Scheduling Boredom?

in #philosophy6 years ago

   I'm reminded almost daily on how much work it takes to keep up with the times. Without a doubt today is more important than ever to adapt and consume information as fast as possible to even be considered an effective sapiens. However, sometimes in the quest of information, in that pursuit of growth we tend to forget to stop for a second and balance it out with some nothings.


enduringboredom.jpeg
img src

Enduring Boredom?

   I guess this sounds quite painful, as if there is something to be gained from sitting around doing nothing, but the truth is much more nuanced than that. Sitting alone in a room without distractions can be the first step into elevating our awareness of self. Many times distractions are nothing but loud noise that drowns emotions, ideas inside our head that need expression and conscious acknowledgement.

   In my view, the idea of spending some time without the typical distractions of the day to day sounds like a basic practice of "balance". It's understandable and desirable to be someone who seeks stimulation, who hungers knowledge and values interaction, but what if we are failing to archive properly said experiences? what if we are simply attempting to avoid being alone with our own thoughts, as if they will go away eventually?

We have all been there

   A difficult task laid before us that requires all of our attention, we attempt to shutdown all sources of possible distraction as to focus with surgical accuracy on the task at hand, but along comes boredom creeping up on us. Why is that? If our mind is engaged in an important mission, why then feel bored? technically it can be broken down to a lack of real stimuli, we are simply wired to search for stimulation and mundane activities can be the antithesis of entertainment, of stimulation.

   It is in this realization that I have to come to grips with the fact that the importance of a task, or even its necessity may not be enough to avoid boredom or keep it at bay. The question then becomes, Is there a good reason to welcome boredom?

There is an upside

   It might not be obvious because the times it has shown its face, we have archived the event as anything except byproduct of boredom. Let me ask you this - How many times have you been doing something mundane, something boring, like folding laundry and the answer to a question, the solution to a problem or even where you left something all of the sudden pops into your head?

   It's become almost my go-to method for remembering things, like where I placed my passport after my last trip. The task of folding my laundry may actually allow such event, such memory to spring back into consciousness. It's as if the subconscious needs the room, needs an available route to send signals outside of its ethereal cage.

There is always something else

   Designed to distract us, design to engulf our attention as if it's the only thing that will ever matter. It's exactly this "flaw" if I may call it so, that social media exploits. What I'm trying to say here is that it's not only normal that we are drawn in to virtual social interaction, its a updated primitive necessity of the conscious self looking for stimuli.

   We might have reached a point that being without a cellphone becomes a situation that gives us anxiety. Think about that for a second, if we are not distracted the whole time, if we are not stimulated, then something must be wrong. Our dependency is painfully obvious when you take a drive around town, look around you and see almost everyone looking down at their cellphones, simply because driving is quite mundane, it's second nature to most and requires less concentration (yes, this is debatable but I think my point stands).

So back to my proposition

   Do we actually need to schedule being bored? I guess the answer to me is yes, we do. We need to walk away from the cell phone, the computer, the ipad or whatever method of distraction we prefer and engage in some tried and true mundane tasks. Allow the brain to shift gears if you would, and allow the subconscious to send it's sometimes crucial smoke signals to the conscious surface.

   Personally I've been taking some walks, there is nothing too fancy about walking and staring at a leaf, but it has made a big difference in my cognition later on, even on the same day. I can't help but to wonder if the necessity for elastic thinking, for learning somewhat fast all these new technologies, all these revolutionary ideas will lead to one day having someone with a lab coat and a fancy title publishing a paper on "scheduling boredom to ensure our mental health".

   It would be a bit comical to hear a Doctor prescribe more of "doing nothing" to help me balance out my anxieties, but I would not be to surprised.... Would you?

meno logo.png

Sort:  

@meno That meditation way absolut, I prefer to call it that way, is a very important part of my day; I could not to name it BOREDOM; I like to live those moments dedicated to loneliness and meditation and maybe to myself, to my questions and doubt, to my thoughts and living my own philosophy.
Maybe I enjoy the unknown and uncertain of the future.
Thanks for your post.

I like your outlook on it.. i guess those moments can or maybe should be used for meditation, even if its done for a short period of time.

@meno Thanks for support. Really I enjoy you bring this post.

Great article Meno, this is one of those topics that cant be overstated. People really need to unplug as often as possible. For me no better way to unplug than cutting some firewood or building something in the shop. Fishing at the lake doesnt hurt either.

