Petals Contest - Roses Open Weekend - Old Master

in #petals6 years ago (edited)


Roses Old Masters Painting


old masters rose.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

This photograph is interesting to me for two reasons.

The first is that the lighting makes it look more like an old masters oil painting than a photograph. (You will probably need to view it full screen to see the effect.) I love it! 😊

The second is that there appears to be two very different types of roses in the shot. However, when I took the photo I was pretty sure it was just the one. So much so that I called over the people who were with me to take a look wondering, "how can two such different roses grow on the same bush"?

Now I'm home, and looking at the photo again I can't believe that this was actually one rose and feel I must have been mistaken. But I do remember we all agreed at the time that this was one bush and therefore very unusual.

Have you ever seen anything like this?



Thank you to @adrianobalan and @sardrt for creating the #petals community and contests.
Find our more by clicking here.

Sort:  

the pinkish rose is so beautiful. layers and layers of petals. I also really like the "old masters" look...you should hide a very small signature like da Vinci

Ha, ha, ha @steven-patrick, hidding a small signature would be a bit beyond my photo editing skills I think. Good idea though. 😊

This is similar to hybrid tea varieties of roses. Great shot! Until I enlarged the image it really looked like a picture of an artist. Thanks for sharing, @ gillianpearce :). I wish You good luck in the contest !

Thank you @madlenfox. It really was a big surprise how it turned out and I really like it. 😊

I see what you mean, I know splinting and grafting different fruit trees together is something people do but I never seen it with a rose, maybe that's what they did? Is this a photo of a painting?

This is NOT a photograph of a painting @jonbit. It's one I took. I just thought it looked like an old masters painting. 😊

It does seem very unusual, but you have to admit very beautiful indeed.

Yes. I thought so @sunscape and the old masters feel was just icing on the cake. 😊

I can see the painting quality. Even on my iPhone. Nicely done.

Thank you @coldsteem. it was a lucky fluke but I really like it! 😊

Thank you for visiting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57