T H E C O S M I C G I G G L E

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

lol.jpg

Some things are so obvious that they just slip away. Terence McKenna, whom I left in the drawer for many years, now comes back on my radar. In an interview he talked about the symbiosis between humans and mushrooms. Now one could ask: What do mushrooms and we humans have to do with each other? Firstly, the question is interesting as to why there are substances in plants to which humans react in one way or another. Of course McKenna doesn't talk about satiating mushrooms, but about the other: their psychedelic effect.

Why does man enter into a symbiosis with the surrounding environment?
Answer: Because there is a fascinating relationship between all things in the universe, which are not fully understood.

McKenna argues that the cave drawings of the early humans often depict scenes in which cattle can be seen. These cattle herds, which leave their excrement on the pastures, let mushrooms grow, which have a psychedelic effect on humans. Why do such fungi with such an effect exist anyway?

If one wants to join the cosmic giggling, one could say:

"Because they want to be found."
Adding: "But, I don't know for sure. Isn't that hilarious?"

Where the animals grazed, humans were not far away. They followed the herds because they were a reliable source of food and the animals in turn followed reliable sources of food.

Whom do the mushrooms follow?

I went out to pasture with my friend to look for mushrooms because it became common knowledge that psylos grow in the poop of cows. We could not explain why these mushrooms could be found on some of the areas and why they could not be found on others, and even the search often turned out to be difficult, often we found nothing.

So if you ask "why?" and don't want to be surprised, the answer is: coincidence.

By chance, terrestrial plants grow on this planet, which have random ingredients that accidentally interact with our nerve synapses in a very - giggle - interesting way. By chance, we can turn plant compounds into drugs that have a random effect on biochemistry.

All is just design by and in itself for no further reason.

Evolution is a random process - a deterministic ongoing story coincidentally producing intelligent design. Like an accident of some sorts. Now, isn't it still (!) something to wonder about, even if it was random? Why can't we wonder about randomness itself?

When you still want to wonder that such coincidental things are present you wouldn't want to avoid most of these questions and cannot not be astonished. Being astounded is a quality we highly appreciate. And why wouldn't we?

When was the last time your jaw dropped in awe?

I mean not amazement, not excitement, not arousal, not bafflement, but the REAL THING.

The real thing is the thing which is indescribable. And for the very reason one cannot use human language to describe it it becomes of utmost interest. Why would you otherwise bother? When all is decoded, there would nothing be left to feel an eternal surprise for.

This eternal surprise lasts since millennia. What if it stops?

But then many people have this sense of wondering, buried under a lot of everyday things and want to exchange the everyday.

I recently tried to share my experience with magic mushrooms.

When I told my friends about it, I noticed that they didn't seem to be able to even begin to follow what I was trying to say. I could just as easily have told them about a dental treatment, which would have produced about the same kind of resonance: a rather superficial, barely worth mentioning story. Simply things to talk about. I felt the disappointment affect me. My friends didn't ask questions about this experience, I couldn't even begin to amaze them, because how can they be surprised by something to which they don't seem to have any access, don't even want this?

Poor me actually selfishly wanted to give life to an event which I thought of being this awe and jaw dropping thing

... but actually I abused my friends in telling it (again) in order to give myself this giggly reminder.

We would have to be more like the children telling each other stories by candlelight in the evening and exchanging anecdotes of those they heard others heard about. The adult world doesn't seem to want to wonder about anything anymore, most of it is fed directly into what you already know.

"I've already been there, I already know that," is a very frequent answer, isn't it?

The apparent superiority that gives you an attitude that is not susceptible to surprise is really no consolation. Basically an exchange from something expensive to something cheap. It's a mask that's blasé about things that can't be proven.

The next day I wanted to be astonished

when I asked one of my clients how he became a priest. I had already sniffed him out and suspected there would be something interesting coming up. Which it did.

He told me about a personally experienced miracle, after which his doctor believed him to be dead and predicted only half a year more life for him. Since then more than thirty years have passed and the healing my client told me was that he felt the physical sensation that someone was massaging his chest where his heart was sitting and when he opened his eyes there was no one there. ... Oh, how I excited I became already feeling the eternal giggle coming up!

