Where is the truth?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Do we really know the truth about many things in our way of living where we coexist and cooperate with others? Or do we simply have a trust, faith and loyalty to believe things to be as others tell us? If we can't verify it ourselves to demonstrate the veracity and veritas/truth of something, then we're going on trust and belief that it is that way.


Source

I buy much that is organic. Buying organic can be more expensive. But I don't want all the chemicals and poisons that are considered "mostly" "safe" to larger animals like us humans, meanwhile they are harmful to smaller non-human animals.

Am I to trust the evaluations of others? To have faith in their assessment? To be loyal to their claims of truth that I can't verify and demonstrate myself? To believe what they say is safe for me to consume when it's known to be harmful for other smaller animals?

I don't trust them. Especially since many of the chemicals and pesticides aren't completely safe,a and have been shown to have levels of health risks by being consumed. We put these in plants, they go into the soil, and the plants absorb them through the roots. Then we eat the plants. I prefer to get the least amount of man-made or natural made chemicals, pesticides, herbicides and fungicides in my body.

But, when I buy organic, I don't actually know the food is grown without anything that can be harmful to my health. I also don't actually know the food is actually grown in an organic way. I don't have the truth demonstrated to me by me being able to verify it.

Others say they verified that a grower is organic. Others says they verified that certain growing methods are safer than more chemically-laden methods. I have a belief, trust, faith and loyalty to the honesty and integrity of those who do verify in my place.

This is how much in our society and our lives works. We can't know everything to be true. We can know much about many things as pieces of knowledge, as information. But whether it's true or not is harder to determine.

We can't verify everything. If we would try to, most of our time would be spent trying to verify what others give us as truth since we aren't the ones who know it as a truth. If we want to know something to be true, we have to verify if it is true. Otherwise, we have to trust in the honesty and integrity of others caring for the truth in reality to convey that truth.

Trust is the default that we base much of our perception and conception of reality upon, because we only have truth in a limited scope of what we can verify and demonstrate for ourselves. Even if something is true, we can't really apply and use the word true to it, because it can't be known to be true by ourselves.

It may be true that someone is growing plants organically, but I can't really know that as a truth. I just trust the certification authority to do their job with honesty and integrity to make sure the grower is doing things as they are supposed to.

When we receive some piece of knowledge or information that is claimed as true, it has come down a chain, from a source to us and others along the way. We all relay information, some of it we have verified to be true, and some if not most of it is relayed based on belief, trust, faith and loyalty if the source originator conveying the truth in reality as it is.

But the world is filled with dishonest and disintegrated people who don't care about truth, about aligning with truth, about being in harmony with truth. And we all fall victim to our own cognitive biases that can allow us to relay misinformation, disinformation or falsity as if it were "truth".

Most of us don't willingly lie all the time to purposefully convey falsity as truth, but that doesn't mean many people don't do it sometimes. And regardless, falsity gets accepted as truth because we are trusting in others and the original source conveying the truth and not falsity. Most people have belief, trust, faith and loyalty in the "authority" of the news to convey "real news" as opposed to "fake news" or false news.

This is how easy it is to create a perception of reality in the minds of the masses. Anything that the "authorities" say, is trusted by the majority. What people think is the reality outside of their local lives (that they actually can verify) isn't verified, but is simply accepted as true and real. The media has a hold on the minds of the masses, shaping reality even if it's an unreality.

Discernment is less employed when our trusted sources of information feed us what to trust and believe in. Reality and perception management is easily done when blindly trusted messages are projected across a nation and across the planet to influence and have people accept a version of reality that may not even exist.

People join establishments that fit into the mainstream narrative and reality they've been injected with through word "magic" and social engineering. People become soldiers and fight manufactured wars for their masters who sit as game masters behind a chess board. The world's a stage. It's a big deception in large part.


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

It is truly unfortunate that the vast majority of the things we believe are believed on authority. We must remain vigilant, then, possessing the intellectual humility to employ methodological skepticism to our beliefs as well as to the views others attempt to impose upon us.

The knowledge chain you mention evokes a positive phenomenon: Namely, the trust minimization associated with blockchain technology and decentralized systems significantly frustrates the capacity of powerful centralized gatekeepers (e.g., massive media corporations) to manufacture truth. In other words, substantial progress toward achieving victory in this information war is on the horizon!

