Pay It Forward Contest Week 57 - These Promising Newcomers Can Use Your Support

in #payitforward5 years ago

Most newcomers leave again before they even got started. They can use all the help they can get if they want to make it through those first couple of weeks.


Source

This is my entry for Week 57 of the Pay It Forward Curation Contest

dividerlines.png

Supporting Newcomers

If you have been following my blog, you are probably well aware by now that I dedicate a lot of my time and Steem Power trying to help newcomers to get started.

Every couple of days, I go out to find some promising newcomers and delegate a small amount of SP to them, which gives them a little more freedom to explore the platform.

Earlier this week, @vibesforlife called it generosity. But honestly, I consider it to be more of a survival strategy than kindness. Without a little bit of support, newcomers simply don't get a fair chance. And without newcomers, this place will be a graveyard in no time

If you want to know more about the hurdles newcomers have to overcome, I invite you to check out my earlier posts.

My supply of Steem Power is not unlimited, and my main frustration is that I can only help a few of many. So I'd like to ask for your help...


If you have a little Steem Power to spare, please consider delegating it to a promising newcomer. It doesn't have to be a lot. For a newcomer, the difference between 15SP or 50SP is HUGE!
If you don't want to go through the introduction posts yourself, check out the posts of @havehaveyamet to find a selection of the most promising newcomers.


Maybe good to mention: yesterday, I brought the @newbieresteemday account back to life, after 8 months of inactivity. I'm not sure how many of the +1400 followers are still active, but I thought it wouldn't hurt to try to give our promising newcomers some more exposure by resteeming their posts through the account.

For now, this is just an experiment, and the outcome is hard to predict. If it turns out to be helpful, I'm sure we'll find a way to turn it back into what it once was... a place to get more eyes on the posts of newcomers.

I'll keep you updated. Meanwhile, I invite you to follow the account and support the resteemed posts.

dividerlines.png

Featured Bloggers

It was a bit of a slow week. I took away more delegations than I gave out. (To make sure my SP isn't wasted by sitting in accounts that show no activity, I evaluate every delegatee every week. After 2 to 3 weeks of inactivity, I retract the delegation again.)

I did find quite a couple of promising newcomers these last few days. A small delegation has been sent out to @animashaun, @dkkarolien,@yupindra28, @mealhound and @justicerho and I can only hope they will make the most out of it.

Once again, I selected 2 promising newcomers to feature. Your support and recognition would be really appreciated, and will probably be a great source of motivation for them.

dividerlinessmall.png

@dkkarolien


Source

@dkkarolien arrived on the SteemIt platform only 15 days ago, and this will be my only chance to feature her for this contest, since she skyrocketed her reputation score.

It's very obvious she's not new to blogging (she has her own blog, from which she cross-posts to SteemIt), and she knows how to capture a reader's attention.

I've interacted with her a couple of times, and found out that she is very eager to learn, and actually turns the tips she gets into practice.

I'm absolutely sure she has a bright future on this platform.

Featured Post:

Are you ready to be an expat? Am I ready to be one?

dkkarolien.png



In this very-well written post, she talks about the feeling of being an expat, and the doubts and fears that come with leaving your home country to go live somewhere else.

I really like how she addresses her readers directly, inviting them to engage.

She has a very personal style, which I liked instantly. I'd like to invite you to visit the post and check it out for yourself, because I'm having a hard time trying to explain what I mean. :0)


Visit The Post Here



dividerlines.png

@tggr


Source

@tggr is not one of my proteges. I came across his post in the Steem Terminal Discord server and I really liked his style.

He's been here for 2 weeks, and although most of his posts are Actifit posts, I think his long-form articles really stand out. Personally, I believe he has what it takes to do good here and if he'll manage to get more articles out, he could be adding a lot of value to the platform in the future.

But - and that goes for any newcomer - to make sure we keep him around long enough to live up to his potential, we'll need to support and follow up - together, as a community.

His first piece of long-form content was a real success, and as you can read in his featured post, he instantly got an idea of how amazing this community is.

All this positive energy I have and continue receiving makes me want to be part of this community, contribute and keep it going.