Other such sensory experiences were made by this man and there was never anyone near him. He interpreted this experience as an encounter with God. The medical examinations then also revealed that he was cured of his illness, which seemed inexplicable to the client's doctor.

But when I wanted to be further fascinated by the story, the cultural background of the man, Christianity and the conviction of a single God prevented me from further immersing myself in this narrative, because the man already began a serious business! He wanted to missionize me and insist on the banality of his interpretation of a religion, so that this rich dialogue threatened to become a difference of opinion. I insisted to stay cheerful and managed it quite successfully through the course of our conversation.

That's why I think that talking about religion should nothing be of a (serious) matter between people. At least, when they want to get along well.

It is completely irrelevant whose son rose from the dead and whether he bears a Christian, Muslim, Hindu or Hebrew name. Instead of talking about the miracle or the metaphor in curious bliss, one reduces an experience to his culture and not paying attention to something experienced, the happening (happy) itself. Thus one reduces the different cultural phenomena to nationalities and these in turn to identities that cling firmly to the "I" and thus basically leads to a dead end. ... Meh ...

For me, it felt like a downgrading of this wonderful experiential narrative, as if it must be set in stone.

I truly understand the longing for sharing an experience like it with others - mind you, the poor me. But I also must say that when the man already started to leave the miracle and wanted to go further into the consequences of it, I was not nearly ready to follow. I'd have preferred to dwell more into that moment where the indescribable had happened. Why? Because I felt on the other hand sceptic towards what he told me. Because, you see, once people start trying this convincing works upon each other than it seems as if they themselves do not indeed believe in their own miracle! They lose their sense of wonder. ... Meh again ...

I would have preferred it if the man had not immediately limited his experience to a certainty,

that is, to have met God as an intellectual entity that has taken care of him, but rather as an experience of which he does not know exactly how to handle it. This is a prime example of a man who seeks to reconcile what is uncertain with what gives certainty. As soon as there is a hold on a moment that can be defined as solid, nothing more can be changed in the form of experience; it wants to be carved in granite by man, so that there is an immutability of the moment.

But it is precisely the paradox that something happens that eludes true grasping and recognition that is the tickling tension in which a person can be/stay creative.

As McKenna puts it so humorously:

Science gives you one free miracle: The Big Bang.

Determinism is a notion that is just the other side of the coin: It claims that "matter" is nothing to wonder about. That we defined "matter" already to it's satisfying fullest and that there is no intelligence whatsoever in the design of something material, that it's pure automata. ... Where is the entertainment?

I'd actually place this notion more closely to a religious belief which states that what one knows, is/needs to be set.

Now, I want to make one thing clear:

No scientist has ever proven what "matter" actually is (supposed to "be").

The assumption that matter came out of nowhere for no reason, that it's just a random singular event is, from my point of view, a reactive impulse to those who give it too much meaning in a human sense.

[But when one wants to have fun in disagreeing than this play of hide and seek should actually become a matter of entertainment, for the sake of peace: why not?]

482px-King_Wen_(I_Ching).png

If you ask me: the annoyance that the deterministic view holds towards the belief in God is a psychological reaction of, for example, to a rigid religious upbringing or the observation and interpretation of such an education around a social environment. It is a psychological - in parts aggressive or contemptuous - defensive reaction against such "nonsense", which one wants to counter with one's own extreme.

I can understand that one gets upset about people who suspect behind everything a divine intention and put this intention into human understanding. It also makes me impatient at times to argue against a personified deity because it seems too certain to me. Now, it's my resistance and harsh judgement that makes a moment difficult. It's not the other person.

Nevertheless, the opposite provokes me in exactly the same way and I resist that explanations about a big bang are given to me and from there everything is done according to a stubborn mechanism without any intelligence, after which all matter is explained and a point is set behind it.

So I can only refer to the quantum physicists who say:

We are sorry. But matter is still a mystery.

As much as we try to determine it, what we have left is its indeterminability. Matter is not a "thing", is what they say. Matter is a process. A wave is not a self-contained determined matter. A particle is not equal to a particle, it can become a wave.

