You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture Playing Cards, Episode 2

in #permaculture6 years ago

So excited to be finding permaculture community here on Steemit. It took me a little while to understand how to find you all via tagging since permacuture and foodforest do not exactly come up high on the tag rankings. Especially excited by this post as I am starting to convert my urban yard into a mini-food forest. I'll be posting as I go. I'm in the Cascadia region, Pacific NW.

Sort:  

HEY! Welcome, from North Central Texas :D

There's a few permies here, and they're all (I may be a bit biased) badasses! @papa-pepper, @rawutah, @goldendawne, @buckaroo, @mountainjewel, @craigcryptoking, @riverflows, and @sagrscrub JUST TO NAME A FEW. Give em a follow, and you're sure to get swept up into the community :)

There's also some awesome community things going on at @ghscollective, @naturalmedicine, and @homesteaderscoop. Lots of development, learning, and sharing going on here.

@homesteaderscoop is @sagescrub's new project. A site where permies and homesteaders can sell sustainable and handmade goods for SBD. A really innovative notion, and the first marketplace of it's kind.

Are you on discord?

Thanks so much for the list of folks and projects to follow. I'm not on discord, and not really sure what it is. Is it part of steemit? I'm super excited about the homesteadersco-op idea.

Discord isn't part of steem necessarily, but it's a social media messaging app where a lot of steem communities are gathering.

Thanks. I was wondering how folks on here talk to each other directly. I sure wish messaging contacts was built into Steemit somehow. Also, I'm super confused about all the bots doing upvoting with delegated steem power. Seems like something to steer clear of, but also seems like all the big fish are doing this putting those not playing that game at a disadvantage. Thoughts?

Ahh, great subjects!

Messaging isn't integrated on chain yet outside of dust transfers. Partiko however has an on-board encrypted messenger that is really cool that only works between partiko users. But I'm not aware of anything that's more popular than discord, which is not an encrypted messenger but is really versatile and easy to get the hang of. It's hard to talk about discord and steem without mentioning everyone's favorite bot, @ginabot. Probably the most used steem related service ever. She's an awesome steem notification bot that helps you increase engagement and community. Everyone loves Gina.

As for bots, I don't personally have a problem with them. I use some fairly regularly myself, and my favorites are @steembasicincome and @rewards-pool, which is a new one that's really good. Those two are share-based, so you buy into them and are entered in their service. @smartmarket is really easy to use as well, but is more traditional: send steem/SBD, get a series of profitable votes. I do think bots are easily and often abused, but they still provide a valuable service on the chain. Another amazing one to check out is @treeplanter.

Oh...thanks so much for all this info. I don't have any "real life" friends that are on Steemit so am a little behind in understanding common stuff here. For example, I've never even heard of @ginabot. I'll think more on the bot upvoting. Thanks for your opinion. <3

Lol NY real life friends on steem aren't active. Womp. But there's plenty of friends to be made here.

The bots are usually a personal decision. I had a stint with them before when I used to talk politics, but laid off them for a while because I felt uneasy about it. Now that I talk about things that matter, I do t have that inner conflict over it.

Will you be my first friend here? I promise to post interesting things. :) Wishing I had shot photos of my first attempt at traditional fermented injera yesterday. My kitchen still stinks...but I learned a lot I could share with others. My partner thinks I harnessed the same bugs that ferment pulp for paper...it really smelled that bad. Next time I'm using commercial yeast, but it was fun to try with wild yeast in my kitchen. Just hoping my kombucha and jun scobies didn't catch it. It did taste significantly better once cooked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57