Permaculture Playing Cards: Bamboo

Y'all don't forget the CONTESTS built into this series. One SBI for a name, five for the needle! That makes thirty one shares for the series if someone claims the prize before the post pays out.


On to today's featured permaculture tidbit!

IMG_20181223_214251452.jpg

Bamboo!

Woah! What a useful plant! Did y'all read that card? Those are some bold claims!

This seems like something that could induce a paradigm shift for some folks. Why are our houses being built with inferior products that are less good for the earth? Why is this labeled an invasive species in so many places, when permies know good and well that weeds pop up for a reason; with a job to do?

InGaia's Garden, Toby Hemenway talks about bamboo for a good while, explaining it's so many versatile uses. The ones that struck me were the uses as building materials. He mentioned home-scale bridges specifically, which I would really like a few of on my property where I cross my swales. I'd also like to make use of them for our new well house that we'll be constructing when we get the well repaired. I'd like to do a bamboo and straw bale well house when it comes time.

Given all those uses, what are some things you could use bamboo for? While Toby mentions it's aggressive growth as a turn-off for many, he says the best way to control it is to eat it! Yeah, not only can you build with the stuff, but it is a food crop too! It can supposedly be used to treat respiratory infections (oh boy, sign me up!) and induce uterine contractions (multiple uses. Fellas, feed your lady bamboo).

For me, I think I'm going to be looking closely for a nearby bamboo stand. I may bring back some seeds and toss em in the ditch out front. It grows well in ditches around here. Until it is established, I'm very interested in responsibly harvesting some for use around the homestead.

Trellises! Modular fences! Roosting bars! Man, let your imagination run wild with it. This is cool stuff!

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPUNtMaZahB7oRoHdj6MJLjv8qH3AC8YhazjBxUjdbMw38yfKNg13WeaaBUk3BEt4xeUb8SyHVY.png
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

I love this quote, any way I can set things up in the beginning to make less work for myself later works great for me 😂 if that's permaculture... Well then, moar permie pls.

Exactly! Permie all the things!

After going through the resources you suggested on tree guilds, I started trying to map out where I want my garden and orchard (now, I'm thinking more toward food forest) to go. I realized that my initial plans probably would have failed pretty miserably. I also realized that I have a low area in the pasture that stays wet from the pond overflow. Now, you play the bamboo card, and I'm pretty sure that's exactly what should go there. Keep those cards coming!

There's more where that came from!

Isn't permaculture cool? A ton of ideas that all work together in whatever scale you can manage! I think guilds would be a lot of fun to play with a few at a time and experiment with the variables. I'm going to play with a couple soon myself. Probably this spring.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!

Glad someone out there appreciated the versatility and potential of bamboo!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58