The wave has a temporal sequence, which is coupled to other sequences, which always change when this process is under observation and behaves indefinitely. We are dealing with uncertainty. But the deterministic view ignores this blur and insists that matter behaves in a definite way. It holds the focused beam of a flashlight on an event and "thinks" it has sufficiently understood the event by implying total lack of meaning. I ask: "?"

If you ask: "What caused the big bang?", there is simply no answer. You don't know. To exist in this dilemma of not knowing something is often difficult for people to endure.

So you could declare "not knowing" unimportant and say, "I know enough". But the whole house of cards has already collapsed, because how can one say that the knowledge about matter is already sufficient, since there is no evidence whatsoever that matter behaves in a certain way?

All we know is that matter behaves in an indefinite way.

For me, the belief in God which literally interprets things is not far away from the deterministic viewpoint.
Both views represent extremes that want to weigh themselves in certainty. Both have ceased to wonder. For the one God makes everything clear, nothing remains open as a question, for the other determinism paves everything, nothing remains unsettled as a question. As this open questions can be seen as "irrelevant".

In a sense, both are attached to an image of "certainty", but they go different ways. Believing in the survival of the soul after an earthly death on one hand, earthly technology that results from determinism itself: To create and prolong life, simply for no reason whatsoever, on the other hand. For some everything is destiny and divine, for others everything is coincidence.

But I wonder: How does randomness explain itself then?

The image that emerges in my mind's eye is an unconscious giant in the determinist's mind, a being a hundred meters high, who walks the earth and simply drinks the water of the oceans and tears out whole forests in order to stuff them in his mouth. Who, because he can, builds a device and flies with it to the next planet, where he eats more resources and builds things because he can. By coincidence.

Then there is the God who really keeps every square millimeter under control, who can even penetrate into the thoughts of man and see whether someone is practicing sin or well-being. Who also evaluates every sound and every deed and takes the time to bring every single one of the billions of people to justice. Such a God reminds me too much of my neighbor who doesn't like me. There really are no open questions when I have an idea of God in this way.

Total certainty basically destroys what has been experienced,

transforms it into something weaker, because it automatically excludes other possible (wondrous) alternatives. The explicit naming of something unnameable minimizes creativity and does not increase it. This very strange "God experience" then acts as if it is only explicitly accessible to others if the one who have had this experience limits himself to a certain vocabulary. But he does not see that he already uses his model as closing and no longer as opening.

How about regarding a "miracle" as an ongoing process rather than a self-contained one.

For example, I wouldn't call my experience, which I consider inexplicable, a closed one, because the moment of this event runs along with me. Thus I can recognize that my longing to make this experience accessible to other people is basically an attempt by me to make it accessible to myself again, a retrieval of the sensation, a remembrance of the felt.

So how can someone who says to me, "Oh, that's all the nonsense you're saying," take something away from me? How can I regard someone who accuses me of naivety and dreaming, since he offers me the best opportunity to establish my personal connection to the happy event? So if two people blame each other that what they believe and feel is bare nonsense, they might as well stand in front of a mirror and say, "Okay, here you are. What do you have to tell me?"

The man carries a diamond in a bag and so do I.

The quantum physicist, who has now become aware of this uncertainty of matter and feels as if the universe has just giggled at him, can simply giggle back.

He knows that he knows nothing and that every so far gained certainty will reveal new uncertainties. The knowledge and ability that we humans have collected is just a tiny piece in the big universe and we might never reach an end, because every end holds a new beginning.

But if you don't find this amusing, but feel personally offended that your previous explanation of the world has been revealed by an anecdote that is too humorous, you will find that you know more than the rest, ... seriously!

When you think that the mystery of matter has already been solved you will stick to the deterministic image and instead wish to regard life as not really comprehensible and eternal paradox as "misguided".

The deterministic view says: "We have not yet solved the mystery of life, but we will inevitably do so. There will be a definite end result in the future. We will eventually be ready to create life ourselves, we will travel the universe and we will know."

I, who thinks that one will never stop wondering, says: "It may be that in the future we will travel at the speed of light, it may be that one day we will change into another kind of being by means of augmentation into hybrids, half man, half computer. May be everything.

Nevertheless, the wondering will not stop, because whenever humanity has reached the next stage of evolution and capacity, a new problem is already pushing itself into perception, which we had not considered before.
To really understand "matter" means for me to really understand how the universe came into being.

