Permaculture Principles – Making the Most of Edges

in #permaculture7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Permaculture Principles – Making the Most of Edges


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Can I be a homesteadslacker? Is there hazing involved?

Brilliant article by the way - I love the review of the principles - several of them changed my life.

This is such a lovely comment, @ecoinstant, making me truly happy. I'm so glad you like my posts on principles! The way it all started was by trying to explain what Permaculture is. Now I'm going over each principle, by each of the three people I consider most important teachers. Once I'm done with that, I want to analyze some practices and examples...
To be a homesteadslacker, all you have to do is visit our slack channel: https://steemithomesteaders.slack.com/messages/C6AE0QGLC And sure, we can haze you if you like, or we can vote and comment on your posts. Whichever you prefer. ;-)

I find that the best way to get principles to stick is to review them a lot. In this way I suspect that your series on principles is very helpful for you, really enjoyable for me, and probably a terrific reminding for lots of people around this site!

I'm going to pop into your slack and see whats up!

hmm - I'm not sure that is an invitation link, it wants me to sign in.

Hmmm.... maybe if you try it with only the slack url: https://steemithomesteaders.slack.com

I'm in! I used this link - don't tell but I got it from Kiara's post ;p

That may be the link to use in the future for inviting.

Just like much of life, sticking with principles will get you a long way!

Great post!

Excellent post on the Edge Efffect. As I study the permaculture ethics and principles, I am discovering how they can be applied to more and more aspects of my life. Observation is probably my favorite right now. Becoming aware of more will change your world. I’m working on a post right now about the permaculture ethics. Hope to have it up soon.

Awesome! I followed you, but when you've posted your article, could you add a link here too, please? I really would like to read it, but in these cases I tend to forget about checking them, noticing only weeks later, or not at all sometimes. Thanks!

I’ll be happy to post a link for you. Would appreciate feedback too.

You have such a wealth of knowledge! I have a whole new outlook on edges now.

Thank you @frugallady, I really appreciate it!

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks for the explanation, I get it now! My mum was talking about some of this, but being random bits put it out of context, so I didn't grasp what she was trying to say.

Thanks for this very useful comment! When I compose these posts, it's not always easy to find the right balance between starting out at the very beginning for those who are completely new to this, and making it interesting for those who are quite familiar with it. But if it struck a familiar chord with you, and even more so, you feel it clarified things, then I guess this article fulfilled its purpose. Thanx!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stortebeker to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Nice article! Permaculture is the future. I started to read about permaculture around a year ago. When i worked in my vegetable garden this spring and i thought about what i had learned about permaculture, i realized that a lot of those things i did anyway already, just by common sense and intuition. It's a funny thing, but when i am in my garden at work all alone, i'm in a meditation-like condition and i realize that there is earth and plant talking somehow to me and suddenly i know exactly what to plant where, when and how.

That's right, because - I believe - these great designs form themselves, partially, with our help. So what we see as common sense or intuition may just be the way the plants, the animals, the landscape etc. are sending suggestions as to how things would best fit together. From the scientific mind this may sound way hokey, but perceiving things in a meditative state of mind, it does make a lot of sense.

"... are sending suggestions ...." EXACTLY this is it.

@steem-marketing has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52