How Do You Know when an airline is troubled? There can be many signs.

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

...You just have to look for them!

PAL Express airborne.jpg
During the last two years, we have experienced nothing but disappointment and grief using Philippine Airlines’ (PAL Express) when traveling between Calbayog City and Manila in the Philippines. Our last three experiences with that carrier resulted in two lengthy delays and one early morning flight cancellation where we were bused (rushed) to Tacloban (Leyte) to catch the early afternoon PAL Express flight to Manila. PAL Express, formerly Air Philippines and Airphil Express, is an airline operating under the business name of Air Philippines Corporation, under the ownership of Philippine Airlines (wikipedia).

Just last week we had tickets to fly from Calbayog City to Clark International (Angeles City) and our flight was cancelled less than 15 hours before departure. The actual email message I received was…

“Your flight from Calbayog, Philippines (CYP) to Clark International Airport, Mabalacat, Philippines (CRK) on flight 2672 on 19 Feb 2018 at 10:15 AM has been cancelled.

Please standby for further details of your new schedule.”

No Further details or information was ever received!
And because we had a connecting international flight in Manila, it was urgent that we not wait around for PAL to come up with a plan “B.” We decided to head straight to the ** DLTB ** bus station and get some seats. We managed to catch the 9:30 morning bus and were in Manila just after sunrise the next morning, with about 40 hours to spare before our next flight. While in Manila, I took the opportunity to visit a PAL ticketing office and process the mountain of paperworks for a full refund. There seemed to be no problem receiving a ticket refund but in the end, the amount of the refund did not match the amount I spent on the tickets. When I questioned this the agent told me “The amount does not include the Ticket Service Charge (TSC) which is not refundable.” Then I learned that the refund also did not include the “extra baggage” fees we paid either. Like Jekyll turned Hyde I immediately went on the offensive. In short, after a full three-round-bout with this agent-in-training, she called in the heavy hitter (supervisor) for help, but in the end, I won the battle that should have never been waged. How could we possibly be held responsible in any way for PAL cancelling the flight? We won this match. We were to receive a FULL refund!

Philippine_Airlines_-_Makati-1493277128886.jpg

PAL Ticketing Office - Makati, Manila

Talking with other PAL travelers, it has become clear that more and more delays and flight cancellations are occurring with this carrier, at least on some of the domestic routes. WHY?

On that very day last summer when we sat in the Calbayog Airport waiting on our flight, there were three separate announcements that our flight from Manila had been delayed, each time with a newly issued Calbayog ETA, before the flight was actually cancelled. Meaning: the plane was maybe broken and could not be fixed, leading up to the eventual cancellation of the flight. That is the morning we took the 3.5 hour ride to Tacloban to catch the afternoon flight to Manila from there. My first thought about why this is happening would be “maintenance issues.” I’ve spent too many years in and around the aviation community, and although I’m no expert, I’m not exactly ignorant about these things.

Now I don’t mean to scare anyone here, but when you think about the increasing numbers of delays and flight cancellations, I don’t think you can chalk all that up to pilot no-shows or heavy flight traffic! Just last September (2017), President Duterte threatened Lucio Tan, chairman and chief executive officer of Philippine Airlines (PAL), to settle his liabilities with the government in 10 days or he would shut down Terminal 2 of the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA). About that same time, the Department of Transportation (DoTR), had announced that PAL has “unpaid navigational fees and other charges” amounting to almost P7 billion to the government – P6.97 billion payable to the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP) and P322.11 million payable to the Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA).

Q400.jpg

The PAL Express De Havilland Canada DHC-8-402Q Dash 8

I findit just a bit ironic that about this time, PAL packed up and moved some of their domestic flights from Manila to Clark, officially claimed to alliviate traffic at NAIA yet many have debunked this as the reason. I would also surmise that if PAL is having trouble paying their bills, what other issues might they be experiencing internally – Staffing? Maintenance?

Keep in mind that the Bombardier Dash 8 series aircraft that is used by PAL was originally launched in the 1980’s, and although they have received some recent new deliveries from Bombardier Aerospace, some of the planes in the PAL domestic fleet are aged. You can learn more about this aircraft here, making your own judgements on reliability and safety from information provided here.

While PAL has let us down each of the last 4 times we have flown domestically (turboprop), we have never experienced any delays with international flights (jet aircraft). As Mabuhay Miles Club members, we will likely continue to use PAL for international travel, but domestically I’m leaning on using Cebu Pacific exclusively – Let’s just call it a “gut” feeling. In a country that can’t keep a locally produced hamburger (Jollibee’s) in stock, I have to ask myself, what about aircraft parts?

refund.png

It’s going on 5 days and I’m still waiting on our refund!

Sort:  

Welcome to the wonderful world of CebuPacificAir...

I have used CP in the past and have never experienced delays like that with PAL. Maybe it's time to sign up for CP Miles Club!