Once the secret of matter has been deciphered, the universe is no longer a mysterious "place".

If you look at it from the funny side, you could say: spoilsport (!) and plunge the universe into chaos again, because such knowledge would have the same effect that the gods were captured and the game of hide and seek is over.

If every riddle had been solved, the universe would have discovered itself virtually, would have arrived at a total recognition of its self, the question could be:

And now what? What the heavens, Joe, let's play it again!

The whole thing would then dissolve, because otherwise the fun would be spoiled.
Once we have understood a joke, we can never laugh spontaneously about it again, because any effect of surprise would be gone. Except, ... we ... forgot. Now, isn't this also a possibility that we forgot about the joke? In the back of the minds lingers a hunch like a de ja vu ... something slips through and bends itself in spacetime.

Now the determinist and the non-determinist have to argue, because both talk theoretically. In practice, no invention has ever reached its end, no application has yet been perfected. There is always an as much promising as threatening future, depending on conditions arising and your mood in a particular perceived situation. As well as a glorious or inglorious past, also depending on the conditions arising and mood of the thinker, who wants something or doesn't want it.

Back to mushrooms

The events that happen during a mushroom trip are neither bad nor good by nature.
But you should choose your tripping partners very well, just like the setting. Environment and people are important. Since one is susceptible to influence during a trip, the sceptical protection against evil whispers is not present, complete indifference in the being together of the participants can very well be to the detriment of the trippers, it is the responsibility of the consumer to think beforehand about with which people and in which environment he ingests mind-altering substances. There should be prior clarity about what one hopes for from the experience or perhaps better: that one is willing to open up and that fear of the unknown should not be the dominant force.

During my mushroom experience laughter and crying lay so close together that I didn't know how to tell them apart so clearly. I cried my soul out of my body for hours and then again I laughed as if I were the happiest soul on earth. With a brutal honesty - for those who do not eat mushrooms - I said to a friend wholeheartedly: "Oh, now don't keep on talking such foolish stuff! Stop talking at all.", knowing that she knew exactly that I knew nothing and vice versa. After I had cried a whole lake, I felt quite well for some time. It's just a pity that my ego soon had me on the hook again, because then it started to be important what others might have thought of me. But I still assume that none of those present could even begin to describe themselves as sober. So it didn't matter.

As I talked in previous posts (fictional as well as non fictional) about the mushroom experience itself in more detail - referring to the losing sense of self - I won't repeat myself here.

Anyway, I hope this was some kind of entertainment for you. If not, maybe this is it:

Aesthetics: the imagination must serve the ideal of the beautiful. Tastelessness must be avoided at all costs.
90 % of the difficulty in your intellectual life would never have happened if you had just had better taste.

Terence McKenna


Picture sources:

By NASA, ESA, AURA/Caltech, Palomar ObservatoryThe science team consists of: D. Soderblom and E. Nelan (STScI), F. Benedict and B. Arthur (U. Texas), and B. Jones (Lick Obs.) - http://hubblesite.org/newscenter/archive/releases/2004/20/image/a/, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=7805481

By TarcísioTS at Portuguese Wikipedia - Transferred from pt.wikipedia to Commons by Econt., Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=3584814

Sort:  

Just to start with something: I never tried these mushrooms. Only these we an call food.

Now let's move with the pieces of text that triggered the physicist inside me.

Science gives you one free miracle: The Big Bang.

This is actually not correct. Standard cosmology gives you the big bang, although what is going a the initial moment is not known. However, there are many alternative cosmologies, some of them without any big bang (and that seem OK relatively to data).

No scientist has ever proven what "matter" actually is (supposed to "be").
The assumption that matter came out of nowhere for no reason, that it's just a random singular event is, from my point of view, a reactive impulse to those who give it too much meaning in a human sense.

This I must disagree with. We actually know what matter is made of, what are its internal constituents, and so on. Funnily enough, there are many things we do not know at the same time. But saying that we do not know what matter is is reducing it too much, in my opinion. The fundamental constituents of matter are known, aren't they?

