Perimenopause - A few things that help me

in #perimenopause5 years ago (edited)

Perimenopause A few things that help me.png

My body was already into early Perimenopause when my mom passed away. Within a couple of days of her passing my body dived full speed ahead into the process and it has played havoc on me every since.

That was in Sept of 2017 and I am still very much dealing with Perimenopause.

Some of the symptoms that have affected me are:
*Acne
*Anxiety
*Appetite changes or cravings
*Feeling tired (especially around three PM)
*Headache or backache
*Irregular or short/long menstrual cycles
*Irritability
*Joint or muscle pain
*Sore, tender or swollen breasts
*Tension or moodiness
*Trouble sleeping
*Trouble with concentration or memory
*Upset stomach, bloating, constipation, or diarrhea.
*Water retention
*Heavy periods with or without blood clots

I have been taking a herbal mix capsule called Estrotone to balance my hormones. I like taking it instead of what the Doctors offer, because it doesn't have any side effects. At least none that have affected me.

I also looked into vitamins and found a GMO free brand called Smarty Pants.

Prior to taking those, I was doing good to sleep 3-5 broken up hours per night. I also had more anxiety and a load of other symptoms that go with little to no sleep.

While my sleep is still interrupted due to having to pee a lot, I am sleeping 7-8 hours per night now. I feel much more rested than I did.

I was also having trouble with concentration and memory. While this still plagues me to a degree, it has also improved with my taking the herbs and vitamins.

I should mention that I did have to take them both for a couple of weeks before I seen improvement. I sure know if I run out of either for more than a couple of days.

My menstrual cycles have been a nightmare, to say the least. They have ranged from short to long and light to more heavy than I ever thought possible. At the heaviest, it is like water is pouring out of me. The first few times it happened, I seriously thought I had peed myself.

Sometimes I deal with a mix of this for two months at a time. At the heaviest points, I have to take an Iron supplement.

Again, I did not want to take what the Doctor was offering because of the side effects. What I found in natural remedies is that there are foods your body thinks are estrogen. It is easy to find lists of those foods online and choose which ones you like the best.

There are also foods that will stop your body from absorbing what you need. To find a list of those look up, "foods to avoid when you want to absorb estrogen".

What works for me personally, is avoiding flour and onions; while eating more peas & sunflower seeds, when my body is bleeding at it's heaviest. This usually slows the blood flow enough within 24 hours for me.

The best thing I have found to help with water retention is avoiding salt. It makes me sad because I love salt, but it does help.

I have finally reached the point that my body is missing up to three months of cycles at a time. Unfortunately, it seems to make up each missed with a extra long cycle when I do get one. All I can do is hope that I am near the end.

I hope this helps others who are dealing with Perimenopause. We really should talk about the subject more so it is not such a shock when extreme symptoms happen to us.

Feel free to share what has helped you below, if you like.

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee
steemit selfie.png

My other social media's:
Twitch
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap


https://steemit.com/@archdruid

Sort:  

I'm glad you are finding some relief. I remember how awful those days were. I took a nutraMetrix supplement called Feminene that helped me through it.

I'm glad you found relief too, its been a bit of a nightmare.

I can attribute a stressful event in my life to the onset of the worst symptoms, too.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you so much!!!!

I am glad you are finding some relief, I know its not easy from seeing my wife go through it

Symptoms of change of life sound like a disease... with no cure... but time..,. Keep on top of it @debralee better days are ahead...

Thank you Mike!

Not a fun time, Deb. Some people can go through the change without many symptoms but most of us women have them. Until you are in it, one doesn’t realize what it’s like.

I’m sure the hot flashes went on for 10 years with me. At the time there was the cancer scare if taking estrogen, etc.

I didn’t take anything to ease the discomfort but glad you found a natural remedy to help.

No wonder you are tired with the blood flow. Some of this is part of the menopause but you may need to see the doctor to check this out.

Some suggestions:

Drink half a glass of prune juice in the morning to help with constipation.

I found eating chocolate and drinking coffee really brought on the hot flashes.

Thanks! My Dr is aware of all my symptoms. What they can do for me would take my having health insurance and I'm not sure I want to take those routes anyhow. The Estrotone has also helped with hot flashes. I rarely have one now. When I do, it only lasts a few minutes. :)

Oh, I feel for you, dear girl. This cannot be fun! I am glad you were able to alleviate some of the symptoms!

An awesome piece of advice for those coming into that time of life. Funny that it can hit some so early and some so late, while others don't even blink as the symptoms are so mild.

!tip

Thanks! I know a few woman who had almost no symptoms while going through the change. My former sister in law, literally just stopped having cycles one day. Lucky! lol

I know, right? I cannot help but think nutrition and exercise play a role, however small.

But, yes! She is lucky!

🎁 Hi @debralee! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Falling Into The Mood Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Great to see you posting Deb!

It feels good to be here again. :)

Howdy debralee! holy smokes, you been suffering with this condition for 2 years! I didn't know it lasted that long. But I think it's coming to an end soon.

The whole process can last for up to 10 years from the start to the end. I knew I was in the early stages of it before mom passed so I am hoping I have suffered long enough. lol

Holy smokes, 10 years! That's too long. I'm hoping that yours passes fast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65