HOW TO HELP AN INSOMNIAC

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

HELLO, warriors!

unnamed (12).gif
Bustle

So this journey with my dad being sick is really really tough. One of the problems we are dealing as of this time is his INSOMNIA.

Before being diagnosed with cancer, he has problems with his sleeping patterns. Most of the time he couldn't sleep at night. Just recently this became a major problem to his health condition. Knowing that he has this kind of dreadful disease, it is very important for him to get a good sleep.

We are at WAR.

IMG_20170925_184607.jpg

His insomnia is getting worse that even sleeping pills and anti-depressants couldn't help him.

His oncologist prescribed another kind of sleeping drug with a higher dose. Hoping for a better result, I was very disappointed to know that Dad could not bare the after-effects of this drug. It made him nauseous and weaker.

We were so hopeless.

Then I decided to do a research on how to help him the most natural way possible. Here are some of those:

1. FIND THE ROOT CAUSE.

unnamed (10).gif
Giphy

There are different kinds of insomnia.
Well in my dad's case and base on my observations, the reason why he can't fall asleep at night is because he is anxious.

To cope up with his anxiety, I to talk to him then convince him that he is doing great. I also explained his condition in a more positive way possible. Comforting words and assurance lessens anxiety. Acceptance is a must!

2. MAKE HIM LAUGH.

unnamed (8).gif
Giphy

Now to lighten up the mood, I always make sure I make him laugh. I even set a rule! -No crossing of brows and frowning.

I have a two year old niece at home, her innocence also helps my dad. I always make sure she plays around with her Grandpa everyday. Her kisses and sweet head massages are so worth it!

3. EXERCISE.

unnamed (9).gif
Giphy

Having a healthy mind and body gives you balance. It makes you active and prevents you from sleeping during the day.
Remember: you are fixing your sleeping pattern. If you sleep during the day, most likely you won't feel sleepy at night.

4. QUIET, DARK, FRAGRANT ROOM.

unnamed (7).gif
Her Campus

So far this is very effective! Clean the room! Who would want to sleep in an untidy place?! If the room isn't sound proof, be considerate. You might want to minimize the television's volume?
Dark room also helps. I don't know, it makes me sleepy! Haha!
You may also spray his favorite kind of perfume or fragrance. Aromatherapy helps a lot! It calms the mind and releases the tension of the body. This improved my dad's sleeping disorder.

5. WATCH WHAT YOU EAT.

unnamed (11).gif
Tenor Giphy

Milk could help but it is not good for my dad so nevermind. Avoid caffeine, chocolates, and soda intake before sleeping.
Lessen also the sugary food and drinks and some refined carbohydrates during the day.
You may also eat food rich in tryptophan, magnesium, calcium, and B6 to help your body produce melatonin - a hormone that is responsible for regulating your sleep and wake patterns.

That's all for now! I hope I was able to help.


You might want to read my previous posts:

ONE PRAYER TO HELP

THINGS YOU PONDER AT NIGHT

THE HORROR HISTORY OF THE HAUNTED RED MANSION

AFTER 40 LONG YEARS, THEY REUNITE.

SINGLE BELLS. SINGLE BELLS. SINGLE ALL THE WAY! - WHY AM I STILL SINGLE?!

MOST HAUNTED PLACES IN THE PHILIPPINES - PART 1


GOOD NIGHT and see you on my next post!

😴😴😴

video2gif_20170913_174221.gif

Sort:  

I upvoted your post please visit my account.
@hatemelpop

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51