You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Epiphany [part 1/2] Everyone is Equal - WISHFUL THINKING OR CRUEL DELUSION?

I think you capture why it can be difficult to offer advice and wisdom to people. Even when you have good intentions and you want to help someone, your advice can come off as condescending.

One flaw with brainstorming problem solving techniques-- some people cannot pull themselves out of the vicious cycle of punishing themselves long enough to think clearly. They may focus and dwell on their failures instead of trying to understand what could be done differently the next time. This is not exactly a productive coping mechanism...

What could one do to help someone snap out of the "punishment" phase?

Sort:  

"Your advice can come off as condescending."

Definitely can. I think he is punishing himself, he doesn't think he is. I cannot change how he sees his own situation. The only thing I can do, is to continue being nice to myself. From there, maybe he will want it to change, and try something different. I'm at the edge of understanding that sometimes you don't need to know anything.

You just need to be there for your friend.

I see what you mean. I'm going to try to just be a good example and an empathic ear to my friend whenever I'm needed. You have an insightful perspective on this.

Thank you for the love, that's all we really can do c:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99