Allow your good thing.

in #philosophy7 years ago

A surprising insight into negativity.

Want to spend less time under the influence of negativity and self-sabotage?

Unlearn the habits + programs of negation.

page-divider.jpg

Wabi-Sabi: The Art Of Imperfection

@erikaharris

Sort:  

Hi Erika, Enjoyed your video. Perfect timing for me and a project I've been putting off for years. Possibly, the delay has been caused by that negativity that says to me, "You're not really good enough to get this done." Most of my encouragement for my writing comes from me, so if I don't"allow my good thing," it's all on me. I am going to see this through and I will succeed at completing my project.

"I am going to see this through and I will succeed at completing my project."

Yes, @barrydecarli, you will!

Not sure what kind of project it is, but if you chose to blog on Steemit about (some aspect of) it, you could:

  1. attract readers who have an interest in X; and then
  2. enjoy engagement where there was formerly silent solitude; and also
  3. develop your own project-thoughts further, by writing about it in exploratory ways.

SO HAPPY TO SEE YOU HERE!! :-)

Thanks, @erikaharris, My project is to publish my third collection of poems. My first one, "Of Sun and Rain was published in 1973 and my second, 'Almost," was published in 1979; so, it's been a long, long time. My poetry has evolved a lot in the intervening years. For the past 183 weeks, I have posted a poem on FB on Fridays which has helped me to focus on my writing for an hour or two a week. . Even though I've been thinking about doing this for about 8 or 9 years, life has seemed to lead me astray, but now things are calmer and I think I can get started. I began the other day by spreading out as many of the "possible" poems on a makeshift table top that I had used the week before to refinished our kitchen cabinets! Now I want to winnow down the 100 or so poems and concentrate on editing and revising about 70 of them. This process will take some time, but at least, I'll be moving toward my goal.

Thank you for sharing this very real video of yourself, talking about all these feelings and emotions that are usually left unspoken.

I really felt it, as I recently realized that it has been my negative thinking that made life so difficult for me since my early teens or so. I'm now 35 and - only recently - I seem to get to know myself a little better. I also realized that I might actually have been depressed for a while without ever having had that 'label' put on me. My father is wrestling with depression for half his life now and I am a lot like him. I try to change the things that he isn't doing, like talking about my emotions and trying positive thinking, meditation, as well as really following my heart...

Anyway, thanks again for sharing these kind of messages. It's very important. People have a very strange idea of what is strength and what is weakness. One of the many flaws of society/ the world we are living in. That makes it very hard for people like us - if I may say so - to actually be ourselves.

Before I forget, I really feel like I start to find my voice these days. I kickstarted a brand new project today, that I dedicated a blog post on. If you're interested, you can find it on my channel.

I also felt like the path that I should take is that of helping, inspiring, motivating and teaching others. There is enough negativity in the world already, so let's try our best to counter that as much as possible...

Thanks again and keep up the good work!

@vincentnijman, I really appreciate your thoughtful comment. Thank you for what you shared. I think it helps to talk openly (to the extent that we're comfortable doing so) about darker emotional states, like sadness and anger. It should be normalized, because those feelings are normal to have.

The realization you came to is so beautiful. And look at you, now sharing openly about your emotional goals. I would call that amazing PROGRESS, friend. Am cheering you on.

And I wish you every success with your new kickstarter project!

Dear @erikaharris You're very welcome! You're right, there is - and has always been - this tendency in society to suppress what is considered 'weak', even though it isn't necessarily weak. I appreciate your kind words.

By the way, when I said I 'kickstarted' a new project, I meant 'started'. It's not on kickstarter, but I made a project page on the platform Patreon. Ever heard of it? As a creative, I have been waiting for a long time for a place where people can follow and/ or support my work and Patreon - as well as Steem it - might just be it. As I'm not a photographer or a poet, but more of a (visual) storyteller, Steemit does not really seem to take off yet, so I'm going to give Patreon a serious try. I will keep blogging on here too though.

Have a great day!

great video, good lesson to life
thanks
have a nice day

Thanks, @dinshatech :-) I wish you a great day, too!

It is hard to get rid of negativity, but not impossible!!

@mexresorts, I'm finding it to be a habit, reinforced by a million micro-choices to posit, rather than negate. Eventually, this becomes a (general) way of being... just like the learned negative disposition became a way of being for a lot of "grown-ups".

Attitudes tend to be dense + downward, so yes, it's hard... but as you said, not at all impossible :-) Thanks for your chime!

I definately battle some with it, but I am very aware of it so when I start to become negative I try to take a breather and focus on the good things!

The Beautiful Woman that you are has made my Day even Better.......Much Love from the Jockey !!!

@stokjockey: And your kind comment has made my day better! Many thanks :-)

Great video. With much practice we can get rid of negativity and become more positive in life.

Self-sabatoge is one of the most difficult things I've had to deal with. Enjoyed the vid :)

@framelalife, me too. Choosing differently now, though. And thanks :-)

Love it! Great message! Soooo happy for you!

Thanks, @mikeonfire. You are, truly, a POSITIVE friend. xo

Depression - real depression - is obviously a debilitating thing. But some negativity, can actually be a good thing. It can make you more realistic, it's usually found in more intelligent people in my experience - in fact ever since the time of Aristotle people wondered why creative thinkers and artists all tend to be "melancholy" (black bile) and "saturnine" (governed by the planet Saturn, i.e. Capricorns). So I think melancholy/negativity is like salt: too much of it can ruin a dish, but just the right amount can make it better. Just my 2 cents, obviously this doesn't negate anything you said in the video!

EXCELLENT, well-salted point, @alexander.alexis ;-) Thanks for making it!

thank you so much 4 sharing this.

I feel your words are true, but also challenging. To formulate a "posit" as you say, you have to let things go to let the outcome get possible. This can be hard, especially when you are kinda a perfectionist and want the outcome to be perfect. You likely let things go and fall back into negative by not doing something being afraid it won't meet your expectations. Understanding this is the first step, but changing, is the second, much harder one. I think it helps to learn to think more with your heart than your head, its more subtile, though, but not that confusing.

But I also think there is no mistake, but just evolving.

Thanks again and wish you the best :)

Yes, you're right, @s0phos... we do have to let go.

And what a RELIEF that is :-)

I wish you the best, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31