The thing that we do not know at all is what happened at the initial moment in standard cosmology, for the reason that the theory actually break down and cannot be trusted. All energy and matter (those two are the two faces of the same coins) have been generated. Why? How? etc... we don't know.

A particle is not equal to a particle, it can become a wave.

Strictly speaking, matter can be seen at the same time as a wave or as a particle. And even funnier, recent researchers managed to get particles-waves that were both at the same time (in some very-well defined experimental contexts).

All we know is that matter behaves in an indefinite way.

Yes and no. This only holds when quantum effects are relevant. Otherwise, it is fully deterministic.

And to conclude: the difference with religion is that no matter what we know and do not know, we are still questioning all of this and are trying to understand more how the universe works.

And even funnier, recent researchers managed to get particles-waves that were both at the same time (in some very-well defined experimental contexts).

Haha, when I hear something that overwhelming and difficult to understand I always try to "translate" it into a social world metaphor :) So, I put a great deal of effort this time and the following two ridiculous metaphors came out :D

A particle and a wave at the same time sounds like:

  1. A full-time mother, who is also a CEO (not that it is impossible, but you can observe it in "very-well defined experimental contexts") :P

  2. A Catholic who is also a Jew :D (again - very special contexts)

The funny thing is that I know these people and they exist -> so these particles-waves must exist, too :) Haha, if only logics worked in this simple way I would have made it to a genius :)

Nice analogies! I laughed in reading them! :)

Wow! That certainly was a response :)

HaHa! These mushrooms caused me some giggles :)

Cosmology is part of science, isn't it?
In general, the Big Bang is the most accepted view from what I see so far. I experience other views as little, if any, discussed.

I found McKenna's statement amusing, it has a certain humor to look at it that way, doesn't it?

According to what you say about the unknown parts: Yes, that's what I was talking about. That we don't know it exactly and that from a philosophical point of view this not knowing is a state that I call "uncertainty". Being in this state and not taking it bitterly serious was my starting point and the content of this post.

I'm talking about wisdoms last conclusion, the total knowledge that doesn't exist from my point of view, but not about the things we know about the fundamental nature of matter. Which I simply accept.

My main theme is indeed "certainty" and "uncertainty". It is in this space of tension that most human conflicts take place. No matter if you use a scientific theory or a belief in God. I hope I was able to make this clear?

In my experience, wondering and staying in this stage of wondering is a conciliatory attitude when it comes to hot debates about the nature of the universe and the human role in it.

Cosmology is part of science, isn't it? In general, the Big Bang is the most accepted view from what I see so far. I experience other views as little, if any, discussed.

It is. I have never said the Big Bang was wrong. I only said that despite it is the most commonly adopted idea (that I follow too by the way), there are alternatives. And it is good people are looking for alternatives. That allows us to keep an open mind. However, not all alternatives are equal. For being viable, an alternative should work as well (or even better) as standard cosmology to explain data.

My main theme is indeed "certainty" and "uncertainty". It is in this space of tension that most human conflicts take place. No matter if you use a scientific theory or a belief in God. I hope I was able to make this clear?

I have always troubles with this word because uncertainties are well-defined quantities in the quantum, world. But yes, I got the idea.

There are things we know we know, things we know we don't know and things we don't know we don't know. The last ones are the be(a)st by the way :)

PS: I really enjoyed the post as well as answering a part of it from the physicist's standpoint. Of course, this forced me to ignore the other part in my comment (but just at the level of my comment).

Thank you, I have enjoyed writing the post and am glad that it sounded. :)

I really like your sentence about what we know, what we don't know and what we don't know we don't know.

For the troubles with the term of uncertainty:
Though it sounds odd to me, for how can uncertainties "be"well defined I guess from a physics point of view it makes sense. But: Isn't that otherwise a contradiction? The emphasis lays in the word of "being". As I understand it, every "thing" (particle) cannot be fixed in only a state of "being" but is constantly in a "process of becoming". The difficulty to detect things at quantum level is the unpredictability of it's location, is how I so far have understood it.

In quantum mechanics (or statistics), the value of a given measurement would fluctuate around the true value of the observable when repeating the experiment many time. This fluctuation is connected to the standard deviation, or the uncertainty. The term 'uncertainty' for that well-defined quantity is probably very badly chosen. But this is now history... so...

