Crypto or Bust for me, absolutely no plan B

in #philosophy6 years ago

Maybe to my own detriment my attitude lately has been a bit extreme. I keep on thinking that knowing what I know, I can't simply put the suit back on, sort of speak, and return to the idea of the 9 to 5. I say this, not because I think someone is bad for having a day job, of course not, but more because I'm having the hardest of times being OK with the idea of having a boss in my life again.


menoboss.jpg

My biggest frustration was always the political aspect of working in management. The pantomime we call hierarchy that everyone willingly participates in, yet everyone secretly despises. If you've been in the ranks, I've you've held a title in a corporation you know exactly what I'm talking about.

The dynamics are play are so interesting to me. As someone who observes people as both a curse and a gift, I can't help but to feel like I'm watching a savage ecosystem with the most basic of rules. Big fish eat the little ones, Lions don't feel bad when they kill prey, that kind of thing.

I also learned to recognize the lions, before they ever grew a single hair of their mane. I guess its hard to describe, honestly you have to just be there, you have to participate of it at different levels to fully grasp what I'm talking about, otherwise it sounds like I'm just attempting to be poetic about a job.

My friend @clayboyn likes to talk about how we've moved into a society that is too quick to dehumanize others. A society that loves labels a little too much and does not appreciate the value of individuality. I think for the most part he is right on, his observations are quite accurate. However, the hard question, the impossible to answer question becomes... Who is doing the dehumanizing?

Do you see why this is imposible to answer? Because many of the people who participate of this ecosystem, who create these somewhat hostile environments, the bosses if you will, were once 'human', are still 'human', they are still flawed, they are still scared, they are still full of doubt, with a job that they also have to pretend to care about.

Everyone is acting, everyone is playing the game, that is exactly why Its so hard for me to go back. It seems like I would be walking right into the show, but now I know, now I truly know, everyone around me is just acting....

That is such a hard pill for me to swallow, thus I stand in defiance....

Crypto or Bust!!


Other posts by yours truly

• I need some help - Communities
• I'm going to name him
• Free bread, Resteeming services and a mathematical journey
• the entrance to our farm
• Fishing for None Fishes - Promoting outside of Steem

Sort:  

When I read expressions such as these I'm a bit chilled. Personally, perhaps it's because I grew up in the 80's during Reaganomics here, crack on the streets, drive by shootings weekly, hustlers selling everything from borax crack to bad dope that would literally kill people instantly; I feel very little sense of injustice in the world and on Steem as well. While I recognize it, cognitively, I'm thoroughly desensitized to it. I see dips and spikes as very normal things. And yet again, maybe that's from working as trader for years at Fidelity. One comes not to take it so personal? At the same time, I've seen my boss throw a chair at the wall over a major crash that would effect his livlihood, so I understand the pressure and disappointments as well. I personally agree it's paradigm shift. Simultaneously, I don't have all my eggs in the crypto basket so I don't know how that feels intimately.

I too see the humanity in the most recklessly advantageous of people. I see them as having their own priorities, as having their own families to take care of as well. to degree to the "Street Life" I grew up seeing women sell their bodies to feed their kids and guys rob and shoot at people to feed their kids -- and yes, they're really living in that paradigm with no concept of a way out. What some call criminals or crazy people or the worst of these, are often just looked at through the lense of the victim: not the perspective of their baby who is hungry.

For the Uber wealthy, this doesn't apply; however, their pressures may be different. My old boss at the bank I used to work at used to say I reminded him of his daughter he didn't see. His pressure was thousands in child support, or go to jail. People will do things to avoid jail, getting killed, etc.

I sometimes think of how we demonize presidents of the US, not thinking a moment that they are just a face of their party politics, not considering there are shadow people behind they literally ready to have them disembarked and their families for saying the wrong thing, ie. JFK. I'm not saying I support the aristocracy, but I certainly see the human element in all of us- the vulnerable parts, the fear, the lack of fear, the rights to be who they are as well, the parts that deserve some compassion.

Meanwhile, I am very likely adapted to running with savages of all kinds. And simultaneously, don't. I'm definitely not looking to be a sheep or a martyr though.

Spot on
This song sums it up for me


Crypto is something that can free us but also a realization that we don't need their stuff

I had to lookup the lyrics... but they are spot on!

DEATH! ... Are you ready to die?
To make the fat cats rich and support the lie
Governmental games of war
Ronald McDonald's keeping score
All'o that shit don't mean a fuckin' thing
'Cause I still stand and I still sing
Democracy, plutocracy
Well it might fool you but it don't fool me

Going back to an office job sounds so awful now that I'm out. I can't do it either. Crypto or bust for me too.

Lets hope market recovers for your sake man. Self employed > 9-5.

It will, its just testing our patience shaking off the weak hands.

;)

I know exactly what you are talking about @meno, having "survived" 23 years in Corporate!
The ego thrives on fear, separateness and superiority, which are prominent in most corporations.
Now I am self-employed, I only have to deal with my own ego!
Cryptos are here to stay, hang in there pal.

I'm not giving up brother!!

Thank you for the encouragement! ;)

I didn't think so Meno, you are made of much greater stuff than defeat!

You are right. It applies not only to management. In academia is even worst. Many professors are quitting their jobs to gain independence, do what they really want to do and, why not make more money than they are doing in colleges and universities.
I agree with you on the dehumanizing process that takes place in 9 to 5 job environments. That hurts more than the actual routine.

No doubt, its the one thing that slowly tears at the soul.

Now I'm going to have to write about this new idea that struck me today... it fits in nicely with this post :D

hahahah glad my little rant weird thing helped you somehow!

Congratulations @meno! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87