So let's show him that his instincts are right. I'd like to ask you to check out his post and give him some TLC.


Featured Post:

Second week on STEEM

tggr.png


In his post, he expresses his disappointment towards the regular social media platforms, and how he has experienced how SteemIt is different.

STEEM on the other hand seems to be something completely different. It still looks like an up and coming platform, but it is different. Let's put all the monetary benefits and aspects aside - it is the community here what makes you feel welcome and appreciated.



Visit The Post Here



dividerlinessmall.png

Both have worked really hard since the day they arrived - which was not so long ago. It looks like both have found their place here on SteemIt, but a little TLC from the community will give them the drive to keep on going.



morel support.gif
Source



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



JOIN THE DISCORD

Sort:  

Took a few minutes to look at them. Upvoted & will follow a few.

@simplymike You Rock...!!

Thanks, @krazzytrukker

Aww! That's such an adorable kitty ❤️
Posted with

@dkkarolien has a new follower, being an expat myself, and liking her writing style, I will probably enjoy her blogs here.. Thanks for your eternal support towards newbies <3

@anouk.nox thank you. Hope I don't disappoint. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I try my best 😉

She's a really good blogger, isn't she?! And so eager to learn. She's going to do just fine here, I think 👍
Posted with

Thank you @simplymike for your efforts in trying to build our Steem community.

Delegation is donated for influence or to help new users perform actions on steemit.

This has long been stated on the wallet page, and it's good to know there are people who still believe it's something that needs to be done.

Thanks, @abh12345. I learned from the best 😂

it's good to know there are people who still believe it's something that needs to be done.

It's not about believing. If one pays attention to what is going on since HF20, it is hard to miss the fact that the entire RC system is killing the platform.
Like I said in the post: it's not a matter of generosity, it's about survival.

I don't get why they are intentionally locking out new users. I would probably understand if the price of Steem would have skyrocketed since HF20, because everyone was buying Steem to get on it. But it hasn't.

Sometimes I get so frustrated: we didn't cause the problem, but still we need to try and fix it.

It takes up so much of my time to select the people to delegate to (maybe 'gamble' would be a better word), do my round at least twice a week to check how they are doing and engage a little with everyone, to keep track and retract 7 out of 10 delegations after 3 weeks because the member dropped out anyway. Can't blame them, because my small delegation isn't enough to keep them from running out of RC.
But I'd hate to see this place go down, so I do whatever I can.

Thing is, it is not only about delegation... Idk if it has always been like this - thanks to @newbieresteemday I got a little traction pretty soon after I started - but people's intro posts get like 50 comments and +$25 payouts, while the rest of their posts only get a comment from Steemitboard. The lack of engagement with the smaller accounts is a problem that is just as big as the RC-thing...

Fortunately, there are still initiatives like @pifc that try to make a difference. But after more than a year of hosting the contest, there are still so few participants... It makes me wonder if all those people that are high up in the clouds even care...
(And than I read a post by @tarazkp and I realize they don't. Because in spite of everything, they are still here for their own personal gain 🙄

Sorry for rambling, lol. Sometimes the frustration takes over, which results in a reply like this 😂
Posted with

@simplymike wow super thanks for this mention! Makes me feel validated for posting here. Been following some advise and trying to get #steempress going. Halfway there 😉 plug in activated, everything done just not cross-posting yet for some reason. Taking a bit of time with the hubby without the kids so will adress that problem later again. I am so happy to have found this platform and I love how this community rallies to help newbies like me. I hope to soon have the knowledge and power to return the favor! Greetings from Mauritius. (wine in hand 🍷) 🇲🇺😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Let me know if you can't get it to work...
Posted with


giphy.gif


Thank you for your entry. Both of your bloggers have been upvoted and your entry for Curation Contest:Week 57 is confirmed.

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 19.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 26000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I will go and check them out for sure :)

Thank you for supporting the newbies & community as a whole 💖🙏💖

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm trying my best 😉
Posted with

👍👍 Much Respect 💗🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 3.09% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @simplymike! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83