Freedom & Jean-Paul SartresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

Stuck in a rut? From petty to revolutionary ideas, I find (and expect) his philosophies to be something very useful for problem-solving and non-violent conflict-resolution. Attachment, ego, and identity may get into the way of the really important stuff, sometimes, if you know what I mean..

This is a great video, and I think this dude's philosophies are underrepresented in the minds of the freedom community.. so here it is. Enjoy the vid!

Sort:  

I've only read his book, Existentialism. I read it a few times when I felt depressed, 20 odd years ago and I found it strangely uplifting.
Edit: I just remembered I also read The Age of Reason. It's quite a gloomy novel but interesting.

I didn't read that book, but I find the idea pretty liberating. It something between belief and non-belief lol

This is a great video - Sartre gets mentioned a lot but I've never heard his philosophy explained before. I can see how these ideas have influenced your own writings on here.

That youtube channel is pretty good for all things philosophy..

"Freedom is what you do with what's been done to you." - Jean-Paul Sartre
A comment from my posts about Sartre.
"If we stop the Violence our ancestors used on us and stop the cycle of passing it to our kids, then we can be free and help to create a new world where people have enough autonomy, are happy and know how to live in an "antagonist-cooperative", "competitive- collaborative" World without the interference of Power.
Sartre in his first books was searching for the objective or sense of life and he got "The Nausea" of finding none.
But this was until he was arrested by the Nazis and found out that when marching in prison if he went to the left instead of going to the right as ordered, was the meaning of life ......to fight for freedom (the best drug I have ever had in my life. :)

This surprises me that you find value in his attitude. His philosophy and life work fill me with disgust.

Well I just extract what's good..

Ah hah! Like the sadhus in India who let cobras bite them on their tongue. Transmutation of poison :-)

I think it's been a 100% chance that I get to read a new piece of info everytime there's an exchange between us. Reading up on Sandhus now.. xD

Hahhh , You got a point @onceuponatime :) Those French seem to be so arrogant, not accepting the Nobel Prize mid 60's, I think was quite something. I like a part of his philosophy. Especially when he says that life begins on the other side of dispair. I can relate ! It does !

Bad faith (from French mauvaise foi) is a philosophical concept used by existentialist philosophers Jean-Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir to describe the phenomenon where human beings under pressure from social forces adopt false values and disown their innate freedom hence acting inauthentically.

Freedom is what we do with what is done to us.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Snap! School of Life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35