Can I Succeed at Steemit as a SAH Mom?

in #steemit6 years ago

B3BAB6B9-C59E-4D40-B3E4-EB7CB294BBED.jpeg
source

Spend any amount of time on steemit, and you’ll run into posts about the tip & tricks to steemit and success stories. I’ve seen enough that made me think, “Well now why can’t that be me too?”

I don’t question why others are successful, while I’m sitting over here like meh. Read enough posts, and the tips become repetitive. One of the biggies is time. Yes, succeeding at anything really, takes time. And as a stay-at-home mom to three little ones, that is something I don’t have a whole lot to spare.

Right now, my steemit “strategy” is just to distractedly poke around here and there throughout the day. This has proven to be a lose-lose situation for everyone involved. (Especially for my dirty dishes. Do those ever go away?)

So if I really want to make something out of this (which I do, otherwise why would I have signed up?) then I’m going to have to take a different approach.

I suppose first things first, would be to define what succeeding at steemit looks like. I’d like to see a consistent increase in followers, increase in upvotes, and make enough money to pay the electric bill. That’s a start anyways.

So how am I going to change my strategy to make this happen? Well among implementing the other tips(go look up any post on this topic, seriously, the advice is all the same) I’m going to devote an hour each day to working here on steemit(excluding writing posts).

“What?! Is she nuts?” sensing laughter Have you been reading? I’m a stay-at-home mom to three little ones. Ask any mom, and I’m sure they will tell you an hour is a long time. I think there’s a reason there aren’t many SAH moms on here(that I’m aware of) and that’s because our priorities are..different. We already have a 24/7 job taking all our time, so it’s hard to find any more time(or energy!) to devote to something on the side. So I will stick to this hour a day thing and see how it pans out.

To all my stay-at-home momma(and working momma) friends out there, we can do it!!
If you know any SAH mommas out there, direct them my way. I’d love to make some new friends.


Steem on! Upvote, comment, and follow :)
Sort:  

It might be the hardest full-time job raising 3 kids, previously I was working in Advertising, which got me exposed to women working in retail, banking, marketing, FMCG, cosmetic, medical, oil, automotive, human resources, accounting, and much more industries. I have spent full days with those people and to be honest being a mam is the hardest of all but I also believe it is the most satisfying at the end of the day. So keep you head up and be proud of what you are doing as very few women can claim the title and good luck with your strategy.

Yes it is! Getting to hear my kiddos say “I love you mommy” at the end of the day makes even the craziest days all worth it! Thank you for your encouragement!

I can relate. It's very difficult to get a nice block of time to effectively respond to comments, go find your favorite people's posts and comment on theirs, go pop into Discord, write a post...by the time I manage most of those items, I'm out of time to expand my Steemit horizons beyond that the way I want to. Plus the Husband has been making comments lately about the amount of time I try to make in the day for Steemit...the house and my sewing are suffering a bit. Funny you posted this because I've been mulling over a post for a couple days in a similar vein. Maybe I'll actually get it posted tomorrow :)

When the kids are napping(if they actually nap at the same time that is) I have to choose between personal time for myself or clean the house. Ugh, why can’t the house just stay clean for one day?!
You should write it! I’d love to read it :)

The saddest day of my SAH life was just before the kids turned 3 and quit naps. Just up and quit. Afternoon movie showings became a thing just so I could catch up on stuff, and I admit to jealousy of moms whose 4-5 year olds are still napping. Lately I've taken (again) to staying up for a few hours after bedtime for my "me" time. That article I wrote earlier this evening was interrupted a dozen times by every single member of the household including the furry ones. I swear if I'm actually going to work from home in the future, I'm going to have to lock myself in the laundry room!

Haha! I know what you mean! My 3 year old still needs her naps(I can see in her eyes that she is tired), but she just refuses. I hate having to use the tv as a babysitter, but some days, I just really need a moment!
Hopefully, if you ever work from home, your kiddos will be a little more independent to handle themselves for a bit. :)

I feel ya girl! I am not ashamed anymore when someone asks me what I do for a living? I chuckle and reply, "Well, I am a full time teacher, nutritionist, chef, personal trainer, nurse, and maid." They all look at me like I have 4 eyeballs and say, "Wow, do you have kids?"... yeah, I do! Anyways, I would love any tips and tricks to Steemit. I get on when I can, but time is precious to our family and I don't truly have all that much to devote to "making it big."

It’s the hardest full-time job I know of that doesn’t earn you any pay(unless you count “I loves you’s from the kids, because that’s worth millions :)
I’ve seen some accounts that have been on here a shorter time than me, and I see all their followers and high payouts and think wow, not fair! But then I remember that they treat steemit as a job and put a lot of time into it. And yes, time is precious and needs to be spent wisely!

Yes! SAH mom here too! 4 daughters, homeschooling, etc.
Im hoping to really up my steemit game this year. Im still pretty new and dont really understand all there is to know... But Im learning!

It’s so funny. Ever since I put out this post, I’ve just been busy and have put steemit on the back burner. And here I was ready to up my game! Oh well, life happens. Next week is a new week!
I’ll be following you and encouraging you along the way!

Here's a few things I find interesting about your account:

  1. You—I don't mean that in a weird way. You're telling your story about everyday life. I think that's interesting. So many people are always talking strategy for doing better on Steemit. I get bored about it all.

  2. Second, you seem to have a great community on your account. You get a lot of comments and views organically, which is great.

If I could recommend anything, I'd say consider using some bid bots. Seems like you never use them. They will help you to increase what's in your account and get more exposure. Let me know if you have any questions about them.

Thanks for the compliments!
You know, I don’t really know a whole lot about bid bots, other than I have seen debates about them here and there lol!

I am fortunate that all my children are grown with their own families; but I can remember when they were younger and still at home- life was crazy and I never had a moment to breath alone.

You can do it... I know you can. I see the great posts you've made since joining steemit months ago and I believe in you.

Thank you so much!! I do find it gets a little easier as time goes on and with more practice.

My husband asked me why I don't post every day. I'm like, "I barely have time to breathe." I just do what I can when I can. If I wait til they are sleeping it takes away time for my husband at night. Finding intentional time and not feeling guilty for taking the time is a whole nother topic! Ahhhhhh!

Not to mention that sometimes it’s hard to think of something to post about every day!
I know it! There are pulls from every which direction, including the one inside us that wants a moment of downtime.

Love the graphic! That pretty much sums up SAH moms!

While i am not a stay at home mom. I have so much respect for you all. YOu are the hardest working people I know. I think you will be very successful here on steemit. It is a very hard balancing act though. Keep up the good work.

Thank you! And it sure is, especially when the phone is so easily accessible.
Now, make sure you make your wife feel appreciated tonight and thank her for her hard work :)

I will have a great evening

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60