You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Do You Know when an airline is troubled? There can be many signs.

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Our experience with CP was awesome. No delays just a gate change at the last minute.
We have decided that we don't ever want to land at NAIA again because of the madness there. If you land international and need to then fly domestic it sucks! So even if it cost us much more we will land at Clark, Cebu or Davao.

I just don't love Manila. You have to be on your guard too much there. I always feel stressed until I get out of Manila.

Last trip home we had to pay some Kutong for making a uturn. They threatened to take the tags of the rental car or take my drivers licence. We were late to return the rental car from driving to Baguio City. I just put the money in a envelope with the registration papers. Criminal cops.

Sort:  

We don't mind flying into Manila. From any terminal, we just take a GRAB or UBER... no problems. As far as that Kutong goes, I think I would have said "Take the car tags." Nobody would have noticed anyway! lol

Have they fixed the "Bullet problem" there? Uber might be a good idea we have never tried it.

I can not seem to get over my American independence.
I have always rented a car every time I come to the Philippines. If you rent a car and you are at the domestic airport you have to get a ride to the International Airport to pickup your car. Then they bait and switch you with a car you never would drive. Told me not to take the car up a hill and I was going to Baguio? It was bad! Leave you with that sick feeling after you leave the desk of the car rental place.
I hope I can learn to be more Filipino and just leave the driving to someone else.
But it is nice to have wheels on hand to go where ever you want.

If it would have been my car I would have let them have the tags. It was a rental car I was on my way to return. Can you imagine how much they would have charged me if the tags were missing? National rental car in Manila at the international airport. We were supposed to pick up a new van that seated 7 and we were given a 6 year old car with 75k KM on it. We had to take it because we were in a bad spot with My wife, 2 kids, brother in law, and mother in law. All worn out from spending 7 days in Iloilo visiting other relatives. It was a very precarious situation.
Next time I will try to find a better way to obtain my transportation.
I will never use National Rental Car again. ( I booked the car online from the US) This happened in 2014 our last trip home. I learned a good thing though, US franchises in the Philippines are nothing like the US franchise.lol

We have our own car in the province and would not live without one, but in Manila we use public transport. Just not worth the headaches driving in Manila although I have done it. I would recommend loading the GRAB app and try it out as we seem to have a little quicker service with them... not much better than UBER though. We have both apps on our phones. Much cheaper than anthing else and no haggling or tipping required. You always know your fare before accepting the ride. And franchises in the PI... not that reliable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58711.36
ETH 2729.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28