanks for picking a nice ass @everittdmickey ... and not a hairy Scots one!!

I aim to please.

I do not agree. I think the OP quote is rubbish, because yeah, many people tend to not think critical enough about opinions they claim to have. BUT this also feeds into "the people are stupid" and expertise of the elite arguments, that I dont support.

For me this just another nice sounding rhetoric that does not really have value in any academic form. I mean the only statement you make is "I could not agree with him more". So the only thing you conrtibute is the firm believe in something someone else said, which I guess is one of the implemented critics in the quote.

Just to be clear, I dont want to offend you or fight, I want to discuss ;)

His quote was written in elitist times. Your right. But I still believe it. If you don't, then that is your choice @thegermandude :)

Lol "elitist times". Didn't even know such thing existed.

We can tell the difference between our dreams and reality because we have a thing inside of us that tells us which is which.

So, one way to promote lucid dreaming is the practice of asking yourself all through the day, "Am I awake?" When you get into the habit of this, you will start to do this in your dreams. And when in a dream, you will get back the answer, "no." Then you will be aware that you are in a dream.

I hate idealism. Similar to hating utopias. Good for stimulating the brain, but very bad for ever being applied.

I'll try that trick in my next dream @builderofcastles I'll double down on your idealism brain imagery too - I kiked that :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I am therefore I think?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33