The fact that we cannot measure very precisely the position in quantum mechanics stems from the uncertainty principle of Heisenberg, that tells us that the uncertainty on the position times the uncertainty on the momentum has to be larger than some number. Therefore, none of them, cannot become infinitely small without violating the principle.

I hope this clarifies. :)

I found this description of Heisenberg's uncertainty relation in connection with the fission experiment:

The smaller the spatial uncertainty of an electron/photon in the slit is, the greater is its pulse blur behind the slit. The product of the two quantities is at least 'h' at any time. So it is not possible to determine at the same time the location and the momentum (thus also the velocity) of a quantum object arbitrarily exactly. In general, it is not possible to determine two measurands of a quantum object, whose product has the dimension of an effect (energy time), simultaneously and exactly.

https://www.uni-ulm.de/fileadmin/website_uni_ulm/nawi.inst.251/Didactics/quantum chemistry/html/GrenzF.html

In contrast to classical physics, measurements generally change the state of quantum objects. I hadn't understood for a long time that "observation" meant "measurement", I also find that this simple explanation hardly appears anywhere.

When light falls on matter, it also shows its particle character: The light quanta bounce off matter objects.

It is interesting that light, which one usually perceives and understands as not material, can actually be material in the sense of particles.

If location and momentum are out of focus due to the wave character and quantum mechanics doesn't reflect physical reality, I wonder why all the hype is about that? Is there more to it than we currently understand, ... why are "quantum computers" being built and why are lasers associated with quantum physics?

Does it have anything to do with wanting to teleport matter? I recently attended a physics lecture and it was the subject of this lecture. Unfortunately, I did not understand the process of teleporting a man's photograph to another location at a distance of over a hundred kilometres.

I can now understand a little why some people believe that "consciousness" is also something material when we are already investigating a reality on quantum level that is unimaginable.
However, I am sceptical and would not equate physics with any form of reality that we as humans define as such or wish to think about mentally/spiritually.

Because, you see, once people start trying this convincing works upon each other than it seems as if they themselves do not indeed believe in their own miracle!

This is exactly what I have encountered so far - every time someone tries to convince me into "their truth" at any prize I realize that they actually try to convince themselves.

Anyway, a priest in counseling? That must be a catch :)In my experience priests and yogas know it all! They have all the answers in the world and are eager to share them :D

I would say I am not "a priest" person. Although I consider myself a Christian and I must say that I believe in God, I don't identify with any particular type of Christianity, The Bible seems pretty funny to me... and I don't find the need of priests or churches in order to connect with God. However, in greatest despair when my life or someone else's life was in danger, I always find myself talking to God. And this is something that I just do. Maybe it is just my mind trying to find meaning, hope and comfort... actually, I don't care what is it and I don't see the point of questioning it as it is something that I do, that seems to be somehow core to my personality and my view of the world... and has helped me a great deal. But it is something very private, I never discuss it with anyone and never try to convince others into my perspective. It just too personal.

For me, the belief in God which literally interprets things is not far away from the deterministic viewpoint.

Actually, the belief in God is a deterministic view. God determines everything - what happened and what will happen.

As far as mysteries and the unknown are concerned I have a funny urge when I what to know the answer of something e.g. what will happen tomorrow. I just find myself heading to my pc to google it :D And then I remember that there are things that you can not find on Google :D

P.S. I guess I would never try mushrooms. The feeling of losing my self will probably freak me out :D I just love my self too much to lose it :D Lol :D

HaHa, yes, truly a good catch, the priest.
I like him a lot. And I appreciate the disagreement with him as it gives some salt to the connection. I am testing myself within this encounters and observe when I become impatient. Learning to stretch my impatience level to extend.

You are right, how we cope with very difficult situations is a personal thing. And we don't want to have them ridiculed by others. That's why I think many people don't talk about it openly as there is always the danger to be misunderstood.

I like your analogy with google! It sets the point without using a lot of words doing so.
Thank you!

