Entry for "Pay It Forward" weekly curation contest

in #payitforward6 years ago (edited)

Now that I have restored my equanimity via a massive house cleaning day yesterday, I can get back to the enjoyable pastime of writing! @thedarkhorse has a wonderful ongoing curation contest called "Pay It Forward" (Check it out NOW!--or, after you read this, haha) in which the challenge is to choose and then highlight 3 other bloggers...and @thedarkhorse threw in a twist this week, in that we must highlight folks with reputation rank 50 or below!

Without further ado, here are my choices, in no particular order :)


@naomipangolin

Thanks to the #NeedleworkMonday tag invented by @crosheille, I discovered this talented artist just this week! @naomipangolin is Japanese, living in Malaysia, and joined Steemit just last month. She does beautiful drawings, and I enjoy the descriptions of life and the people in Malaysia that she works into her posts. This past #NeedleworkMonday I was blown away by the fact that not only does she design and create batik fabrics, she also turns around and both designs and sews clothing with it--including the dress she is modeling in her photo above, which she describes in her post Handmade batik qipao/cheongsam. Edited to add: For a current post of hers, check out this one she wrote today about Sashiko!


@hebrewhousewife

Her blog home page says "Living life day to day fulfilling my role as a housewife and mom" and that's likely why I am drawn to her relateableness. She has written quite a few DIY posts, more philosophical musings such as Can I Succeed at Steemit as a SAH Mom? and most recently, a wryly funny account of how the melting snow and coming of Spring is revealing the....green grass? flowers? no, diapers her German Shepherd plucked from the trash and scattered about for her to pick up. "And you thought fresh diapers were bad," she jokes. Oh the life of a SAHM! @hebrewhousewife has an engaging style of writing, and her posts are simply fun to read :)


@sotall

"Survival of the All" is the motto of this (mostly) curation account that I have enjoyed since my own start on Steemit. Interested in all things homesteading and/or prepping? This is a great resource! Denise finds all kinds of interesting posts that I miss, and recaps and links them weekly, such as in the most recent 59th Edition Sotall Directory of Homesteading, Survival, Foraging How To Posts. The linked .org website contains quite the treasure trove of information, all nicely categorized to make it easier to find posts related to the subject you're interested in, and you can even order seeds for free! Also check out @sotall's SBD and Seed Vault Raffle!


All photos in this post are from the blogs of the authors named above each photo.

Sort:  

Did you post a link on the main contest page? GINAbot alerted me to the post, but not seeing the comment. But I'm on no sleep and the comments list is getting long, so I might have missed it. I will upvote and post your link at the bottom of the actual contest page for easy access once you comment.

Ugh no, and I had the page pulled up and everything, just forgot! I just posted it in the comments now. Thanks for the reminder!!

Thanks for your entry. I have upvoted all the featured blogs!

I had actually voted for everyone yesterday. The first featured blog is now past payout and no rewards would go towards her. If you want as there is a couple days left in the contest maybe switch the link to a newer post.

A fantastic entry for the contest. So glad you are a part of it. Visited, commented and upvoted them all.

Thank you! That's awesome :)

Thanks for the entry @mtnmeadowmomma! These are some posts I need to go have a look at...the dog/dirty diapers is something that I, unfortunately, can relate to haha

Oh no! I guess I got lucky in that we didn't have a diaper-loving dog at the time my kids were in diapers. I have no doubt that Fluffball and Little Barky would be guilty parties if they had the opportunity.

Thanks for the highlight 😊 My favorite posts are funny real-life storytelling, so I try my best to write posts like that.

You're welcome! And you do a great job of it! :)

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50