Keeping the old me alive

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
Many of us spend quite a bit of our time dreaming, imagining how our life would be if the plans that we are so eager to share with anyone that would listen would come to fruition. I've personally been called a hopeless dreamer so many times I can't even begin to count them, but it was only until I started to embrace cynicism, when the years started to show that I finally understood the compliment had a tinge of an insult.

img src

Living in Reality


As defined by those who are fluent in sarcasm and other dark arts, is the only goal in life that matters. As much as I would like to agree with such a statement, I have a hard time embracing it simply because its a negative outlook disguised as wise pragmatism. The hidden message behind the words most of the time is an attack on our idealistic self, the one that shows it's face when the conversation are a little too inspiring.

Of course It's not hard for me to understand the value of having both feet on the ground, of having the right reaction to life's problems and challenges. Ignoring reality has dire costs indeed, but I would argue that killing the dreamer inside of us is even more taxing than we would like to accept.

Remembering....


A time of blissful simplicity, of conversations uncontrolled by the fear of being judged. The days when you used to tell anyone who would listen how you had your life all planned out. Was it that long ago? Where you so different then? I'm asking this, only because I ask these questions to myself.

There are those days where I too doubt, where I look at myself in the mirror, see the gray hairs of my beard and wonder if that's still me. As much as I recognize the person staring back, the idealistic person who has not forgotten how to smile, I also see the side of me that lives in reality settling in, making itself right at home.

I guess that's why I value this place so much, why I love doing the Radio Show as much as I do. I get to visit that part of me, the dreamer, the idealist, the one who is not too concerned with tomorrow and feels a lot more comfortable in his skin.

Are all these thoughts, all these words scattered on this short thought an attempt to keep my inner child alive? Maybe... Maybe that's it, maybe that's the way to balance, to happiness, to fulfillment, to purpose...

And If that's the case, I still refuse to grow up...


Other posts by yours truly

• Full Recording Songwriter Shop Talk Featuring @lillywilton
• We just passed a million accounts, this is great news
• safe inside her coffee can
• Join me tonight on MSPWaves for Songwriter Shop Talk Featuring @lillywilton
• Thoughts on Steem's Gift Economy

Sort:  

Very thoughtful post, and it's a road my mind travels down often as well. Particularly as I get older. I do get more cynical. I do quash my inner child. I do succumb to long bouts of laziness when, in my younger years, I would have leapt at the opportunity to do this thing or that.

Now I find myself content with less, and doing less, unless I actively take steps to find the things I enjoyed doing.

When I do, I realize I still enjoy them, and it's only complacency that is my enemy, not my entire being.

Sometimes it feels like the inner child/idealistic mind/unburdened lover of life is simply drowning under the weight of years and the burden of living, and he just needs someone to reach down a hand once in a while to pull him up into your daily life.

No new deep thoughts here, and maybe not the angle you're coming from, but it does take effort to live life like a child (albeit more effort as you get older), but there is nothing quite so pleasurable as seeing an old man with the enthusiasm and passion of a child doing something he loves doing. (I hope to be that kind of person when I get old, anyway)

Me too Neg... I wanna be that old dude that refuses to act his age in all the good ways... I think you and I are coming exactly from the same angle my friend...

You are absolutely right brother, something it is good to remember to old way of how we actually plan our things and how we are now, being sarcastic is only to create humour of life, whereas there is more to life then just that, I prefer satire because it actually contain some truth, it is good to always be idealistic, I find you interesting whenever you are on the show T msp you really got me inspired man, keep it up and always give your best to life, there is always a good pay thereafter

Btw mate... the show's recording was uploaded.. you should listen to Lilly's (my guest) voice. I think you will love it too...

Cheers mate, thank you for reading.

Are all these thoughts, all these words scattered on this short thought an attempt to keep my inner child alive?

As my mother once put it, remain child-like, but don't be child-ish. LOL!

Of course It's not hard for me to understand the value of having both feet on the ground

Both feet need not remain on the ground. Simply one well grounded, combined with proper balance.

;0)

Verdad. Es la verdad. 😂😂

I guess that is the beauty of blogging mate. You get to express your feelings and thoughts freely without somebody judging you. Also I can tell you now that being down is normal our life is not designed to become a straight line mostly everyday we will face a slippery slope of problems. And we are the ones who gets to decide whether we will rise back up again.

we are the ones who gets to decide whether we will rise back up again.

The truest of truths right there...

your post is alwayes lessonable... there is great thought here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53