Update: It has now been 12 days and still no refund. Might have to get nasty with PAL!

UPDATE! I'm happy to say that we finally got a refund for our two tickets, 22 days after the claim BUT, only the fare was refunded! We did not receive the "Ticket Service Charges" or the "Extra Baggage Fees" that we paid. I guess I should be happy that we actually got some money back but it sure leaves the question - If PAL cannot perform something as easy as good customer service and a timely refund, then how the heck can they do something really complicated like maintain airplanes! 😒

We have pretty much switched to Cebu Pacific. I am not sure if CP flies to the places you mentioned. We have had cancelations with CP with valid weather issues and no problem with getting our refunds. The service and any extra, like just some water, also going downhill with PAL flights.
Sorry for you struggle bro! It is more fun in the Philippines!
God bless!

CP flies from Calbayog to Cebu with connection to Manila. It's either that or a 20+ hour bus ride! Currently, it's More Fun in Guam! 🍸🍸🍸 😉

It is never dull here! We only leave once a year for the Balik Bayan. Rod said he had some great company for lunch yesterday! Perhaps one day we will meet!

Yes, he even treated us to some frozen yogurt! Ube flavored of course!

That frozen yogurt place is great!

Yogurt Land! We also go to Cold Stone... just as expensive!

Love Cold Stone. The ice cream here stinks! Actually the stream vendor with the scoop ice cream is the best, or sad to say Jollee Bee. Hush!

Jollibee's chocolate sundaes are as close as it gets to real my friend!

Catching my first PAL domestic flight in a few weeks. Fingers crossed...

Always expect the expected and you will never be disappointed! 😞 Good luck!

ouch, we ourselves prefer Cebu Pacific over PAL. I guess the full refund is stuck with the maintenance issues, it's probably working its way out to the tarmac.

In Guam now? Well, enjoy then!

Funny thing. While in the ticketing office, the young lady asked me for the ticket receipt (seems they have no way to recall the record of the transaction). I forwarded the copy they sent me by email to her while sitting in front of her and even confirmed with her that she received it. "Yes po" was her answer. Yesterday, I received an email request to please resend the receipt! Such efficiency should never go unpunished! 😠 😠 😠

Our experience with CP was awesome. No delays just a gate change at the last minute.
We have decided that we don't ever want to land at NAIA again because of the madness there. If you land international and need to then fly domestic it sucks! So even if it cost us much more we will land at Clark, Cebu or Davao.

I just don't love Manila. You have to be on your guard too much there. I always feel stressed until I get out of Manila.

Last trip home we had to pay some Kutong for making a uturn. They threatened to take the tags of the rental car or take my drivers licence. We were late to return the rental car from driving to Baguio City. I just put the money in a envelope with the registration papers. Criminal cops.

We don't mind flying into Manila. From any terminal, we just take a GRAB or UBER... no problems. As far as that Kutong goes, I think I would have said "Take the car tags." Nobody would have noticed anyway! lol

Have they fixed the "Bullet problem" there? Uber might be a good idea we have never tried it.

I can not seem to get over my American independence.
I have always rented a car every time I come to the Philippines. If you rent a car and you are at the domestic airport you have to get a ride to the International Airport to pickup your car. Then they bait and switch you with a car you never would drive. Told me not to take the car up a hill and I was going to Baguio? It was bad! Leave you with that sick feeling after you leave the desk of the car rental place.
I hope I can learn to be more Filipino and just leave the driving to someone else.
But it is nice to have wheels on hand to go where ever you want.

If it would have been my car I would have let them have the tags. It was a rental car I was on my way to return. Can you imagine how much they would have charged me if the tags were missing? National rental car in Manila at the international airport. We were supposed to pick up a new van that seated 7 and we were given a 6 year old car with 75k KM on it. We had to take it because we were in a bad spot with My wife, 2 kids, brother in law, and mother in law. All worn out from spending 7 days in Iloilo visiting other relatives. It was a very precarious situation.
Next time I will try to find a better way to obtain my transportation.
I will never use National Rental Car again. ( I booked the car online from the US) This happened in 2014 our last trip home. I learned a good thing though, US franchises in the Philippines are nothing like the US franchise.lol

We have our own car in the province and would not live without one, but in Manila we use public transport. Just not worth the headaches driving in Manila although I have done it. I would recommend loading the GRAB app and try it out as we seem to have a little quicker service with them... not much better than UBER though. We have both apps on our phones. Much cheaper than anthing else and no haggling or tipping required. You always know your fare before accepting the ride. And franchises in the PI... not that reliable.

Sorry to hear about your experiences... i usually fly with cebu Pacific.. one time whenour flight got cancelled they gave us free tickets...

CP will be my first choice for domestic travel from now on! PAL wouldn't even give me an upgrade for all my troubles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99