Maybe Asimov was right

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
Its been some years now since the first time I read a book by Asimov, but it seems more and more like most of the ideas that he shared with us all those years ago were more premonitions than anything else. If you are not familiar with his work, do yourself a a favor and pick up one of his books, there is absolutely no way you won't become a fan.


img src

I don't know many that would say negative things about this author and for years after getting myself acquainted with this work I spoke about his ideas with almost anybody who would listen. It's not because I had fallen to some sort of intelectual worship as many do, but because in his own way, using sci-fi he had been predicting the social behaviors to come long before we understood the parameters at play.

There is a specific book that comes to mind when reflecting on the direction of our social interactions. The Naked Sun is in my opinion a must read for absolutely anyone who cares about the social struggles to come. The idea of the society depicted on the story is one that has completely moved away from normal social interactions, human contact and has replaced much of its functions and jobs with automation.

It becomes obvious that my concerns are warranted, the books might have been written before the time of the internet, before we had the slightest idea that cell phones would even exist on everyone's hand and pocket, but the logic behind it, the path forward and the things to come, seem to be obeying his grim premonitions.

I'm not trying to sound fatalistic, but some of the challenges to come are quite impossible to ignore. In my opinion we should all start thinking about these issues today to avoid a social implosion in the near, near future. If we solely rely on social interactions of the virtual kind, to the point of achieving undeniable lack of balance, how could we, how should we counteract its repercussions?

At the expense of sounding dramatic, its alarming to me to know that more and more people of the new generation feel that comfortable with social isolation. It's not like I don't understand the need for safety, the solace in selective interactions, I totally do.... I just don't know the long term costs... none of us do.


(signature by @bembelmaniac )

● Open Mic Week 82 - Meno - Top 5 Picks and Honorable Mentions
● Maybe Asimov was right
● Knock, Knock...
● Loyalty and the love of money

Sort:  

I can't express quite well how I see Asimov nowadays. He's like a prophet or a visionary bounded by the unlimited grasp of his typewriter and some coffee for the long nights of writing.
I remember that I was 14 when I took from the bookshelf of my father "The foundation" and ever since I've been trying to see the world like a Historian mathematician like Hari Seldon and see if I can predict the future but maybe I'm not ready for the job yet. English it's not my mother language but i tried to translate every single word of the book during my free time between lunch breaks and family trips. I look forward to check that book you mentioned @MenO greetings!

The man was truly remarkable, I'm not sure of the number but I've read he published over 500 books in his lifetime... he would have done a lot more if it was not for the medical fumble, he would have done hundreds more I'm sure.

If you do give this book a chance it will suck you in, I promise..

Cheers

I just finished up a book today, stumbled upon this post and would you look what I found in my house's shared library? Coincidence? I'll start with The Naked Sun and see how it goes! )

Oh yes... that is literary gold there friend... gold I tell you...

I'm not really sure if there's a sci-fi book by Asimov that I have not read at some point in my life. It's been a long time since I've read them though.

They are pretty amazing , the foundation books are mind blowing... Do you remember the mule?

Of course, the mule was an unexpected interruption in the way that future history was supposed to develop. He was outside of Harry Seldon's predictions.

Nice to see people still like to pick up a book nowadays! Asimov sounds like someone who could see into the future. I hope we wake up before any real damage happens to our society as a whole. Till then we will just have to keep the faith and enjoy our own passions. You gave me something to think about and I'll give you something to enjoy. My last flower painting. I hope you like it.
flowers small.jpg

beautiful painting there... well, the world will never not need positive thinkers so I welcome your kindness with open arms.

I was an avid fan of Asimov as a child. I note he was more a big picture guy than a crafter of intimate characters, but, that was more informative to me in my youth.

Today, I am as active as I dare to be with my neighbors. I don't go to parties or drink with them much, but I do chat with them daily, and seek to be a good neighbor as much as I can, by helping them with their homes (I'm a carpenter).

I live in a village, so it's far less focused on the digital world than folks in cities, I think. That daily chat over the fence is much more important that most of us recognize, I believe. The truth is that our neighbors are far more critical to our survival than our financial assets, our politics, or the media we consume.

When the tsunamis hit, when war comes, when the power goes out, our neighbors are right there, and the rest of it doesn't matter much at all.

Thanks!

When the tsunamis hit, when war comes, when the power goes out, our neighbors are right there, and the rest of it doesn't matter much at all

That there my friend is the piece of the puzzle most fail to see...

In my youth, and from time to time since, I have lived alone in the woods. Nothing more demonstrates the real value of people over things than being without them, no matter what skills you have, or stuff you use.

This reminds me... have you ever head of this man...

Not to my knowledge. He has my hairdresser though =p

Looks like he lives hereabouts. The plant he ate at the beginning of the video is Oxalis, a tasty and plentiful herb chock full of vitamin C.

Thanks for the video!

I never got further than some of his shorts: they were great too! But I'llbe reading The Naked Sun next!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46