The magic of doggy "pet pads"

in #pets6 years ago

I call them pee-pads and have heard them referred to as pet pads and also housetraining pads. It doesn't matter as they are all the same thing.

I might be in the minority, but I actually had no idea these things existed. Then I started dating a Korean and we got a dog and pee pads were introduced for our doggo. Apparently, in highly populated Asian cities such as damn near all of Korea, this is the norm as there really isn't a dog walking place for most households and most people live in high-rises 20 or more stories tall. The dog obviously has to be trained to use them but then eventually it just becomes where they WANT to go, which I gotta tell you, is amazing.

Obviously these aren't going to work for your Doberman or Rottweiler as I am sure those monsters can produce a poop that likely weighs more than a chihuahua, plus since the pet pad is only about twice the size of a laptop, an animal the size of a Rhodesian Ridge-back would need to have pinpoint accuracy to even hit the mark.

piddle-place-featured.jpg
credit one of the cutest adverts ever

The training process can be a bit difficult at first because puppies will do their business just wherever, but after the training is complete (as is the case with my doggo) you don't even need to watch them anymore. My dog will literally not go anywhere else indoors. If i am at a friend's house and she is indoors (this doesn't happen often) she will come up to me and whine when she can't hold it anymore because..... they have no pee pee pad.

I was very happy to have these things shown to me and when I stated my confusion about how I have never seen them before, my girlfriend at the time was confused. You see, they are so common in Asia that they just assumed that everyone uses them and I really don't believe that to be the case. However, we always had a yard when was growing up so I suppose we never needed something like this.

It truly is an amazing thing because I know that I can leave my dog for a few hours and not be worried that I am going to come home to a turd in the middle of the floor. Since we got her trained she has only (and I promise I am not making this up) pooped on the floor one time. ONCE in 5 years and this was because I was moving a refrigerator that for some reason the dog didn't like (a sound it made?) and it literally scared the shit out of her. I wasn't even mad, that was one of the funniest things I have ever seen.

I am not a dog trainer but I have been told that if your dog is already past puppy age this will be incredibly difficult to train them to use. However, old dogs CAN learn new tricks and there are some sprays out there that you can treat the pads with that will help encourage them to use it.

Sort:  

Great discovery @gooddream. As you have to move to new places often, I guess this pee pee pad will be a life saver for your doggo. I am also and Asian (well, India is also in Asia 😅) but never saw or heard about this thing, but it looks really helpful for both the dogs and their owners, specially small dogs like yours. As you have already trained him how to use it (it was not a complex task for you I guess) I think he dont have to face any problems any more!
Did I tell you that he is looking awesome in the photo?

stay happy and keep posting.

Posted using Partiko Android

she has been getting plenty of exercise now since I live near a park. A one mile walk for me seems to not be very taxing on her despite the fact that her legs are only 4 inches long. Seriously, the endurance of a doge amazes me.

No! I have never heard of this invention before!! Thanks for sharing! This could probably be used by babies too, I suppose.

Posted using Partiko iOS

i think if someone used this for babies that Child Protection Services might need to get involved :)

very good invention and very useful, for those who live in small areas like apartments and do not have a yard or space for animals to meet their needs, the important thing is to train the dog and really use it, but I think with a little education and Persistence with the dog, can be achieved. I have a big dog, but this invention does not serve me hehe. Greetings. a hug

yeah for a big dog these things would need to be the size of a blanket or tablecloth.

soooo cute!!😍

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

i thought he not real dog its seems like doll is it right?

those are both real dog. just really small ones. haha

haha i like them they are i beautifull dogs thank u for ur support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36