How To Skyrocket Your Upvotes And PayItForward to 48 000 Steemit Members

in #payitforward8 years ago (edited)

#payitforward

Does Your Blog Roll List Look Like This ?

Do you see what I see ? all those posts with good quality content and none of them ever making 1 steemit $ looking at the numbers people are getting there is definitely something wrong with this picture not once ever have I made it over $1 am I complaining no not at all I am simply making a point because like you I also would like to make some cash.

The Solution

Recently I was in steemit chat promoting one of my posts when I met @williambanks I mentioned my predicament and well he pointed me to a post he had made 5 days you can see it here.

What this comes down to it tagging your post with #payitforward someone then who also takes part in #payitforward somes across your post and then leaves you a comment with the same tag inviting you to their post, you intern visit their post upvote and leave a invite to your post its really that easy now your posts are cross linked which will hopefully not only bring you more eyes to your page but more votes also !

Minnows and Dolphins Working Together

At the moment all the minnows and dolphins are hanging around hoping to get blessed by the hands of a whale and it really does not need to be this way, we can support each other and group together, vote for each other and hopefully produce more whales which is something I feel #steemit desperately needs.

Letus get this party started and start really making use of the #payitforward tag.
P.S dont forget to place your upvote below

FOLLOW ME @mrgrey

Whales your help to promote this page will be appreciated.
@kevinwong @wang @steemit @ned @dan @blocktrades @ben

Sort:  

I upvoted, but my concern with a pay it forward tag is it resembles the "follow me back" phenomenon on Twitter. I'm not part of team follow back because I only follow people I plan to interact with and build relationship with. In my opinion, content quality should be the primary reason to upvote something. If people upvote because of some psychological effect like reciprocity, then they many to be curating the best content on Steemit. If the content is good, it deserves a vote. That's a big if though.

I agree with you luke one of the main focus areas of this though is crosslinking between posts if something is not of good quality not even I would vote for it :)

Cross linking is done all the time in the comments when it makes sense. If someone talks about determinism, I have a post on that I can link to. If someone's into the morality of A.I., I'll link to that. Being involved in the comments and leaving relevant links people will enjoy reading has nothing to do with a generic hashtag which has no meaning other than 'Hey, I did something for you, so you should do something for me."

I think it's about the potential of finding actual followers. Unlike the followback on Twitter, people here can actually read your stuff instead of just following you automatically. Among those bunch of followers you could get with the #payitforward tag, there could be some people who actually may be interested in your posts - the odds are high here.

But how is that different than just clicking on someone's name if they made an interesting comment, and previewing their blog for stuff worth voting on? I do that all the time. Adding an artificial tag, to me, adds potential for low quality content and more vote begging. The idea of "payitforward" is built off of reciprocity:

In social psychology, reciprocity is a social rule that says people should repay, in kind, what another person has provided for them; that is, people give back (reciprocate) the kind of treatment they have received from another.

That means, "Hey, I voted for you, you should vote for me." If you read books like Predictable Irrational, and Thinking, Fast and Slow, there's evidence to show these types of things actually adjust how we view something. We might think it's better than it actually is, simply because we're hard-wired to follow reciprocity. I'd prefer to work towards a meritocracy, not use psychological tricks.

Great points. My concerns are the same. Also we are kinda seeing this mob mentality of blindly upvoting known whales.

Indeed. When people vote up something because they think it will go viral and not because it's really good content, that's an unfortunately symptom of potential future problems.

Those are some really great points, actually.

  • I do want to try those random tags, people make promises about. Just to satisfy my curiousity. But I kinda don't want those "I scratched your back, so now I demand you scratch mine" deals.
    ^ I can't get myself to vote on what I see as poor quality content, even if they upvoted mine, because of a tag.

Who judges whats good or bad if that really even exist? I feel everyone perceives things differently calling something or someone good or bad is subjective.

In this context, the reader who is giving their vote. They are the ones who subjectively decide if it is "good" or "bad." Beyond that, the community develops standards over time as an emergent property of all the individuals voting. I could create two posts and show them too 100 people on here and predict, with quite a bit of accuracy how all those 100 people would vote if asked which post was better than the other. They would go so far, I'd wager, to call one "good" and one "bad." As subjective as those normative claims are, they still develop real meaning when played out enough times among enough people.

I judge what I see as good or bad quality, and you judge what you see as the same.

  • Value is subjective that way. ^_^

When it comes to morality, it's about principles, and universality. Most people see you as bad, if you hurt others, while they see you as good, if you help out instead.

I'm also new here on Steemit and still a small minoow, I can only tell you that your posts are awesome.. it's not a matter of quality content, your posts just hadn't been seen. So keep it up, you have my upvote, and sooner or later the whales will recognize you ;) I know it is very hard and frustrating but keep it up!!

i wish it were that simple :( i feel this will be my last post as things as simple as downvotes because people didnt read the content or disagree removing all my value from my posts :( https://steemit.com/steemit/@egjoshslim/why-are-people-getting-butt-hurt-over-any-post-that-mention-any-issue-with-steemit kinda takes the wind out from under me :(

Step 1: Power Up $3000-5000
Step 2: Upvote your post

Congratulations you are now in the trending page.

LOL if only I could moonjelly, I am powering up though with every cent I get so maybe in a year haha

Not really. My account value is over $10k but each upvote is worth around $0.11

Step 1: Power Up $30000-50000
Step 2: Upvote your post

Congratulations you are now in the trending page.

Haha ! Exactly !!

#payitforward as I see it isn't so much about upvote swapping as exposure amongst the spam. It may be short lived in the form, but only because if it starts to trend it will attract the spammers who will just post there. But saying to someone "Hey I read your post and liked it, could you check out mine?" isn't soliciting an upvote. I myself am just wanting some exposure and commentary, even if it doesn't elicit a vote. Being said, I wasn't introduced to this concept until @williambanks shared it with me after my last post. So I did enjoy your piece and am just trying to have mine be seen also, a comment would be appreciated. Vote..... you decide😀
https://steemit.com/science/@clevecross/hey-science-it-s-me-religion-sorry-impressions-rebuttals-and-comments-on-god-of-the-gaps-by-neil-degrasse-tyson

appears to me the concept of starting a post with a preferred tag to draw others interested in that tag could have some strong possibilities. I would assume it would work similar if I was say writing about #purplepeopleaters and wanted to attract people interested in the same subject?

I see Steemit as a place to connect with a new community. I've made a few hundred dollars that I've successfully transferred to my bank account and don't really expect my steem power to rise significantly anymore. I just want a place to keep a log of valuable information and find interesting people to collaborate with on future projects. Too much wishful thinking to expect that a lot of people can do this for a living.

hey limitless thank you for your valuable comments bud, I agree one cant do this for a living but its good for a long term investment and a little bonus every now and again :)

Great post, I wasnt even aware we had a payitforward tag here! I just wrote an article on something like this so thanks for making me aware. You get my vote!

thank you driv3n hope to be seeing your tag :)

Thanks, just realized I need to put it at the top of my posts.

Very observant. I had not noticed that detail. Thanks @driv3n

I'll give it a try. Hope it works :)

awesome the more minnows and dolphins doing it the better it will work

Man I like the idea. How can I start? I was "promoting" my posts on the chat, but I'm sure there's a better/more effective way to do so, right?

hey toxichan simply place the #payitforward tag as the very first thing in your posts, see my post here other payitforward folks will look out for the tag and visit your post then they will invite you to come visit theirs :)

I'm down for this. I may start using this tag more.

go for it bud :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43