You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A weird question I have after a debate with a Flat Earther.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Can you please explain why this particular feat would have anything to do with a globe earth vs. a flat earth debate?

Yeah. I made an attempted joke post or a post to sort of make light of flat earthers by pointing out how many people have swam around the world or flown around it, were they all lying? How come no one fell off? Etc. And a flat earther responded telling me that according to their model the people circumnavigating horizontally are basically just going in circles on their map. But that no one has ever gone north to south, cause that wouldn't work on their map. So they try to say the one expedition that went north to south was uhh.. A conspiracy or a fraud or whatever. Propaganda. Hopefully that answers your question.

Also, I'm not sure what you mean by 'why hasn't anyone even hiked it'

Well, there was the one expedition the Transglobe expedition, they claimed to have done it on foot, IE hiked it. Part of it was by boat and other vehicles, but.. I was wondering why no one since that expedition has done such. Whether on foot or otherwise.

And many people HAVE circumnavigated Antarctica.

I was talking about circumnavigating the planet vertically. Up and down specifically..

So, a BETTER question would seem to me why people HAVE circumnavigated Antarctica. As that seems DEFINITIVE proof that the flat earth claims are incorrect, where why hasn't someone circumnavigated north to south seems like a bizarre concocted idea designed, not to prove anything, but to cast doubts that don't even make any sense.

What..? I don't understand how you came to that conclusion. It's a genuine question, I never mentioned circumnavigating Antarctica.. Before you go around correcting people and telling people off maybe you should read what they actually said.

Also, if I may make one suggestion? If you get into researching this flat earth thing, I always find it strange that people to to random social media places to ask questions that are specific to certain things. Like, for instance, I personally would get on a sailing forum and ask sailors a question like that, as many probably have the expertise to answer certain questions specific to sailing.
Just a suggestion. I just always find it strange that people go to flat earth forums on social media to ask questions that an expert on the subject will likely know and be able to explain quite well.

What was the suggestion? Lol. That you find it strange people ask weird questions on social media? I'm trying to be patient with you here.. But I mean.. I'm kinda chuckling.. It seems like you're so anti flat earth that you're trying to give me flak for discussing it in the calm manner I am instead of profusely insulting the flat earthers and decrying such imbecilic nonsense.

I've asked questions on social media about all kinds of stuff for like over 10 years, probably around 20. I'm definitely not going to stop just cause you didn't like my questions. And I do sometimes go to specific forums to ask questions, but.. Flat Earth is not a serious subject to me, it's a side issue I find interesting.. Not something I spend much time on. I doubt I'll ever get into it enough to go to a specific forum and ask questions, I'm just casually commenting on things I find interesting, nothing more. I think you read a lil too much into it. Cheers. Lol.

Sort:  

I didn't say that I don't 'like' your question. I said that if you truly want an answer, why wouldn't you ask where the experts that can answer those questions are? That was my point.

And I realize that you did not bring up the circumnavigation of Antarctica. I was merely pointing out the strawmen that flat earthers use, like why no one has circumnavigated north to south, which is not impossible, so far as I can see, on either model. However, the circumnavigation of Antarctica, particularly in 15,000 miles, is impossible on their model.

So, for flat earthers to ask such a question seems like a diversion, since circumnavigating Antarctica actually is impossible on the flat earth model.

You seem to feel I came off as rude or antagonistic, but I apologize as it was not meant to be. I was merely pointing out facts and asking a question as to why this particular issue was brought up, as I simply do not understand why flat earthers ask this question. It implies that it's impossible on a globe, but I've never seen any reason why that would be the case that it would be more or less likely on either model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47