Pay It Forward Contest Week 54 - These Bloggers Deserve Some TLC

in #payitforward5 years ago

These days, starting out on SteemIt is a real challenge. The newcomers featured in this post definitely deserve a little TLC, because they're going for it... with all they've got.


Source

This is my entry for Week 54 of the Pay It Forward Curation Contest

It's Not Easy Being New

Newcomers are struggling. For me, and for everyone else who was already a minnow before HF20, it is almost impossible to imagine what they are going through.

When I started here, about 18 months ago, I was free to post and engage to build my network - until I ran out of bandwidth.

Today, a newcomer that starts here and gets a 15SP delegation from Partiko for example, is limited to 2 posts or comments per day. Yes, you read it right: 2!

How are they expected to meet people, get to know them and build a network? Everyone here knows that networking is one of the fundamentals of growing your account.

As a result, most people leave before they even got started. I can't blame them, because they just don't get a fair chance.

I had assumed that by now, Steemit inc. would have realized they are killing their platform. Because without newcomers, the stream of redfish to push towards minnowhood will dry up. Without fresh blood, this platform will die a low and painful death.

But no news from that side. They don't seem to realize what they are causing... or they just don't care.

dividerlines.png

Supporting Newcomers

These last couple of weeks, I've been focusing on promising newcomers, trying to give them the fair chance they deserve.

But finding these promising newcomers in the endless stream of introduction posts is a hell of a job.

That's why I couldn't be more thankful to the ladies from the @heyhaveyamet initiative. They are really doing all the hard work for me by going through all those posts under the #introduceyourself tag and select the best ones.

All I need to do, is go through their list and pick the ones of which I think they'll have a chance to make it.

I then delegate 50 to 75 SP to their account, so they will have a little breathing space and a little more freedom to get to know the platform.

It's always a bit of a risk. In spite of the small delegation, more than half of the people still leave. Some of them don't return after two posts, but it really makes me sad that people who were off to an amazing start, just seem to be gone. @helen-derwent, for example. She worked so hard and was on her way to a bright SteemIt future. However, more than a month ago, she just disappeared. I took back the delegation, but left a message that if she ever decides to return, she can have it back instantly.

But there are also the success stories. Yesterday, I retracted the delegation to @nurseanne84 because she had reached the milestone of having her own 100SP. She has become a more than valuable member of the community, and I'm so proud she struggled her way through.

dividerlines.png

Featured Bloggers

But let's get to it. After all, the idea of this post was to put two of those promising newcomers in the spotlight. Going through the list of my delegatees, I found 3 people who were doing exceptionally good.

I think the one who deserves some more exposure the most is Jess Dales (@steem-diva). Unfortunately, her most recent post (which was simply amazing) is 6 days old today, so it seemed a bit useless to make her a featured blogger for this edition of @pifc. I hope she will create a new one soon, so I'll be able to introduce you to her next week.

But the 2 bloggers below are just as valuable, and really deserve some recognition.

dividerlinessmall.png

@naojakyl


Source

@naojakyl (AKA 'Joan Explores') has worked her way up to a reputation score of 52 in only 53 days, which I think is amazing.

But it doesn't surprise me, because her blog posts are a pleasure to read. She writes about her travels, and always has some original things to tell about the places she has visited. But the real eye-catchers in every post are her amazing photos.

This is not different in her featured posts: 'Have Fun in Gibitngil's FUNtastic Island'. Her pictures of this Island near Peru made me want to take the first plane and go visit the island.

There are loads of amazing photos to be found on her blog... I would appreciate it if you would pay her a visit and show her some support.


dividerlinessmall.png

@kayda-ventures


Source

To my big surprise, @kayda-ventures did even better, and made it to reputation 52 in only 35 days.

He's a real artist, and does not only share his amazing pencil drawings, but also shows the reader every step of the process. You'll find a perfect example of that in his featured post: 'Portrait 9 - Hyper-realism Drawing of Bukunmi Oluwasina (Nollywood actress)'

Please pay him a visit and show him some support. And by the way, it is his birthday today. Don't forget to send him your wishes.

dividerlines.png

Both have worked really hard since the day they arrived - which was not so long ago. It looks like both have found their place here on SteemIt, but a little TLC from the community will give them the drive to keep on going.




signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



JOIN THE DISCORD

Sort:  

Hi dear I TOTALLY AGREE the accounts mentioned in your post ROCK.
I will upvoted the ones I didn’t already
Thanks for the share and mention !
Happy Easter met mooi weer
Britt

I can honestly say that I do not think I would still be posting here had @simplymike not helped me get passed the pitfalls that are mentioned in this post.

It was beyond frustrating to plunk around for 10-20 minutes and quite literally..... "Run out of steem"

Sorry about your luck. Come back 2 maro and try again..... lol

The resources that @simplymike gives to us "noobs" is much more than a delegation. The Discord Links are amazing. Many of my questions were answered there.

Steemit friend for life here @simplymike holla if ya need anything. Sammi Jo is a huge Fan of Yours now. Paws Up to ya...!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad reading this comment and you are right with your words. @simplymike has got a golden and caring heart filled with much love for newbies and Steem as a whole :) ✌

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad she was able to help you out, too!

Thanks for the kind words, @krazzytrucker.
But why is She sticking out tongue to me?

Cat Raspberries

Cuz She is Royalty

And we are just Hoomans

She has a cute Fluffy Butt also......... lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I prefer the tongue instead... lol

But... nice but too... :0)

Thank you @simplymike for mention and yes new post will out soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome. Can't wait!

Thanks for all the support.

Posted using Partiko Android


giphy.gif


Thank you for your entry. Both of your bloggers have been upvoted and your entry for Curation Contest:Week 54 is confirmed.

Hi @simplymike!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.310 which ranks you at #789 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 182 places in the last three days (old rank 971).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Excellent choices @simplymike! I appreciate the tremendous amount of effort you put into helping community newcomers... it makes a difference!

Thanks.
Not enough, I'm afraid. In spite of a small delegation, a lot of people leave again before they even got started. Maybe 3 out of 10 stay...
I really need to look up the retention rates. I think they're huge...

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 21.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You are right, there was someone I recruited to join in steemit a month ago. She asked me why i can't do comment or making post anymore? I was shocked because when I joined steemit I can make comments and post a lot. Well I hope steemit think about this. What's the reason of having a bigger account if there are no newbies.

!dramatoken


There has already been too much DRAMA today.

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

You're absolutely right. But I'm afraid SteemIt Inc. is not going to change their policy....

maybe, but they have their reasons and we have our reasons. The thing is theirs and ours are not the same. haha

Posted using Partiko Android

It's been quite sometime since you've last made an entry. Thanks for participating again, with two very fine picks, @simplymike!

I'm going to try to remember to do it more often, as an extra way to support 'my' newcomers ;0)

Thanks for your great entry. I've supported both your bloggers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30