Although deception may largely reign supreme in the short-term, "...for the truth is powerful and will prevail." - Sojourner Truth

Yup, appeal to authority is a fallacy ;) Indeed, a trustless data bank is a helpful tool, but that only demonstrates the source of an piece of info is unchanged. At least no more fudging of original data sources hehe. It's up to people to verify what is there and will always be there ;)

I would much rather grow my own organics too. Some of the so called organic fruits and even lettuce that I bought here in Wa state were coated with something I guess to keep them looking fresh. They don't rot like fresh as the skin looks weird and wrinkled after a bit. And they didn't have that freshly picked taste or smell. I used to make all organic pepper jams on Big Island and I know good fruit and veggies when I see it. I don't trust the USDA organics. I know all the farmers on island and grew a lot of my own...so yes, for me is a huge trust issue! I choose to know where my food comes from and what is in it. I must get back on island for my own health and happiness! Going to be living in an off grid cabin as I am extremely sensative to EMFs and pollution. I also hear the buzzing from the new electric meters they have installed. I am a Reiki Master and an empath, so being here in the mainland is not good for me. Do you have videos on you tube or Gaia? Some of your videos or at least you graphics look very familar. Also do you have a website?

Really, coating organics? Shitty! I guess Canada has better organics than USDA ;) My partner tried to find out how some people grew their foods at the local market, and some got pissed off at being asked. I had a youtube channel and accoutn that got terminated last month. I have been re-uploading my content this week to YT, d.tube and bit.tube. https://evolveconsciousness.org/ is my website.

Yes, it is probably the packing companies that does it. I always ask and I suspect a lot are lying about it, especially in Hawaii. A lot of it looks like costco and they just mark it up. That's why I started buying from vendors I knew were growing organically because I had been to their farms. I try to purchase most of my package food stuff that is omri certified. I order my seeds from heritage and then save the seeds. Even then if you are growing outside, you have all the crap from chemtrails contaminating everything. It's all apart of agenda 21 to reduce the population and keep big pharma in business. I get so angry at everything the more research I do. That is why I had to take a break from research and posting feel good photos, just to keep my sanity. Ive seen a few chemtrails in Hawaii but fortunately they are a no fly zone, so evidently spraying off shore. And I dont even want to get into the subject of geo engineering and haarp. Sometimes I wish I could be like most, just oblivious to it all, but it is not in me. Even mention Trump here in Wa state or talk about all the crimes against humanity, I get shut down and told "I don't want to hear it. Or talk about GMO's and chemical spraying the same reply is "Well, we all have to die sometinmes." At least on the Big Island most of the locals grow their own semi healthy foods. That is why I decided to go back to living on a volcanic island. Actually more healthy and safer there than anywhere else. LOL Anyway, sorry for all the venting, but it is tough finding people of like mind. Thank you for being a friend.

It may be true that someone is growing plants organically, but I can't really know that as a truth. I just trust the certification authority to do their job with honesty and integrity to make sure the grower is doing things as they are supposed to.

It still comes back to the trust in authority... scary.

I can't tell you for sure about organic vegetables, but I can tell you for fact that 'organic' meat is 'several shades of gray.' (I'm from a farming family)

I can tell you for fact, that any central authority in the food industry is just as corrupt as another.. (nepotism - or variance of - a lot of times).

You can trust me on this!
😂 😂 😂

Oh yes, "you can trust me on this"... LOL. Of course telling someone to trust them is 100% accurate and no more need to think or verify ;)

Enough said. I am 100% genuine.

( I'm thinking of getting a stamp to make it even more credible...)

"food industry is just as corrupt as another." so true, especially the USA USDA! As for the meat industry, They are probably shooting up with dye and preservatives. My father use to raise his own cattle. pork. chickens and was a hunter and you are correct on the color. I can taste the difference too.

Yes, the world is a stage, considering all the wars that has been fought, the greed of some few who like you rightly said "game masters" was the cause and they don't care the millions of lives that would be lost to achieve their aim. So, how do we know who to trust?

Get to know people and see their actions line up with their words to have integrity ;)

When speaking the truth, different perspectives are sometimes difficult to determine objective understanding. Both from the scientific and experience aspects. That a truth will be true when no one has denied it. Like a theory when it is still in the form of a hypothesis without any actualization in the form of evidence, it has not succeeded. So that in conveying his ideas need authentic evidence.

Yes convey ideas, and others can help prove it true. Much can be true, but to say it's true requires demonstrability and verification. Otherwise it may be true but we can't say it's true ;)

That is why I simply live my own truths and speak from my own personal experiences. I hold myself accountable and try my hardest not to judge. I also have to keep reminding myself that the spirit and soul is what is important.

At some point you'll have to trust people as a pragmatic means of achieving goals. While it is good to be skeptical of certain relationships, it can become harmful if that skepticism turns into paranoia. Most people don't want to lie to lie. Most people lie (or stretch the truth) because it is convenient.

Yup, trust is important, a foundational basis for living our lives cooperatively.

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 8,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

the world is a stage

Thanks A Lot.

Hi @krnel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.380 which ranks you at #57 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 58).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 305 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66915.04
ETH 2586.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68