Always Good for a Laugh: My Nominations for the PHC Top 3 Monthly Contest - Comedy

in #phctop36 years ago

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Hey guys! Not only is it #fruitsandveggiesmonday, but today also marks the start of a super fun new contest by the @phctop3! I have the privilege of being a member of the team hosting this monthly contest. Some of the gang came up with the idea when discussing favorite movies in the @steemitbloggers/#powerhousecreatives discord. I happened to join in on one of these chats, and the rest is (as they say) history! Check out the current contest post for more information on how you can enter to possibly win a nice little booty for your choices.

This is my NULL entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest. Though most of us hosts are putting out some of our own top 3 posts, we will just be putting some rewards into the prize pool but will NOT be eligible for prizes.

I really enjoy a good laugh when I take the time to sit down and watch a movie, so it was quite challenging to pick some of my favorites. The good thing is that I'm not motivated by trying to choose the popular vote, so I can just share some of my true personal favorites. Hope you enjoy these, as well!

This months topic is Comedy Movies

NoNominationMy Reasons for the Nomination
1Office SpaceIf you have ever worked at a monotonous desk job, you can relate to this movie! The copier scene is epic. (I won't give anything away if you haven't seen it) Despite plenty of humor and crazy antics, there is also a nice undertone of encouragement to say screw it and make some bold moves to take control of your happiness!
2SpaceballsMel Brooks is such an iconic director in the comedy genre, plus you get the legend John Candy, Rick Moranis and so many other awesome actors out of the deal! I never got into Star Wars, but it really is the perfect starting point for a killer spoof. So many great lines to quote, and you can watch it multiple times and catch new jokes every time! This is one of those movies if I catch on television I will always watch it!
3Hot RodThis one may not be as well known, but it is total stupid humor that makes me giggle. You may recognize Andy Samberg from his time on Saturday Night Live (a well-known duet about a box with Justin Timberlake perhaps?), and he is also a part of a ridiculously funny music group called The Lonely Island. In this movie he stars as a guy who thinks his biological father was a famous stuntman. In order to impress his stepdad and raise money for his heart surgery, Samberg and his misfit group of friends come up with an idea to raise money from one epic stunt. What could go wrong? ;)

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Thanks to the guys @nickyhavey and @chees4ead for busting out this template! Anyone who enters is welcome to use it for a truly easy-breezy posting experience. The link is in the contest post! Looking forward to seeing all of the other entries for this first round!

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

A Big Thanks To Our Current Delegators

@jaynie@steemitbloggers@fionasfavourites@plantstoplanks
@wales@nickyhavey@foxyspirit@cheese4ead

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Sounds like a fun contest! I watch TV and/or movies so seldom that it will be a challenge to come up with some. But I will try...

You know we'd love to have you join if a topic strikes your fancy! :)

Absolutely! I second that ^_^

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7500 comments. Your next target is to reach 8000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Spaceballs!!!!!!!!!!! I forgot all about that movie. I haven't seen the rest you mentioned. Planning a movie night soon!

I almost forgot about it, too, since I haven't seen it in a while. Definitely one of my faves, though. Office Space is a must. Hot Rod is pretty stupid, but made me laugh. ;)

I have seen none of these and am a bit like @mariannewest having seen very few movies over the last few years. Hopefully my choices will be classics...

Posted using Partiko Android

Classics are classic for a reason--they never go out of style! Though sounds like you might be busy with some other things if that WSJ contribution happens. ;)

Hahaha! You have much more confidence than I, in my ability and what they want! LOL

Let's see. It'll probably be buried on page 724 in small print - bottom left...

Great nominations @plantstoplanks and nice looking template ;). The selections are starting to come in thick and fast. You have given me a couple of new movies to check out. I'm going to be busy. 😁

GB

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png
"

Not seen these movies so can't say anything about them; but good luck anyway...

Nice selection and as well as the awesome 'office space' that we have in common with our selections, I also love Spaceballs. I remember watching that as a child along with the likes of 'the Goonies', 'ET' and 'flight of the navigator'.

Ahhhh.... sweet water colored memories ;-)

Goonies! Definitely brings me right back. I had a client who was only maybe 5-6 years younger than me a while back who had never seen it. I told her not to come back until she watched it. 😂 Totally joking, but kind of not.

E.T. is always special because it came out the year I was born. Luckily with an older sister I didn't miss out on any of the early 80's classics!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65