Losing oneself can be frightening or highly amusing. It depends ;-)

I put this reply under your comment instead of Erika's....sorry. Sometimes I get turned upside down on Steemit. Nice to see you here :)

Haha, :D No worries :) Nice to see you, too! :D

Put this comment earlier under insight-out. Wow, am I easily confused :)



Thus I can recognize that my longing to make this experience accessible to other people is basically an attempt by me to make it accessible to myself again, a retrieval of the sensation, a remembrance of the felt.

I was caught by this statement in your piece. This is how I feel about photos sometimes. While I do love them, they seem like a vain attempt to hold onto a moment, "to make it accessible to myself again, a retrieval of the sensation, a remembrance of the felt." But I think we share experiences for another reason: we are social animals. I think the need to communicate, to connect with people is as essential as food, for most people. This is why solitary confinement is so psychologically crippling.

And...I chuckle when I read about your mushroom experiment. I came of age in the 60's, went to college in Greenwich Village (NY). Everybody was dropping acid. It was ordinary. I think it was the age of acid. Everyone wanted to expand their consciousness, intensify their experience of the moment. I think a lot of great insights came from that, and few people sacrificed their mental health to it. Mushrooms were less common, but totally acceptable.

I, on the other hand, was never tempted. Most people who know me would not recommend any experience-enhancing drug. It's already quite active up there, in my head :) Most days the thoughts run quickly and brightly. A lot of neurons firing. I wouldn't want to excite them further :)

Have you read @lemouth's blog on dark matter (most recent). What you say about matter intersects somewhat with his discussion.

All in all, your discussion went in areas that have sometimes occupied my thoughts. I think these areas occupy the thoughts of many people who tend to reflect. I'm glad you characterize the speculation as a 'giggle'. How else can we view our ontological circumstance except with humor and grace?

Thank you for your objection regarding wanting to share experiences. You are right, it is an essential human need to tell others about the experiences, both inner and outer. When I think about it, my intention was to cheer up the group a little and to give an anecdote to the best in order to contribute something unusual to the evening.

Isolated solitary confinement is indeed psychological crippling. I experience this again and again in my work. It's tragic because when people become lonely, they tend to use their imagination a little too much. I had a very exhausting experience just yesterday about this, but I don't want to go into it any further.

If you hadn't revealed it and I'd have been asked if you've ever used mind-altering drugs, I would have tended to "yes" rather than "no". HaHa!

I read lemouth's blog after your reference to it, but I'd have to repeat it three times to understand the content to some extent.

How else can we view our ontological circumstance except with humor and grace?

Yes, this I wanted to remind us of :)

Thank you for taking part and giving your thoughts to it.

I'm so happy your blog was recognized. Giggle, indeed. Well deserved.
As for dark matter, I understand what I can, and then leave the rest to physicists :)

There are common grounds for a discussion indeed. I answered :)

What beautiful ideas! I love the image of the universe just laughing around and popping things into existence because why not, it's fun.

A scientist is looking through a microscope and Mike Universe tells Joseph Universe: "Move the particle to the left! Make it disappear!" and they try to alter the results into something ridiculous.

Aesthetics looks like anesthetics. Anesthetic aesthetics. Imagine if someone wanted to make the most beautiful feeling in anesthesia 😲 just make certain parts sleep but let a tiny bit of perception leak into the brain. Mix in some psychedelics and let the patient imagine herself flying through cotton candy and driving a lion-butterfly into the castle of inverted waterfalls. Then she wakes up and she's healed, but the anesthesia is not done yet and keeps inserting a tiny bit of happiness until she's at home watching cartoons and all she has is a good memory of surgery.

Posted using Partiko Android

You must be Alice (in Wonderland) :)

This funny fantasy of yours made me think even more about the fact that people are capable of humor. How can it be explained that we can laugh at ourselves and others? How did the joke tradition come about? Isn't it wonderful that we have such an ability and that laughter is unique?

I am not really looking for answers, just wondering ;-)

Thank you for the return visit.

I saw a super interesting article about laughter

http://theconversation.com/the-evolutionary-origins-of-laughter-are-rooted-more-in-survival-than-enjoyment-57750

A new study (...) suggests that laughter may indicate to listeners the friendship status of those laughing. The researchers asked listeners to judge the friendship status of pairs of strangers and friends based on short snippets of their simultaneous laughter. Drawn from 24 different societies, they found that listeners were able to reliably distinguish friends from strangers, based on specific acoustic characteristics of the laughter.

