Peacock Feather - original art - a #payitforward post

in #payitforward8 years ago

The symbolism behind a peacock feather is quite interesting. According to Mind Body & Spirit, the peacock symbolizes spirituality, awakening, guidance, and protection. In mythology, the tail symbolized the eyes of the stars.

Drawn on brown craft paper and drawn with oil pastels


Lakshmi is a Hindu goddess who represents fortune and prosperity in addition to patience, kindness and luck. In art, she is often depicted with a peacock.


By Ravi Varna Studio [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons


Kwan Yin, a Buddhist goddess, is often depicted with a lotus flower or willow branch, but the peacock is very important to her mythos. She shunned luxuries and immortality for simplicity and enlightenment, she proclaimed her sacred duty to be of service to human kind by hovering between heaven and earth to relieve suffering and guide everyone toward enlightenment.

According to Goddessschool.com, she cannot see everything so she uses the peacock to aid her with its 100 eyes.

Progress pictures


Adding oil pastels for color and effect prior to heavy pressure blending


It kind of looks like a kid went wild with a crayon, right? That's exactly what I did! LOL


Round 1 with the blending before I added more color and blended some more


I'm not completely satisfied with this art offering. There are quite a few things I would change.

  • I will not use the brown paper for such a vibrant subject. It's too muted.
  • IF I use the brown paper again, I may try to use gel markers and glitter! oooh, maybe a future project?
  • Instead of oil pastels, maybe I should try acrylics on the brown paper?
  • The final picture is not as good as I'd like it to be. The paper is bigger than my scanner's table. I would hate for that to be a contributing factor in what I draw or paint! I have a decent camera but the lighting sucks.

Honestly, I don't know what I'm doing but I love the process of experimentation and creativity. Thank you for coming along on my journey!

Hubby already knows I get a studio when we finally get our own place! :D


Come frolic with me until Friday!

This is a 50/50 post.


image source: A barn raising #payitforward initiative

All liquid STEEM and SBD from today, Monday, January 9, to Friday, January 13 will be awarded to @awesomenyl to help her raise funds to move from a horrible situation and get supplies for her baby girl due in about 4 weeks!

Please note: I cannot guarantee earnings and my consistency has been a little spotty lately, but your support is greatly appreciated.

Read about the WHY here.


Public Service Announcement

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

#payitforward

Sort:  

Great post , never knew that much about peacock feathers ! thanks for shareing ! You and your pay it forward initiative was my number 1 pick in my top 5 steemians of last week ! if you have time heres a link of it : https://steemit.com/life/@karenmckersie/5nqq5p-monday-time-for-my-top-5-steemians-of-the-week
Keep up the great work ! steem on !😉👍💙

Awesome! I've got about 10 more tabs to read through before I head to bed...okay 11 now that I opened your link. LOL

I really like the peacock feather, my dear friend @ merej99

Thank you @jlufer. I kind of like it. I wish it was brighter but I've got lots of material to try again. :)

@merej99, you are an incredible person.

Naw... LOL I'm just a girl...most days. ;)

peacock tails are the eyes of stars...so poetic and so apt a description. I saw some a few months back and marvelled at their ethereal beauty. Mind you, my wife was there--maybe it was her :)

aww... you're so sweet!
I think I've got a toothache now. LOL
XOXOX

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64