Loyalty and the love of money

in #rant6 years ago (edited)

One word keeps entering my mind since yesterday, loyalty. If I attempted to sum up what is the worlds biggest ailment, it's ugliest lack, that might be it... Loyalty.




img src

I think it's important to clarify that I'm not talking about loyalty in the same way a mafia boss would talk about it. Loyalty to me does not mean blind obedience and subordination, but rather the recognition of human value above all.

We have all heard the stories, friendships being destroyed over money and greed. The placement of material resources over human ones is nothing short of myopic in my view.

Let's ask the obvious question, the question no Tai Lopez doppleganger would ever bring up, because his intention is to sell you on a dream. Who wants to be a rich and be lonely? Who among us would like to have the ability to buy it all, including the fakest of friends?

If someone you know does not seem to understand this word, this concept. Know without a doubt that is someone you don't want near your life, near your heart.

Well, enough rambling for me... I should catch some sleep, got an early start tomorrow.

Sort:  

The sad part, is that the love of money more or less is driven by the inner desire to be loved. As you said, the end result of that is fake. I believe, the decision to choose money is so frequently made because we all struggle with being genuine and trusting others. Thus it becomes easier to take the money buys happiness route, even if it is "fake." To be genuine is to live, but living is not easy, [insert all the reasons here, because none of us are the same.]

You cannot consider money without considering the literal power it wields. When power goes bad, it becomes an object, just as when love goes bad, it too can become an object. This is the reason why many feel betrayed when they discern that someone cares more for money than those around them.

Another problem is the subtle reality that we all objectify from time to time, on different levels. We face a constant barrage of conscious and unconscious propaganda that teaches us objectify ourselves and others. 1 million ways to judge one another and likewise a million to be judged ourselves.

For me, all the worlds problems boil down to one thing, love, the lack there of. We give it many names, being genuine, real, loyal, faithful, selfless, etc. - but they are all abstractions that come forth from love itself.

brilliantly put @odrau ... it could be the negative mental programming that media offers echoing into an almost permanent social change..

What we see and hear effects us in ways we don't fathom.

Money scares me a bit, I cannot help it, I've seen it change people, I've seent have their dreams change... their ideas of happeness, I have seen it make them suddently things they were not before. I hope if I ever have access to some, just willing to have enough not to struggle because of the lack of it, I hope it doesn't change me. It's needed, but yes, sadly the dollar symbol does change people, how they behave, even for the scraps.

@yidneth, I share your desire to have enough to be comfortable, but not so much as to invite the change. Realizing, that those whom you have witnessed the change in, likely viewed it with the same regard. That is all the more reason for concern. If you start making the big bucks, remember to tie a tether to physically keep you "down to earth!" 😆

I think I would still be me, though yes I gave seen it happening.

I'm of the idea it reveals true nature, so that what we call change is just a behavioral exposé ..

Then probably I will be building animal shelters lol, maybe a bit of traveling as indulgence lol

I'm sure you would.. if you are altruistic (because you are) with little, imagine what someone like you would do with much.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47