It also talks about the evolutionary background of laughter.

Thanks for the article, I've been reading it.
But I would go much further and say, "Yes, laughter for laughter's sake is man's ability. Quite simply to have joy in something."

I finally don't think consciously that it secures my survival or improves my social skills when I laugh. I laugh because I find something very funny. I welcome the fact that laughter has a very nice side effect, that it integrates me socially.

What I find funniest is when I'm all alone, for example, I walk through my apartment, have a thought and have to laugh at that thought. Nobody is there, nobody can share the comedy of my serenity with me. And yet I laugh. Such a moment is as if the universe had laughed back.

Someone who watches another laugh at something for no apparent reason may think, "He's crazy!" And it's true, he has a moving thought, is amused with himself.

When I read the title of the article, I thought: "Oh, a rather biological reason why people (or animals) laugh. As if everything were just evolution, as if everything was a goal-oriented affair. I don't disagree. It's probably true. But beauty and laughter remains a miracle for me, which I don't like to fathom completely. Otherwise it would become ordinary to have a conclusive explanation that leaves no questions unanswered, if you know what I mean?

I found it interesting, that people can distinguish the laughters.
It reminds me of my mom, who, when she got caught by a blast, was laughing so hard that she almost cried. Such hilarious moments that were. :-))

I googled "am I a joke to you" and watched through those memes and laughed a lot :D

Oh, a rather biological reason why people (or animals) laugh. As if everything were just evolution, as if everything was a goal-oriented affair. I

Ha, I took it more as a curiosity for the origin of laughter. I don't think many evolutionary things serve the same purpose in modern life, but it's very interesting to read things about, for example, why we make tears when we're sad, why we exhale intermittently and vocally when we find something funny, stuff like that. It doesn't make it any less authentic, but it satisfies my curiosity.

I really do enjoy laughter, though, and I feel really proud when I can think up a new joke and have someone laugh at it. :3 It also helps me bond with existence. Sometimes everything is too plain and distant, but a bit of laughter keeps me grounded. I also laugh alone and I don't think it serves any evolutionary purpose anymore, but I enjoy it a lot. I rarely find jokes that make me laugh, though. :( At least not recently. I even started looking for stand-up comedians to see if there's still someone I find funny. It's so rare!

when she got caught by a blast

:O What kind of blast?

Loading...

Thank you for the return visit.

I always check out commenter's profiles, but I very rarely leave comments (or even fully read the posts) because I'm very picky about what I read. But your blog is the most interesting one I've seen in many months. :) I had a very good time reading this.

I gladly take that compliment. Thank you.
Will come back to your blog for sure.

Hehe.... Indeed such a great experiences you have in there. I as humans we definitely go through all that to learn from them and as I can see you are not that selfish after all you shared them for people like me to read.
I really enjoyed every second I spent on your blog and I hope to see more amazing piece from you end soon

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed this blog. That what it's made for. Not easy though to stay creative and find inspiration. But I'll try.

Yea.... I know you will and you have that power in you. You are humbly humbly welcome though

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoyed reading your thoughts and for Science giving the one free miracle, the Big Bang, seems so nicely to sum up your entire article, awe/spirituality can't be pinned down or it dies.
The magic in mushroom's can certainly take us into some jaw-dropping moments ;)

yup. I know that you know :))

Have you ever had the magic mushrooms?

Yes, of course! I live where some of the best grow :) I think our (Astoria) sister city is Walldorf, Germany and I've heard the strongest ones grow in both these places. Can't remember where I picked that up from, but I certainly found the synchronicity especially interesting.

I didn't know that but I love this "coincidence".
You sound happy these days.

Oh, good! Yes, I am feeling pretty good and smiling more :)

Hi @erh.germany!

Your post was upvoted by Utopian.io in cooperation with @steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Oh ... ! That got me by surprise! Actually, ... it's a nice birthday present for me and came just right on time before the new day. Thank you!

Happy birthday! I hope you've had an amazing day!

Miss Kimberly eagle-eye! Thank you! :))

Congratulations @erh.germany! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76