Absolutely. I think when we are bored it is the only time we have to really consider what we want to be doing. When you are constantly entertained or engaged, your focus is on the thing engaging you. We are bombarded with things that are vying for our attention. When we step away from everything, only then are we making conscious decisions about what we want to engage in.

Brilliantly said...

FollowBack every day 100%

вы убиваете свою учетную запись. Посмотрите на свой рейтинг репутации.

I guess I have a slightly different take on this subject. I don't consider mundane tasks to be boring, to me they're just tedious. For me, boring is things like sitting in a waiting room waiting for an appointment with nothing to do but wait. I don't have one of those personal electronic devices that people refer to as a "phone" these days, so I don't have that to occupy my mind while I'm waiting. Often enough, none of the magazines are interesting enough to read, so I just sit there. That to me is the meaning of boring.

I'm thinking that maybe... something that is boring is not inherently tedious.. but something that is tedious is always boring... maybe?

That seems like a quite reasonable assumption.

no matter how many negativities there are, there is a truth "life goes on despite everything and man should know himself first" every person who progresses in this light of thought will taste happiness

I like that.. is that a famous quote?... if not.. its pretty powerful!

I love this and reposting.
In a busy busy life, boredom is a privledge.
I would love to be more bored

it is a little bit of a privilege right? all of us get caught up in the mouse wheel at some point in time.

Thank you for reading and sharing.

As the old saying goes, "Only boring people get bored," which is so true, but I like how you repurposed the word here, as a substitute for the word (and non-action) of meditation.

The more screens we use, that are emitting strong, rapidly-strobing blue light wave electromagnetic frequencies that overstimulates the frontal lobes so much so that many people are wondering why they have insomnia and give themselves all sorts of diagnosed and undiagnosed conditions despite the fact that they (we) are looking at these rapidly pulsating screens even when we're lying in bed about to attempt sleep. It's what Dr Victoria L. Dunckley has termed Electronic Screen Syndrome (ESS) and people are suffering from sensory overload, lack of restorative sleep, and a hyperaroused nervous system as a result. No wonder insomnia, anxiety, depression and many other illnesses are exploding.

Simple solution (that you are suggesting here that I agree with) - turn off all screens at least an hour before bed. Meditate. Allow yourself to be bored.

Another greta thought-provoking article, my friend!

as always my friend your input adds so much more depth to these conversations and reminds me I'm not the only thinking of these things.

We are due for another dialogue on a radio show soon.

Sounds great to me, buds!
As Olivia Newton-John sang, “Let’s get Philosophical!” Hehe

I think you have to define what task is boring. Because walking in nature for some is complete relaxation, not boredom, But I agree when you're diong mundane things or bored in an activity, you're mind relaxes without any persuasion or influence.
So we can relax and peel back the layers and bypass what we think is important to reach pleasant nothing's.

Nice article and thought provoking ideas, laundry is more than boredom it's hell.

I have to agree on your laundry assessment, ha!

@meno How right you are! It is so important to schedule time to be "bored". Like @nathankaye , the phrase, "Only boring people get bored," came to mind as soon as I read your title. There is so much to see, do, and think about in our universe, that it is so difficult to just simply BE. We are in the age of information (or misinformation depending on the perciever), so it can seem so counterproductive to take a break from learning about everything that's out there. However, our technology has created a culture that demands instant gratification. It becomes easy to miss the big picture.
Eckhart Tolle's book, "The Guardians of Being" enlightened me on how it is possible to be "bored", but full and content with life. It's a short picture book inspired by what he has learned about spirituality through observing dogs and cats.

Thank you for this well written post!
Blessings
🙏

I'm not familiar with Eckhart Tolle, so now you have given me some homework. I appreciate your input, your words and your intent.

much love and success to you too!

Cheers

Eckardt Tolle wrote the world-wide best seller ‘The Power Of Now.’
If you haven’t read it, bro, you really must. It’s life changing for many people, @meno.

@meno Eckhart Tolle is a fantastic author and figure in the spiritual community! I hope you draw as much inspiration from him as I have & @nathankaye is right. You need to put 'The Power of Now' on your reading list. I have hopes to start a book club soon and that is actually the book I hope to start with.

Our generation is so use to a fas paced world they forget that connecting to the simpler things in life like the outdoors is considered boring... and thats a problem.

I won't disagree with that. It seems to be the case more times than not, I guess in this sense this post is meant to be a bit of a personal reflection and not so much of a critique.

But I get your point 100%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45